Kidlee Logo

Why Montessori can revolutionize your daily life?

by | Sep 7, 2020 | Parents, Pedagogy Parents | 0 comments

In today's society, the development and well-being of children has become a priority. And this is done first and foremost through their learning. Indeed, as children go through sensitive periods during their learning process, it is important to put their development and awakening at the center of attention. Moreover, in recent years, new pedagogical methods have increasingly focused on children and their autonomy. Among these methods, the Montessori Method stands out. It is therefore important to know more about this pedagogy and how it works with young children!

Montessori Method: photo of Maria Montessori

What is the Montessori method?

Montessori education is a method of education based on the research of Maria Montessori, a 20th century Italian physician and educator. 

Through her observations, Maria Montessori developed activities to help children in their development. This pedagogy is based on a global educational approach, from birth to adulthood. 

Indeed, Montessori learning accompanies the child from a young age and all those moments of life.

Prepare the child to become a responsible and balanced adult 

The Montessori pedagogy aims to shape the young human being on all levels (physical, social and spiritual). Its first mission is to help the child to build himself fully, autonomously to become a confident and responsible adult. The Montessori Method places the child as an actor in his own life. They become responsible for their own actions, an individual who has all the keys to success. 

What are the principles of the Montessori Method?

The Kidlee team implements this pedagogy within the hours of care for your children. Indeed, we believe that what this educational method seeks to develop in children is beneficial for their personal development. But what does it really mean?

The absorbing mind

Maria Montessori uses the metaphor of the sponge a lot. This is to explain the way in which the child absorbs information about its environment. For example, a young child learns his or her mother tongue without formal rules and without conscious effort.

To do this, he uses all his senses to study his environment and acquire the information he needs. The absorbing mind is at the heart of Montessori pedagogy! 

Montessori materials: learning through experience

Montessori method: child coloring

In developing its specific material, Montessori has developed specific tools. They allow children to practice meaningful activities. Each tool, each piece of equipment, each exercise and each material is related to a particular skill. In this way, the child will learn naturally. 

The child's hand

In her book, Maria Montessori explains the importance of the hand in the development of the child. The idea is to let the child touch and manipulate as many things as possible around him. Thus, he will use his hands to acquire knowledge about the environment in which he evolves. 

Stimulation and learning through the senses

Through all her research, Montessori shows that a young child uses all his senses to learn. Touching, smelling, weighing, licking, shaking... all these gestures are part of the learning process. This reflection allowed her to understand that our intellectual development is linked to that of our senses. 

The importance of movement

As children grow, they need to move. Movement allows them to learn and memorize certain concepts more easily. In the Montessori pedagogy, physical activity and mental activity are intimately linked. In fact, in the learning centers, the child's environment is designed to be as independent as possible. 

Silence, a concentration simulator

In order for children to listen to their bodies and explore the world, Montessori emphasizes the importance of silence. It allows children to concentrate more easily and to control their movements. 

Observation and the role of the educator

The Montessori educator, in this pedagogy, facilitates movement, observes and establishes a climate of confidence and well-being. He/she is a guide for the children and his/her role is to prepare the environment for their learning. 

Just as Maria Montessori based her pedagogy on observation, this is a key element in the educator's role. This includes observing with an open mind while remaining calm and passive to understand each child. In this way, the educator will be able to identify where they are in order to propose a new activity if necessary. The educator must respect the rhythm of each child and not stigmatize any child based on his or her performance.  

How to apply the Montessori Method at home?

After seeing the theory, it's time to see how to put it into practice with the kids.

So here's what a day inspired by the Montessori method looks like: 

a little girl taking a nap with her blanket

The rising :

No more screaming and crying from the child who demands to be taken out of bed! As soon as he becomes a little independent, the child sleeps on a mattress on the floor, lined with thick carpet. This way, when he wakes up, he can stay in bed or later access toys stored on low shelves. 

The breakfast :

The kitchen is set up in such a way that the child, from 2 years old or even before, will be able to find what he needs to prepare his breakfast. He will learn at an early age to pour and decant to serve himself a drink, put cereal in his bowl, etc... 

The toilet :

A step in front of the sink will allow the child to reach the materials needed to do things on his own without having to show him what to do. 

Dressing Montessori method:

Arrange the clothes in the order that the child will need to put them on so that all he or she has to worry about is putting them on correctly. 

The activities :

The Montessori method proposes the majority of its activities still in the form of trays in which the necessary material is found. The adult shows the child how to use it and then lets him/her do as much as he/she wants. 

The meals :

Once the child is trained with these famous trays, he will be able to participate in the preparation of meals. The emphasis is on sensory experiences as much as on autonomy: touching and smelling the food before it is cooked will stimulate the child's senses and curiosity and help him or her to appreciate the meals. 

Montessori Method: The bath

The presence of the adult is obviously necessary, but as soon as the child knows how to sit up by himself, it is possible to prepare miniature bottles containing soap and shampoo. This way, the child can use them by himself without the risk of causing a "catastrophe". 

