Kidlee Logo

Montessori pedagogy: what is it?

by | Oct 2, 2020 | Pedagogy Parents | 0 comments

Nowadays, educational methods are flourishing. Favoring more and more: the awakening, the development and the learning through play. But above all, the development of children on a daily basis. Among these numerous methods, it is the Montessori pedagogy that strongly stands out in the field of early childhood. And this, because of its principles, its functioning and its results with the youngest.

This method of learning and progressive autonomy attracts a very large audience. And above all, it arouses great curiosity and enthusiasm among parents. What are the principles of Montessori pedagogy and why is it so popular with educators and parents?

A painting of Maria Montessori holding a book
Maria Montessori

Montessori pedagogy: what is it?

The Montessori learning method is based on the discoveries and research of Maria Montessori, a 20th century Italian physician and educator. 

Thanks to these long observations with children, Maria Montessori set up targeted play activities. These activities are intended to help children in their daily development. And this, by accompanying them in the construction of their autonomy and their self-confidence.

This pedagogy, revolutionary in the eyes of its followers, is based on an educational approach that is both global and targeted. And this, from birth to adulthood. 

The Montessori pedagogy is, among other things, the result of observations of children from various cultural backgrounds. This study allowed Maria Montessori to come to a precise conclusion. According to the latter, all children are endowed with universal capacities that allow them to acquire knowledge throughout their evolution.

This learning method is now used worldwide to boost the development of the child. This pedagogy allows the child to grow and gain autonomy while discovering, experimenting and even having fun.

A pedagogy centered on the child and his autonomy:

The main objective of this pedagogy is to fully and autonomously build the adult of tomorrow. And this, by placing the child at the center of his own daily life, as responsible for his own actions.

Taking into account the psychic side of the child, this learning method also aims at preparing the child for his future life while developing his social sense.

In short, and as Maria Montessori so clearly stated, the main objective of the Montessori learning method is "to help the child to do". In other words, for the proper functioning of this pedagogy, it is important to leave the children free to choose their gestures and actions. The role of the educator, the parent or the babysitter will therefore be essentially one of supervision or accompaniment.

What are its principles?

Montessori pedagogy: hand of a child on a Montessori tool
Source : unsplash

The absorbing mind of the young child:

It is about explaining how the child absorbs information about his environment. Like a sponge. To do this, the child uses all his senses. And this in order to study his environment. To impregnate itself with this last one and thus to acquire the information which it needs to grow, evolve and become more autonomous.

Montessori materials:

In developing her teaching materials, Maria Montessori developed very specific and targeted tools for each activity. They allow children to practice meaningful activities that develop one or more skills at a time. Each tool, each piece of equipment, each exercise and each material is related to one or more specific skills. 

Learning through the senses:

Touching, smelling, weighing, licking, shaking... these gestures are all part of the child's learning and development process. Maria Montessori explains that our intellectual development is closely linked to that of our senses. 

Movement or motor skills:

As children grow, they need to move. Movement allows them to learn and memorize certain concepts more easily. In the Montessori pedagogy, physical activity and mental activity are intimately linked. But also, strongly solicited in many activities for children. 

Silence as a vehicle for concentration:

In order for children to listen to their bodies and explore the world, Maria Montessori emphasized the importance of silence. Silence is important in their development and in the strengthening of their bodily skills. Silence allows children to concentrate more easily and to control their movements. 

Observation and the role of the educator:

Maria Montessori based her pedagogy on observation. This is also a key element in the role of the Montessori educator. And this, in preschools for example. Or in Montessori schools.

This includes observing the younger children with an open mind. While remaining calm and passive to understand the behavior of each child.

What are the benefits of the Montessori pedagogy for children?

Montessori pedagogy: a child who has fun and discovers with Montessori materials
Source : Unsplash

Thanks to Montessori's pedagogy, the child acquires practical daily skills at an early age. He also participates in the tasks of daily life: tidying, clearing, helping, sorting, etc...  

With the different methods used and especially the different activities possible, the child quickly becomes autonomous and self-disciplined. He is not bored because he does what he wants to do at any given time. 

Moreover, with the Montessori method, the child acquires a better self-confidence, which is one of the fundamental objectives of this pedagogy. 

By respecting each child's rhythm and interest in the chosen activities, the child's concentration will be enhanced. In this way, children are not "forced" to do what does not interest them. On the contrary, they stimulate their intelligence according to what suits them.

Finally, Montessori art activities take an important place so that each child can express himself freely. 

Montessori pedagogy: examples of activities

What is very interesting with Montessori activities is that in addition to being able to acquire Montessori materials on the market (sales sites, bookstores, toy stores ...) you can also make them yourself. And often, from scratch! Moreover, making Montessori supports will be a great opportunity to make recuperation. Here are a few examples for ages 3 and up from Club Mamans.

