Kidlee Logo

Montessori picture book: why adhere to it and which one to choose?

by | Mar 16, 2021 | Parents, Pedagogy Parents | 0 comments

Montessori picture book, what is it? What is the interest? Where to find it? Kidlee tells you everything in this article!

What is a Montessori picture book?

First of all, what is a picture book? A picture book is a collection of photographs or drawings presenting items with their names. In order for children to become aware of the world around them: what they eat, where they are, what they see ... In addition, it allows them to put a name on objects, food, clothing ... And enrich their vocabulary.

Around 18 months, the consciousness of the little ones begins to develop. They begin to differentiate and characterize the real world and its representation. They will therefore be able to distinguish images and recognize these items in everyday life.

The baby picture book is one of the first books to put in your baby's library. Indeed, it is not only the books ofstories that help the child's development.

On this subject, discover our articles :

Why join? 

The imaginary book is an indispensable tool for developing the child's symbolic thinking. It refers to the ability to represent and interpret what surrounds them. The first imagiers were designed to list everyday objects. There are also themed imagiers: animals, nature, house... 

The work of the picture book on the child revolves around observationthe understanding and the memorizationbut not only! Because it also raises awareness of written language. He then discovers that there is a link between words and objects. 

Little by little, between the ages of 1 and 3, the child builds his vocabulary. He learns more and more words. Because the picture book allows him to learn new words, but above all toorali.e. the pronunciation and of course the understanding.

Reading a picture book with your baby is to accompany him to his language development and sounds. It is also to direct its attention to one image at a time. To arouse his interest and develop its symbolic thought. You can also play many fun mini-games with the nomenclature cards. Find a selection of mini-games here.

Learning new words, associating them with visuals, is good! But memorizing all this is better! That's why many of the picture books are in the form of index cards, encouraging memory games and manipulation. It is a complete language support! 

As the child evolves and grows, you can always use the picture books as a way to practice reading!

Picture book for learning a new language

Given the effectiveness of imagiers in enriching babies' vocabulary, it is also possible to use children's imagiers to help them discover another language! Always the same principle: recognize the name of the objects, the writing of the word and the pronunciation. It can also be a great exercise to play memory games in this context.

Read our article :

Babysitting: 6 games to teach children English!

Which one to choose? 

In addition to the different themes of the imagiers, there are also different formats. It can be a book or a booklet. But also a box with picture cards inside.

The book can be illustrated with photos, drawings, 3D illustrations, silhouettes... The material used differs as well and aims to be a tactile book: foam, cardboard... 

If you choose a picture book, then it is best to choose the simplest one. With clear pictures and pages that are not too busy. The child should not get lost in it! 

Next, go for strength and durability. Imaginers should be easy to handle and durable! Also favor illustrations that are close to reality. Photos rather than drawings. Otherwise, very realistic drawings. Always to facilitate the understanding and recognition of the words of the objects that the child assimilates. 

There are several kinds of fun imagers: picture imagers, word imagers, sound imagers (with animal sounds, for example)... 

As we already know, the Montessori method encourages children to be independent and responsible. With Montessori imagiers, babies can become interested in language by having fun recognizing the illustrations and trying to imitate the sounds and words they hear. 

Card-shaped imagers can be classified images (classified cards). Or nomenclature cards. The difference between the two will be the writing of the word underneath. In other words, the classified pictures do not have words written on them, but the nomenclature cards do. Both types of picture books are language materials used in Montessori education. 

In other words, the images respect the criteria of the Montessori pedagogy :

  • White background
  • Large enough for the child to see the details,
  • Realistic and fully represented objects.

Discover the Montessori method through our articles :

Where to find it? 

Book My Montessori Imaginarium

My Montessori Imaginarium
Oxybul

THE reference box to learn the first words and their spelling, according to the Montessori pedagogy. Illustrated by Emmanuelle Tchoukriel.

150 cards on 5 themes (forest animals, vegetables, flowers, birds and insects). And a booklet for parents that presents the material and explains how to use it. Order it by clicking here.

Balthazar's Montessori Imaginarium

Balthazar's Montessori Imaginarium
Fnac

A first imagier to accompany the child from 1 to 6 years. More than 450 realistic images to name and classify each thing in the world into categories, according to the pedagogy of Maria Montessori. Balthazar's imagier exists in several themes in order to teach a maximum of words to children and to accompany them in their awakening! Order the here.

Montessori printable picture book

Montessori printable picture book
Pinterest

You can even have your own imagier Montessori at home. In particular by printing and laminating many freeMontessori inspiration at home. You can find several types of cards to print. It's up to you to choose the theme you want your child to discover. Find the cards of nomenclature here.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Imagier Montessori : pourquoi y adhérer et lequel choisir ?

par | Mar 16, 2021 | Parents, Pédagogie Parents | 0 commentaires

Imagier Montessori, qu’est-ce que c’est ? Quel intérêt ? Où en trouver ? Kidlee vous dit tout dans cet article !

Imagier Montessori c’est quoi ?

Tout d’abord, qu’est-ce qu’un imagier ? Un imagier est un regroupement de photographies ou dessins présentant des items accompagnés de leurs noms. Afin que les enfants puissent prendre conscience du monde qui les entoure : ce qu’ils mangent, où ils se trouvent, ce qu’ils voient … En outre, cela leur permet de poser un nom sur les objets, la nourriture, les vêtements… Et enrichir leur vocabulaire.

Vers 18 mois, la conscience des petits commence à se développer. Ils commencent alors à différencier et caractériser le monde réel et sa représentation. Ces derniers pourront donc distinguer les images et reconnaître ces items dans la vie quotidienne.

L’imagier bébé est l’un des premiers livres à mettre dans la bibliothèque de votre bébé. En effet, ce ne sont pas uniquement les livres d’histoires qui aident au bon développement de l’enfant.