Bedtime :

After the evening ritual is done, the child, quietly on his mattress, can leaf through a book or play a little before falling asleep because here again he is autonomous and responsible for his sleep. 

For more details on how to implement this pedagogy at home, just take a look at here.

What are the benefits of the Montessori method for children? 

Thanks to Montessori's pedagogy, the child acquires very early practical skills for everyday life. He also participates in the tasks of daily life: tidying up, clearing away, helping, etc... 

a mother and a little girl leafing through a book

One of the other advantages is that it can easily be implemented at home, allowing for true continuity. 

With the different methods used, the child quickly becomes independent and self-disciplined. Indeed, by being free to choose their activities, children rarely encounter discipline problems. Moreover, they do not get bored because they do what they want to do at any given time. 

In addition, the child acquires improved self-confidencewhich is one of the fundamental objectives of this pedagogy. 

By respecting each child's rhythm, their interest in the chosen activities will further develop their concentration. In this way, children are not "forced" to do things that do not interest them. Their intelligence is stimulated, whatever it may be. 

Finally, artistic activities take an important place so that each child can express himself freely. 

This pedagogy developed by Maria Montessori, which is centered on the child, will help him/her to progress in his/her own way. 

The team of Kidlee has put in place targeted notions of the Montessori pedagogy with the baby sittersparticularly in terms of sensory activitiesof awakening and development. This allows us to offer the best environment for children. This is the best way to promote their personal development and their daily awakening!  

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Montessori

Pourquoi Montessori peut révolutionner votre quotidien ?

Dans la société actuelle, l’épanouissement et le bien-être des enfants est devenu une priorité. Et cela passe en premier lieu par leur apprentissage. Au cours de ces dernières années, les pédagogies nouvelles mettent de plus en plus en avant les enfants et leur autonomie. Parmi ces méthodes, c’est la pédagogie Montessori se distingue fortement. Il est donc important d’en savoir plus sur cette pédagogie et son fonctionnement auprès des plus jeunes !

La méthode Montessori, c’est quoi ?

Cette pédagogie est fondée sur les recherches réalisées par Maria Montessori, une médecin et pédagogue italienne du 20ème siècle. 

Grâce à ses observations, elle a mis en place des activités destinées à aider les enfants dans leur développement. Cette pédagogie est basée sur une approche éducative globale, de la naissance à l’âge adulte. 

Préparer l’enfant à devenir un adulte responsable et équilibré 

La pédagogie Montessori a pour objectif de forger le jeune être humain sur tous les plans (physique, social et spirituel). Sa première mission est d’aider l’enfant à se construire pleinement, de manière autonome pour devenir un adulte confiant et responsable. Elle place l’enfant comme acteur de sa propre vie. Il devient responsable de ses gestes, un individu qui a toutes les clés pour réussir. 

Quels sont ses principes ?

L’équipe de Kidlee met en place cette pédagogie au sein des heures de garde auprès de vos enfants. En effet, nous pensons que ce qu’elle cherche à faire développer chez l’enfant est bénéfique pour son épanouissement personnel. Mais qu’est-ce que cela regroupe vraiment ?

L’esprit absorbant

Maria Montessori utilise beaucoup la métaphore de l’éponge. Il s’agit d’expliquer la manière dont l’enfant absorbe les informations relatives à son environnement. Par exemple, un jeune enfant apprend sa langue maternelle sans règles formelles et sans effort conscient. Pour cela, il utilise tous ses sens pour étudier son environnement et acquérir les informations dont il a besoin. L’esprit absorbant est au coeur de la pédagogie Montessori ! 

Le matériel Montessori : l’apprentissage par l’expérience

En développant son matériel spécifique, Montessori a mis au point des outils spécifiques. Ils permettent aux enfants de pratiquer des activités ayant du sens. Chaque outil, chaque équipement, chaque exercice et chaque matériau est relatif à une compétence particulière. De cette manière, l’enfant va apprendre naturellement. 

La main de l’enfant

Dans son livre, Maria Montessori explique l’importance de la main dans le développement de l’enfant. Il s’agit de laisser l’enfant toucher et manipuler le plus possible de choses autour de lui. Ainsi, il va utiliser ses mains pour acquérir des connaissances sur le milieu dans lequel il évolue. 

La stimulation et l’apprentissage par les sens

Grâce à toutes ses recherches, Montessori montre qu’un jeune enfant utilise tous ses sens pour apprendre. Toucher, sentir, peser, lécher, secouer… des gestes qui entrent tous dans le processus d’apprentissage. Cette réflexion lui a permis de comprendre que notre développement intellectuel est lié à celui de nos sens. 

L’importance du mouvement

Alors que l’enfant est en pleine phase de croissance, il a besoin de bouger. Le mouvement lui permet d’apprendre et de mémoriser plus facilement certains concepts. Dans la pédagogie Montessori, l’activité physique et l’activité mentale sont intimement liées. En effet, dans les centres d’apprentissage, l’environnement de l’enfant est fait de telle sorte qu’il soit aussi indépendant que possible. 