  1. Use of padlocks
  2. The game of emotions
  3. Activity to learn how to tie your shoes

Discover also our article :Kindergarten: 6 Montessori games to learn in a fun way

Montessori pedagogy and Kidlee babysitting

Source : Unsplash

The Kidlee team implements this pedagogy during the hours of childcare provided by the babysitters. Indeed, we believe that what this pedagogy seeks to develop in children is beneficial for their personal development in all moments of their lives.

We have chosen to implement targeted notions of this pedagogy with the baby-sitters. In particular, we have chosen to implement sensory, awakening and developmental activities. This allows us to offer the best environment to the children. This is a great way to promote their personal growth, their development and their daily awakening! 

In order to guarantee an adapted pedagogy for your children, the baby-sitters follow trainings carried out by our care regularly. This allows them to learn more about its principles and to implement it at home. This will help your children to grow at their own pace without any worries!

By choosing to accompany your child with the Montessori pedagogy, you can be sure that he will progress at his own pace. This will allow him to blossom in the same environment at home, at school and with your babysitter. And thus to acquire growing capacities every day! 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

La pédagogie Montessori : qu’est-ce que c’est ?

par | Oct 2, 2020 | Pédagogie Parents | 0 commentaires

De nos jours, les méthodes pédagogiques fleurissent. Favorisant ainsi et de plus en plus : l’éveil, le développement et l’apprentissage par le jeu. Mais surtout, l’épanouissement des enfants au quotidien. Parmi ces nombreuses méthodes, c’est la pédagogie Montessori qui se démarque fortement dans le domaine de la petite enfance. Et ce, de part ses principes, son fonctionnement et ses résultats auprès des plus jeunes.

Cette méthode d’apprentissage et de d’autonomisation progressive attire en effet un très large public. Et elle suscite surtout, une grande curiosité et de l’engouement auprès des parents. Quels sont donc les principes de la pédagogie Montessori et pourquoi suscite-t-elle un tel engouement auprès des éducateurs et des parents ?

Une peinture du portrait de Maria Montessori tenant un livre
Maria Montessori

La pédagogie Montessori : qu’est-ce que c’est ?

La méthode d’apprentissage Montessori est fondée sur les découvertes et recherches réalisées par Maria Montessori, une médecin et pédagogue italienne du 20ème siècle. 

Grâce à ces longues observations auprès d’enfants, Maria Montessori à mis en place des activités ludiques ciblées. Ces dernières, sont destinées à aider les enfants dans leur développement quotidien. Et ce, en les accompagnant dans la construction de leur autonomie et leur confiance en soi.

Cette pédagogie, révolutionnaire aux yeux de ses adeptes, est d’ailleurs basée sur une approche éducative à la fois globale et ciblée. Et ce, de la naissance à l’âge adulte. 

La pédagogie Montessori est entre autre le fruit d’observations d’enfants issus de milieux culturels divers. Cette étude, a permis à Maria Montessori de déboucher sur un constat précis. Selon ce dernier, tous les enfants sont dotés de capacités universelles qui leur permettent d’acquérir des connaissances tout au long de leur évolution.

Cette méthode d’apprentissage est aujourd’hui utilisée dans le monde entier pour booster le développement de l enfant. Car cette pédagogie permet à l’enfant de grandir et de gagner en autonomie tout en découvrant, en expérimentant et même en s’amusant.

Une pédagogie centrée sur l’enfant et son autonomie :

L’objectif principal de cette pédagogie est de construire pleinement et de manière autonome l’adulte de demain. Et ce, en plaçant l’enfant au centre de son propre quotidien, comme responsable de ses propres actions.

Prenant en compte le côté psychique de l’enfant, cette méthode d’apprentissage vise également à préparer l’enfant à sa vie futur tout en développement son sens social.

En somme, et comme l’a si bien précisé Maria Montessori, l’objectif principale de la méthode d’apprentissage Montessori est  »d’aider l’enfant à faire  ». Autrement dit, pour le bon fonctionnement de cette pédagogie il est important de laisser les enfants libres de choisir leurs gestes et actions. Le rôle de l’éducateur, du parent ou du babysitter se portera donc essentiellement sur l’encadrement ou l’accompagnement.

Quels sont ses principes ?

Pédagogie Montessori : main d'un enfant sur un outil Montessori
Source : unsplash

L’esprit absorbant du jeune enfant :

Il s’agit d’expliquer la manière dont l’enfant absorbe les informations relatives à son environnement. Comme une éponge. Pour ce faire, l’enfant utilise tous ses sens. Et ce afin d’étudier son environnement. S’imprégner de ce dernier et ainsi acquérir les informations dont il a besoin pour grandir, évoluer et devenir plus autonome.