A ce sujet, découvrez nos articles :

Pourquoi y adhérer ? 

L’imagier est un indispensable, c’est un outil qui permet de développer la pensée symbolique de l’enfant. Il fait référence à la capacité de représenter et interpréter ce qui l’entoure. Les premiers imagiers ont pour but d’énumérer les objets de la vie quotidienne. Il existe d’ailleurs des imagiers à thème : animaux, nature, maison… 

Le travail de l’imagier sur l’enfant tourne autour de l’observation, la compréhension et la mémorisation, mais pas que ! Car il sensibilise également au langage écrit. Il découvre alors qu’il y a un lien entre les mots et les objets. 

Petit à petit, entre 1 an et 3 ans, l’enfant construit son vocabulaire. Il apprend de plus en plus de mots. Car l’imagier permet d’apprendre de nouveaux mots, mais surtout à l’oral, c’est-à-dire la prononciation et bien sûr la compréhension.

Lire avec votre bébé un imagier, c’est l’accompagner à son éveil du langage et des sonorités. C’est aussi orienter son attention vers une seule image à la fois. Susciter son intérêt et développer sa pensée symbolique. Vous pouvez également faire de nombreux mini-jeux ludiques avec les cartes nomenclatures. Retrouvez une sélection de mini-jeux ici.

Apprendre de nouveaux mots, les associer à des visuels, c’est bien ! Mais mémoriser tout ça, c’est mieux ! C’est pourquoi plusieurs imagiers sont sous forme de cartes nomenclatures, favorisant les jeux de mémoires et la manipulation. C’est un support de langage complet ! 

Au fur et à mesure que l’enfant évolue et grandit, on peut toujours utiliser les imagiers à titre de support pour s’entrainer à la lecture !

Imagier pour apprendre une nouvelle langue

Compte tenu de l’efficacité des imagiers à enrichir le vocabulaire des bébés, il est également possible d’utiliser les imagiers pour enfant afin de leur faire découvrir une autre langue ! Toujours le même principe : reconnaître le nom des objets, l’écriture du mot et la prononciation. Cela peut être aussi un très bon exercice de jouer à des jeux de mémorisation dans ce contexte.

Retrouvez notre article :

Babysitting : 6 jeux pour apprendre l’anglais aux enfants !

Lequel choisir ? 

En plus des différentes thématiques des imagiers, il existe également différents formats. Cela peut être un livre ou un livret. Mais aussi un coffret avec des cartes imagières à l’intérieur.

L’imagier peut être illustré de photos, de dessins, d’illustrations 3D, de silhouettes… La matière utilisée diffère tout autant et vise à être un imagier tactile : mousse, carton… 

Si vous optez pour un livre imagier, il est alors préférable de choisir le plus simple. Avec des images claires et des pages pas trop chargées. Il ne faudrait pas que l’enfant s’y perde ! 

Ensuite, optez pour la résistance et la durabilité. Les imagiers doivent être faciles à manipuler et durables ! Favoriser également les illustrations proches de la réalité. Des photos plutôt que des dessins. Sinon des dessins très réalistes. Toujours pour faciliter la compréhension et la reconnaissance des mots des objets que l’enfant assimile. 

Il existe plusieurs sortes d’imagiers ludiques : imagier d’images, imagier avec les mots, imagier sonore (avec le bruit des animaux par exemple) … 

Comme nous le savons déjà, la méthode Montessori encourage les enfants à être autonomes et responsables. Avec les imagiers Montessori, les bébés peuvent s’intéresser au langage en s’amusant à reconnaître les illustrations et essayer d’imiter les sons et mots qu’ils entendent. 

Les imagiers en forme de cartes peuvent être des images classifiées (cartes classifiées).  Ou des cartes de nomenclatures. La différence entre les deux sera l’écriture du mot en dessous. Autrement dit, les images classifiées ne comportent pas de mots écrits par contre les cartes nomenclatures si. Les deux types d’imagiers sont un matériel de langage utilisé dans la pédagogie Montessori. 

En d’autre termes, les images respectent les critères de la pédagogie Montessori :

  • Fond blanc
  • Suffisamment grandes pour que l’enfant puisse voir les détails,
  • Objets réalistes et représentés en entier.

Découvrez la méthode Montessori à travers nos articles :

Où en trouver ? 

Livre Mon imagier Montessori

Mon imagier Montessori
Oxybul

LE coffret de références pour apprendre les premiers mots et leur graphie, selon la pédagogie Montessori. Illustré par Emmanuelle Tchoukriel.

150 cartes sur 5 thèmes (les animaux de la forêt, les légumes, les fleurs, les oiseaux et les insectes.). Et un livret destiné aux parents qui présente le matériel et explique comment l’utiliser. Commandez-le en cliquant ici.

L’imagier Montessori de Balthazar

L'imagier Montessori de Balthazar
Fnac

Un premier imagier pour accompagner l’enfant de 1 à 6 ans. Plus de 450 images réalistes pour nommer et classer chaque chose du monde en des catégories, selon la pédagogie de Maria Montessori. L’imagier de Balthazar existe en plusieurs thèmes afin de d’apprendre un maximum de mots aux enfants et les accompagner dans leur éveil ! Commandez le ici.

Imagier Montessori à imprimer

Imagier Montessori à imprimer
Pinterest

Vous pouvez même avoir votre imagier Montessori à la maison. Notamment en imprimant et en plastifiant de nombreux supports gratuits d’inspiration Montessori à la maison. Vous pouvez retrouver plusieurs types de cartes à imprimer. A vous de choisir le thème que vous souhaitez faire découvrir à votre enfant. Retrouvez les cartes de nomenclatures ici.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

cinq + dix-huit =