fbpx
Kidlee Logo
Home " Babysitting " Bilingual nanny ? 5 activities for your babysitter to introduce your child to English

Bilingual nanny ? 5 activities for your babysitter to introduce your child to English

by | Mar 11, 2021 | Babysitting, Babysitting tips

The decision has been made! You have chosen to introduce your kids to English so that they can learn a new language at a young age. This is an excellent initiative and a very good thing. At least, in theory... Now you have to take action. So you want to do it yourself. But you don't have enough time or energy. Then you think about English classes. But your little ones are still too young. Why not choose a more practical solution by hiring a bilingual nanny?

Yes yes, the awakening or the initiation to a foreign language can also pass by the child care! You can therefore combine business with pleasure and have your children looked after by a bilingual nanny!

An English speaking babysitter or nanny can help your children discover and learn English.

To inspire and help her in her baby sitting mission, here is a selection of 5 activities to teach English to children! 

Cooking workshop with her bilingual nanny 

bilingual nanny: a babysitter who bakes with a little girl
Freepik

Among the best bilingual childcare activities, we find the famous cooking workshop. A fun and relaxing moment that the child will be able to share in immersion with his bilingual nanny in order to learn. The names of foods, the association of tastes or the handling of different kitchen utensils. 

Your bilingual babysitter or English nanny can then gradually introduce your children to the language. Start with simple words, naming foods at first. Then utensils. Then action verbs. 

To take it up a notch, the baby sitter chooses a simple and easy recipe. Then she marks the names of the ingredients on post-it notes. The children should then stick them in the right places. Once the names have been learned, your nanny can do the same with the colors and actions. 

Little by little, the bilingual nanny will even be able to offer the children simple recipes completely in English. A bilingual child will be able to understand more elaborate recipes that will help him/her enrich his/her vocabulary while practicing the language with his/her baby sitter! But also, by becoming a true bilingual cordon-bleu! 

Reading stories with the bilingual babysitter

As we have pointed out in a previous articleReading stories contributes to the development of 3 essential senses in children. Touch, hearing and vision. In addition, this relaxing activity also allows children to increase their imagination and enrich their vocabulary. This is the perfect opportunity to introduce your child to English. To do this, ask your bilingual nanny to alternate between different stories. She can tell one story in French and then another in English. Just choose books or stories that are well illustrated. This way, the child will be able to follow the story even if he or she doesn't understand all the vocabulary used.

If the child does not ask, there is no need to translate. Over time, the child will gradually assimilate the nuances and meanings of the words. However, it is important to tell the story with the right tone and gestures for better understanding! 

Watching cartoons with your bilingual nanny  

From an early age, children can be immersed in a new language through cartoons using simple and varied terms. With your permission, the bilingual nanny can arrange for her to share a "cartoon" moment with the child to accompany her introduction to English. Five to ten minutes a day is enough time to learn new words while having fun. The most important thing is that she choose simple cartoons that have a story and educational value. 

By the way, here is a short list of cartoons and educational programs that are popular with children: 

You can also read our article : Cartoons for kids: top 7 educational cartoons!

Bilingual nanny and educational games 

bilingual nanny: a little girl looking through a magnifying glass
Freepik

Games and play activities are a springboard that should not be neglected in the learning and development of children. In particular, when it comes to introducing children to new languages. There are a multitude of games to learn English progressively. We can mention : Simon says ( the Jacques said in English language), i spy or even pass the ball. Games that are both fun and educational will help children learn vocabulary and sentence building. Your bilingual nanny can provide a variety of games in short but productive periods of time (10-15 minutes per day per game) to keep them entertained while learning English. 

Find a non-exhaustive list of games to teach English to children in our dedicated article just HERE

Bilingual theater workshop

Theater is one of those activities that have multiple benefits. Indeed, in addition to reducing shyness, boosting autonomy and building the child's self-confidenceDrama brings a real added value when it comes to expression and vocabulary. This entertaining activity will allow the child to express himself in a more fluid and clearer way. Suggest that your bilingual nanny organize mini theater workshops where your children can let off steam, express themselves and learn! 

