Kidlee Logo

Learning English: 10 reasons to get kids started at a young age

by | Sep 3, 2021 | Information, Parents | 0 comments

 "He who does not know foreign languages, does not know his own language" said Goethe. Nowadays, it has been proven that the earlier you learn a language, the better you master it. But at what age should children start learning? How do you go about it? So many questions to which Kidlee will answer with 10 good reasons to learn English from a young age!

At what age can we start teaching them English?

At what age?

A child's introduction to a language can begin at birth. The earlier your child is introduced to the language, the better he or she will be able to understand it later. In addition, when a child hears the language of Shakespeare at an early age, he or she will progress rapidly in learning English. During the period of 3 months to 6 years, a child discerns intonations that will allow him or her to speak a language perfectly without an accent later on! You can begin to schedule "sessions" or rather times when you will speak only in English, for example during bath time, during dinner, or through play activities.

Why learn the language from a young age? 10 good reasons!

Reasons to learn English at a young age

1. Children have a phenomenal ability to learn languages up to the age of 7. 

Until this age, children retain the most frequent sounds very easily. And their brain stores them in a category called "USEFUL SOUNDS". In the same way, the brain forgets the less frequent sounds. It is therefore very important to expose children to foreign languages on a regular basis in order to get used to the pronunciation of words. This will facilitate their learning.

2. Learning English develops your intellectual curiosity!

While learning a new language is very rewarding, it also develops other skills in a child such as better concentration, intellectual curiosity and organization. Without realizing it, the toddler develops intelligence and learning mechanisms that will be very useful.

3. It's not just a language, but a whole culture!

When a child learns English, he or she also learns the codes and customs of another culture and acquires greater communicative sensitivity. In addition, he or she will be more open to social interaction and will be more open-minded.

4. Easier to learn other languages.

For bilingual children, it is easier to learn a new language. And for good reason, their brains have been conditioned to have cognitive flexibility and sensitivity to sounds. Besides, having already learned two languages will make them want to learn more!

5. Improved oral expression and comprehension.

It has also been proven that a child who has learned English at an early age has an easier time expressing himself or herself orally. As an adult, they will be less apprehensive about public speaking, not only because they will not have accents, but also because they will be more confident.

6. Languages do not compete for the same space in the brain!

The languages do not compete for the same space in the brain, on the contrary, they feed and support each other. Children will try to translate the vocabulary they have in French into English and vice versa. It's a win-win situation!

 7. English is relatively easy to learn, compared to other languages.

 Note that the grammar points and the English conjugation are constructed in a rather simple way. Much more than the French language. Therefore, the child will learn English quickly and well!

8. Learning English helps your creativity and stimulates your imagination! 

A child who is confronted with multiple points of view and who speaks in different languages is more likely to be inventive.

9. It's a long-term investment!

For the young child, learning English is a real long-term investment. Whether in their personal lives or in their future professional lives, learning English and developing these skills early on will serve them well and give them the ease and fluency that many people seek.

10. English classes at school will not be sufficient for the child to be bilingual

The teaching of foreign languages seems to remain very insufficient in France and the level of English in schools clearly does not correspond to the standards required internationally.

How to learn English?

methods for learning English

There are many good reasons to teach your child to speak English as early as possible. But how do you go about it?

As you can see, for your little ones to learn a new language, they need to be exposed to it! Why not by watching cartoons in English for example! Dora the Explorer, which has already proven itself over many generations, SpongeBob SquarePants or even Peppa Pig!

Children can also learn English in song! The website Speak and Play English offers you for example many free English nursery rhymes, all accompanied by a brief description and a grammatical and phonological analysis

There are also platforms that offer free English courses such as DuoLingo

Around age 5 or 6, you can suggest reading books in English! This will help them become more familiar with spelling and writing words. Such as Mini-Loup, mon imagier français, anglais ; Philippe Matter

English immersion remains one of the most effective techniques to learn the language. It is actually experiential learning. The children are put in a concrete teaching situation through a bilingual nanny or native English speaker who does progress in English by conversing with them in their language during recreational activities. At Kidleewe train our native or bilingual babysitters to organize activities and events mini games to introduce you to English as a complement to speaking English. In immersion, from an early age, a child has a better chance of assimilating the language.

If you want to improve your English once you're a little older, then a language trip is recommended. Fortunately, there are plenty of tours in the UK or other English-speaking countries!

0 Comments

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Animals in English: 4 activities for your bilingual childcare! - [...] not his own language". That's why, a while ago, we gave you 10 good reasons...
  2. Board games for kids: top 8 games to learn English! - [...] some time ago, we told you about the 10 reasons to introduce children from a young age to...

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Apprendre l’anglais : 10 raisons pour initier les enfants dès leur jeune âge

par | Sep 3, 2021 | Informations, Parents | 0 commentaires

 »Celui qui ne connaît pas les langues étrangères, ne connaît pas sa propre langue. » dit Goethe. À l’heure actuelle, il a été démontré que plus on apprend une langue tôt, mieux on la maîtrise. Mais à quel âge faut-il commencer à initier les enfants ? Comment s’y prendre ? Tant de questions auxquelles Kidlee répondra avec 10 bonnes raisons pour apprendre l’anglais dès le plus jeune âge !

À quel âge peut-on commencer à leur apprendre l’anglais ?

À quel âge ?

L’initiation d’un enfant à une langue peut se faire dès la naissance. Le plus tôt votre enfant se familiarise avec la langue, le mieux il ou elle pourra la comprendre plus tard. En outre, Lorsqu’il entend la langue de Shakespeare très tôt, L’enfant progresse rapidement dans son apprentissage de l’anglais. Durant la période de 3 mois, jusqu’à 6 ans, un enfant discerne des intonations qui lui permettront de parler parfaitement une langue sans accent plus tard ! Vous pouvez commencer à fixer des “séances” ou plutôt des moments ou vous ne parlerez qu’en anglais, par exemple pendant le bain, durant le dîner, ou à travers des activités ludiques.