Le silence, simulateur de concentration

Afin que les enfants écoutent leur corps et explorent le monde, Montessori met en avant l’importance du silence. Il permet aux enfants de se concentrer plus facilement et de contrôler leurs mouvements. 

L’observation et le rôle de l’éducateur

L’éducateur, dans cette pédagogie, facilite le mouvement, observe et instaure un climat de confiance et de bien-être. Il est un guide pour les enfants et son rôle est de préparer l’environnement favorisant leur apprentissage. 

Tout comme Maria Montessori a basé sa pédagogie sur l’observation, c’est un élément clé dans le rôle de l’éducateur. Il s’agit notamment d’observer avec l’esprit ouvert en restant calme et passif pour comprendre chaque enfant. Ainsi, il pourra repérer où ils en sont afin de leur proposer une nouvelle activité si besoin. L’éducateur doit respecter le rythme de chaque enfant et ne stigmatiser aucun enfant en fonction de ses performances.  

Comment l’appliquer à la maison ?

Après avoir vu la théorie, il est temps de voir comment se mettre à la pratique avec les enfants.

Alors voici à quoi ressemble une journée inspirée de la méthode Montessori : 

Le lever :

Fini les cris et les pleurs de l’enfant qui réclame qu’on vienne le sortir de son lit ! Dès qu’il devient un peu autonome, l’enfant dort sur un matelas à même le sol, bordé de tapis épais. Ainsi, lorsqu’il se réveille, il peut rester au lit ou plus tard accéder à des jouets rangés sur des étagères basses. 

Le petit-déjeuner :

La cuisine est aménagée de telle sorte que l’enfant, dès 2 ans, voire avant, pourra trouver ce dont il a besoin pour préparer son petit-déjeuner. Il apprendra très tôt à verser et à transvaser pour se servir à boire, mettre des céréales dans son bol, etc… 

La toilette :

Un marchepied devant le lavabo permettra à l’enfant d’atteindre le matériel nécessaire pour se débrouiller tout seul sans avoir avoir à lui montrer ce qu’il doit faire. 

L’habillage :

Disposez les vêtements dans l’ordre où l’enfant devra les mettre afin que son seul souci soit de les enfiler correctement. 

Les activités :

La méthode Montessori propose la majorité ses activités s encore sous forme de plateaux dans lesquels se trouve le matériel nécessaire. L’adulte lui montre comment l’utiliser puis le laisse faire autant qu’il le désire. 

Les repas :

une fois que l’enfant est exercé grâce à ces fameux plateaux, il va pouvoir participer à la préparation des repas. On privilégie les expériences sensorielles autant que la prise d’autonomie : toucher, sentir les aliments avant leur cuisson va stimuler ses sens, sa curiosité et l’aider à apprécier les repas. 

Le bain :

la présence de l’adulte est évidemment nécessaire mais dès que l’enfant sait bien se tenir assis tout seul, il est possible de préparer des flacons miniatures contenant le savon et le shampooing. Ainsi, l’enfant peut les utiliser tout seul sans risque de provoquer une “catastrophe”. 

Le coucher :

après le rituel du soir fait, l’enfant, au calme sur son matelas, peut feuilleter un livre ou jouer un peu avant de s’endormir car là aussi il est autonome et responsable de son sommeil. 

Pour plus de détails sur la mise en place de cette pédagogie à la maison, allez jeter un coup d’oeil juste ici.

Quels en sont ses bienfaits chez l’enfant ? 

Grâce à la pédagogie de Montessori, l’enfant acquiert très tôt des compétences pratiques au quotidien. Il participe également aux tâches de la vie quotidienne : ranger, débarrasser, aider, etc… 

L’un des autres avantages c’est qu’elle peut facilement être mise en pratique à la maison, permettant d’avoir une véritable continuité. 

Avec les différentes méthodes employées, l’enfant devient vite autonome et s’autodiscipline. En effet, en étant libre du choix de ses activités, les enfants se heurtent rarement à des problèmes de discipline. De plus, ils ne s’ennuient pas puisqu’ils font ce dont ils ont envie à un moment donné. 

De plus, l’enfant acquiert une meilleure confiance en soi, qui fait partie des objectifs fondamentaux de cette pédagogie. 

En respectant le rythme de chaque enfant, son intérêt pour les activités choisies va davantage développer sa concentration. De cette manière, les enfants ne sont pas “forcés” à faire ce qui ne les intéressent pas. Leur intelligence est stimulée, quelle qu’elle soit. 

Enfin, les activités artistiques prennent une place importante pour que chaque enfant puisse s’exprimer librement. 

Par cette pédagogie développée par Maria Montessori, qui est axée sur l’enfant, cela va l’aider à progresser à sa manière. 

L’équipe de Kidlee a mis en place des notions ciblées de cette pédagogie auprès des baby-sitters, notamment au niveau des activités sensorielles, d’éveil et de développement. Ceci, permet de proposer le meilleur environnement aux enfants. De quoi favoriser leur épanouissement personnel et leur éveil au quotidien !