The babysitter can suggest excerpts or short scenes with simple phrases or expressions to reproduce in the spotlight. Or, give the children a short list of words to learn. The children will have to memorize them and understand their meaning. Then, improvise a short theatrical scene using these words in sentences. The child does not have to make sentences in English. At first, they will just have to contextualize the words to show that they have understood their meaning. 

On this subject, discover our article : First steps in theater: 10 great mini-games for kids!

If you still haven't found your bilingual nanny, call Kidlee! In addition to after-school care, we offer bilingual childcare. Our community of baby sitters also benefits from English or perfectly bilingual nannies in the Paris and Ile de France region.

To learn more about our English childcare services, click HERE !

Nounou bilingue ? 5 activités pour que votre babysitter initie votre enfant à l’anglais

par | Mar 11, 2021 | Babysitting, Conseils babysitting | 0 commentaires

La décision est tombée ! Vous avez choisi d’initier vos loulous à l’anglais afin qu’ils apprennent, dès leur jeune âge, une nouvelle langue. C’est une excellente initiative et une très bonne chose. Du moins, en théorie…Maintenant il faut passer à l’action. Vous souhaitez donc le faire vous-même. Mais vous manquez de temps et d’énergie. Vous pensez ensuite à des cours d’anglais. Mais vos petits bouts sont encore trop jeunes. Pourquoi ne pas choisir une solution plus pratique en faisant appel à une nounou bilingue ?

Oui oui, l’éveil ou l’initiation à une langue étrangère peut également passer par la garde d’enfant ! Vous pouvez donc joindre l’utile à l’agréable et faire garder vos enfants par une nounou bilingue !

Une babysitter anglophone ou une nounou anglaise peut en effet aider vos enfants à découvrir et à apprendre l’anglais.

Afin d’inspirer et d’aider cette dernière dans sa mission baby sitting, voici une sélection de 5 activités permettant d’apprendre l’anglais aux enfants ! 

Atelier cuisine avec sa nounou bilingue 

nounou bilingue : 
une babysitter qui fait de la pâtisserie avec une petite fille
Freepik

Parmi les meilleures activités de garde d’enfant bilingue, nous retrouvons le fameux atelier cuisine. Un moment fun et détente que l’enfant pourra partager en immersion avec sa nounou bilingue afin d’apprendre. Les noms des aliments, l’association des goûts ou encore le maniement des différents ustensiles de cuisine. 

Votre babysitter bilingue ou nounou anglaise peut alors initier progressivement vos enfants à la langue. Commencer par de simples mots en nommant les aliments dans un premier temps. Les ustensiles ensuite. Puis les verbes d’action. 

Pour monter d’un cran, la baby sitter choisit une recette simple et facile. Puis, elle marque les noms des ingrédients sur des post-it. Les enfants devront ensuite les coller aux bons endroits. Une fois les noms assimilés, votre nounou peut faire de même avec les couleurs ou encore les actions. 

Petit à petit, la nounou bilingue pourra même proposer aux enfants des recettes simples totalement en anglais.  Un enfant bilingue quant à lui, pourra comprendre des recettes plus élaborées qui l’aideront à enrichir son vocabulaire tout en pratiquant la langue avec sa baby sitter ! Mais aussi, en devenant un véritable cordon-bleu bilingue ! 

Lecture d’histoires avec la babysitter bilingue

Comme nous l’avons souligné dans un précédent article, la lecture d’histoires contribue au développement de 3 sens essentiels chez l’enfant. Le toucher, l’ouïe et la vision. De plus, cette activité des plus relaxantes, permet également aux enfants d’accroître leur imagination et d’enrichir leur vocabulaire. C’est alors l’occasion idéale pour initier l’enfant à l’anglais. Pour ce faire, proposez à votre nounou bilingue d’alterner entre différentes histoires. Elle peut raconter une histoire en français puis une autre en anglais. Il suffit de choisir des livres ou histoires bien illustrés. Ainsi, l’enfant pourra suivre le récit même s’ il ne comprend pas tout le vocabulaire utilisé.