Pourquoi apprendre la langue dès le plus jeune âge ? 10 bonnes raisons !

Raisons pour apprendre l'anglais jeune

1. Les enfants ont une capacité phénoménale à apprendre les langues jusqu’à l’âge de 7 ans. 

En effet, jusqu’à cet âge, les enfants retiennent les sons les plus fréquents très facilement. Et leur cerveau les enregistre dans une catégorie « SONS UTILES ». De la même manière, le cerveau oublie les sons les moins fréquents. Il est donc très important d’exposer régulièrement les enfants aux langues étrangères afin de bien s’habituer aux prononciations de mots. Ainsi, cela facilitera leur apprentissage.

2. Apprendre l’anglais développe sa curiosité intellectuelle !

Si le fait d’apprendre une nouvelle langue est très enrichissant, cela permet aussi de développer d’autres compétences chez un enfant telles qu’une meilleure concentration, une curiosité intellectuelle ou encore une meilleure organisation. Sans s’en rendre compte, le bambin développe son intelligence et des mécanismes d’apprentissage qui lui seront très utiles.

3. Ce n’est pas qu’une langue, mais toute une culture !

Quand l’enfant apprend l’anglais, il apprend aussi les codes et les mœurs d’une autre culture et acquiert une meilleure sensibilité communicative. En outre, il sera plus ouvert aux échanges sociaux et fera preuve d’ouverture d’esprit.

4. Plus de facilité à apprendre d’autres langues.

Pour les enfants bilingues, il est plus facile d’apprendre une nouvelle langue. Et pour cause, leur cerveau a été conditionné pour avoir une flexibilité cognitive et une sensibilité aux sons. D’ailleurs, avoir déjà appris deux langues lui donnera envie d’en apprendre davantage !

5. Meilleure expression et compréhension orale.

Il a aussi été prouvé qu’un enfant qui a appris l’anglais très tôt a plus de facilité à s’exprimer à l’oral. À l’âge adulte, il aura moins d’appréhension à prendre la parole en public, d’une part, car il n’aura pas d’accents, mais il aura aussi gagné en confiance en lui.

6. Les langues ne se disputent pas le même espace dans le cerveau !

Les langues ne se disputent pas le même espace dans le cerveau, au contraire, elles se nourrissent et s’épaulent mutuellement. Car les enfants chercheront à traduire le vocabulaire qu’ils ont en français en anglais et vice-versa. C’est tout bénef !

 7. L’anglais est relativement une langue facile à apprendre, par rapport à d’autres langues.

 Notons que les points de grammaire et la conjugaison anglaise sont construites de manière assez simple. Bien plus que la langue française. Par conséquent, l’enfant va apprendre l anglais rapidement et bien !

8. Apprendre l’anglais favorise sa créativité et stimule son imagination ! 

Un enfant confronté à de multiples points de vue et qui s’exprime dans des langues différentes est plus à même de faire preuve d’inventivité.

9. C’est un investissement à long terme !

Pour l’enfant en bas âge, apprendre l’anglais est un véritable investissement à long terme. Que cela soit dans sa vie personnelle ou dans sa vie professionnelle future, apprendre l’anglais et développer ces compétences tôt lui serviront pour toujours et lui offriront l’aisance et la fluidité que beaucoup de personnes recherchent.

10. Les cours d’anglais à l’école ne seront pas suffisants pour que l’enfant soit bilingue

L’enseignement des langues étrangères semble rester très insuffisant en France et le niveau d’anglais à l’école ne correspond manifestement pas aux standards requis à l’international.

Comment apprendre la langue anglaise ?

méthodes pour apprendre l'anglais

On l’a bien compris, il existe plein de bonnes raisons d’apprendre à l’enfant à parler anglais le plus tôt possible. Mais comment s’y prendre ?

Vous l’aurez compris, pour que vos bouts de choux s’imprègnent d’une nouvelle langue, il faut qu’ils y soient exposés ! Pourquoi pas en regardant des dessins animés en anglais par exemple ! Dora l’Exploratrice qui a déjà fait ses preuves sur de nombreuses générations, Bob l’éponge ou encore Peppa Pig !

Les enfants peuvent également apprendre l’anglais en chanson ! Le site Speak and Play English vous propose par exemple de nombreuses comptines en anglais gratuites, toutes accompagnées d’une brève description et d’une analyse grammaticale et phonologique

Il existe aussi des plateformes qui proposent des cours d’anglais gratuits tels que DuoLingo

Vers 5, 6 ans, vous pouvez proposer de lire des livres en anglais ! Ça va l’aider à se familiariser davantage avec l’orthographe et l’écriture des mots. Tel que Mini-Loup, mon imagier français, anglais ; Philippe Matter

L’immersion en anglais reste l’une des techniques les plus efficaces pour apprendre la langue. Il s’agit en réalité de l’apprentissage par l’expérience. Les enfants sont mis dans une situation concrète d’enseignement par le biais d’une nounou bilingue ou native anglaise qui le fait progresser en anglais en conversant avec lui dans sa langue lors d’activités récréatives. Chez Kidlee, nous formons nos babysitters natives ou bilingues à organiser des activités ou des minis jeux d’initiation à l’anglais en complément à l’expression en anglais. En immersion, dès le plus jeune âge, un enfant a plus de chance d’assimiler la langue.

Pour se perfectionner en anglais une fois un peu plus âgés, un séjour linguistique est alors recommandé. Heureusement, il existe plein de voyages organisés au Royaume-Uni ou autre pays anglophone !

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

onze + deux =