Le matériel Montessori :

En développant son matériel pédagogique, Maria Montessori a mis au point des outils bien spécifiques et très ciblés pour chaque activité. Ils permettent aux enfants de pratiquer des activités ayant du sens et développant une ou plusieurs compétences à la fois. Chaque outil, chaque équipement, chaque exercice et chaque matériau est relatif à une ou plusieurs compétences particulière(s). 

L’apprentissage par les sens :

Toucher, sentir, peser, lécher, secouer… des gestes qui entrent tous dans le processus d’apprentissage et du développement de l’enfant. Maria Montessori explique d’ailleurs que notre développement intellectuel est étroitement lié à celui de nos sens. 

Le mouvement ou la motricité :

Alors que l’enfant est en pleine phase de croissance, il a besoin de bouger. Le mouvement lui permet d’apprendre et de mémoriser plus facilement certains concepts. Dans la pédagogie Montessori, l’activité physique et l’activité mentale sont intimement liées. Mais aussi, vivement sollicitées dans beaucoup d’activités pour enfants. 

Le silence comme vecteur de concentration :

Afin que les enfants écoutent leur corps et explorent le monde, Maria Montessori met en avant l’importance du silence. Dans leur évolution et dans le renforcement de leurs compétences corporelles. Le silence permet aux enfants de se concentrer plus facilement et de contrôler leurs mouvements. 

L’observation et le rôle de l’éducateur :

Maria Montessori a basé sa pédagogie sur l’observation. C’est également un élément clé dans le rôle de l’éducateur Montessori. Et ce, dans les écoles maternelles par exemple. Ou encore, dans les écoles Montessori.

Il s’agit notamment d’observer les plus jeunes avec un esprit ouvert. Tout en restant calme et passif pour comprendre le comportement de chaque enfant.

Quels sont les bienfaits de la pédagogie Montessori pour les enfants ?

Pédagogie Montessori : un enfant qui s'amuse et découvre avec du matériel Montessori
Source : Unsplash

Grâce à la pédagogie de Montessori, l’enfant acquiert très tôt des compétences pratiques au quotidien. Il participe également aux tâches de la vie quotidienne : ranger, débarrasser, aider, trier, etc…  

Avec les différentes méthodes employées et surtout les différentes activités possibles, l’enfant devient vite autonome et s’autodiscipline. Il ne s’ennuie pas puisqu’il fait ce dont il a envie à un moment donné. 

De plus, avec la méthode Montessori l’enfant acquiert une meilleure confiance en soi, ce qui fait partie, rappelons-le, des objectifs fondamentaux de cette pédagogie. 

En respectant le rythme de chaque enfant et son intérêt pour les activités choisies va davantage développer sa concentration. De cette manière, les enfants ne sont pas “forcés” à faire ce qui ne les intéresse pas. Bien au contraire, ils stimulent leur intelligence selon ce qui leur convient.

Enfin, les activités artistiques Montessori prennent une place importante pour que chaque enfant puisse s’exprimer librement. 

Pédagogie Montessori : exemples d’activités

Ce qui est très intéressant avec les activités Montessori, c’est que en plus de pouvoir acquérir du matériel Montessori sur le marché ( sites de vente, librairies, magasins de jouets …) vous pouvez également les fabriquer vous-mêmes. Et souvent, à partir de rien ! D’ailleurs, fabriquer des supports Montessori sera une belle occasion de faire de la récup. En voici quelque exemples pour les 3 ans et plus piochés chez Club Mamans.

  1. Utiliser des cadenas
  2. Le jeu des émotions
  3. Activité pour apprendre à faire ses lacets

Découvrez également notre article :Maternelle : 6 jeux Montessori pour apprendre ludiquement

La pédagogie Montessori et le babysitting Kidlee

Source : Unsplash

L’équipe Kidlee, met en place cette pédagogie durant les heures de garde d’enfants effectuées par les babysitters. En effet, nous pensons que ce que ce cette pédagogie cherche à faire développer chez l’enfant est bénéfique pour son épanouissement personnel dans tous ses moments de vie.

Nous avons choisi de mettre en place des notions ciblées de cette pédagogie auprès des baby-sitters. Notamment au niveau des activités sensorielles, d’éveil et de développement. Ceci, permet de proposer le meilleur des environnements aux enfants. De quoi favoriser leur épanouissement personnel, leur développement et leur éveil au quotidien ! 

Afin de vous garantir une pédagogie adaptée pour vos enfants, les baby-sitters suivent des formations réalisées par nos soins régulièrement. Cela leur permet d’en apprendre davantage sur ses principes et de le mettre en place à la maison. De quoi aider vos enfants à grandir à leur propre rythme sans tracas !

En choisissant d’accompagner votre enfant avec la pédagogie Montessori, vous pourrez être certains qu’il progressera à son propre rythme. Cela lui permettra de s’épanouir dans le même cadre à la maison, à l’école ainsi qu’avec votre baby-sitter. Et ainsi d’acquérir des capacités grandissantes chaque jour ! 

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

quatre + douze =