Si l’enfant ne le demande pas, il n’est pas nécessaire de faire la traduction. Au fil du temps, l’enfant assimilera progressivement les nuances et les significations des mots. Il est toutefois important de raconter l’histoire avec le bon ton et une gestuelle adaptée pour une meilleure compréhension ! 

Regarder des dessins animés avec sa nounou bilingue  

Dès son plus jeune âge, l’enfant peut être baigné dans une nouvelle langue grâce aux dessins animés utilisant des termes à la fois simples et variés. Avec votre accord, la nounou bilingue peut s’organiser de sorte à ce qu’elle partage avec l’enfant un moment « dessin animé » pour accompagner son initiation à l’anglais. 5 à 10 minutes par jour suffisent pour apprendre de nouveaux mots tout en se divertissant. Le plus important est qu’elle choisisse des dessins animés simples ayant une histoire et un apport éducatif. 

D’ailleurs, voici une short liste de dessins animés et programmes éducatifs qui ont la cote auprès des enfants : 

Retrouvez également notre article : Dessins animés pour enfants : top 7 des dessins animés éducatifs !

Nounou bilingue et jeux éducatifs 

nounou bilingue : 
une petite fille qui regarde à travers une loupe
Freepik

Les jeux et activités ludiques sont un tremplin à ne pas négliger dans l’apprentissage et l’éveil des enfants. Notamment, lorsqu’il s’agit d’initier les enfants à de nouvelles langues. Il existe d’ailleurs une multitude de jeux pour apprendre progressivement l’anglais. Nous pouvons citer : Simon says ( le Jacques a dit en langue anglaise), i spy ou encore pass the ball. Des jeux à la fois amusants et éducatifs qui aideront les enfants à apprendre du vocabulaire mais aussi la construction de phrases. Votre nounou bilingue peut proposer divers jeux dans des laps de temps courts mais productifs ( 10 à 15 minutes par jour et par jeu ) afin de les divertir tout en les initiant à l’anglais. 

Retrouvez une liste non exhaustive de jeux pour apprendre l’anglais aux enfants dans notre article dédié juste ICI

Atelier théâtre bilingue

Le théâtre fait partie de ces activités aux multiples bienfaits. En effet, en plus de réduire la timidité, de booster l’autonomie et de construire la confiance en soi de l’enfant, le théâtre apporte une réelle valeur ajoutée lorsqu’il s’agit d’expression et de vocabulaire. Cette activité des plus divertissantes, va permettre à l’enfant de s’exprimer de manière plus fluide et plus claire. Proposez donc à votre nounou bilingue d’organiser de mini-ateliers théâtre à travers lesquels vos enfants pourront se défouler, s’exprimer et apprendre ! 

La babysitter peut proposer des extraits ou petites scènes avec des phrases ou expressions simples à reproduire sous les feux de la rampe. Ou bien, donner aux enfants une petite liste de mots à apprendre. Les enfants devront les mémoriser, comprendre leur sens. Puis, improviser une petite scène théâtrale en utilisant ces mots dans des phrases. L’enfant n’est pas obligé de faire des phrases en anglais. Dans un premier temps, il devra juste contextualiser les mots afin de montrer qu’il a bien assimilé leurs significations. 

A ce sujet, découvrez notre article : Premiers pas dans le théâtre : 10 supers mini-jeux pour enfants !

Si vous n’avez toujours pas trouver votre nounou bilingue, faites appel à Kidlee ! En plus des gardes sorties d école, nous proposons un service de garde d’enfants bilingue. Notre communauté de baby sitters profite également de nounous anglaises ou parfaitement bilingues sur la région parisienne et Ile de France.

Pour en savoir plus sur nos services de garde d’enfants en anglais, cliquez ICI !

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

seize − 4 =