Kidlee Logo

Ecology explained to children : our advice for a good start!

by | May 3, 2021 | Babysitting tips, Kids, Lifestyle, Parents, Pedagogy Parents, For babysitters | 0 comments

The planet is in bad shape, as we keep reminding ourselves. The ecological crisis has caused and continues to cause havoc. The list of damage caused is long, but we can cite global warming, pollution, the extinction of biodiversity or the overexploitation of natural resources as examples. As adults, you understand the gravity of the situation. However, for a child, it is not likely to make him want to know more. That's why you have to be very subtle in the way you present things. That's why, Kidlee tells you everything you need to know to make ecology explained to children a real pleasure.

Ecology explained to children: how to do it well? 

Create a contact with nature 

It's hard to ask your child to care for the Earth if they don't feel a connection to it. The coolness of a moment under the shade of a tree, an ant struggling to carry a bread crumb or fish swirling in the ocean, oh how beautiful. Adults tend to forget that magic can be found in the simplest of things. Children marvel at the smallest things. This way, you will make him want to protect this whole ecosystem instead of imposing it on him. It is certain that things done with love are always better done.

To do this, discover our selection of 6 activities to connect children to nature just here.

Lead by example

Turning off the light when you leave the room, turning off the faucet when you brush your teeth, sorting your garbage... These are small ecological gestures that make a difference. The fact of explaining all this to the child is good, but showing him the example is even better. Indeed, if he sees that you don't apply what you say, why should he. Set a good example, for our dear planet, we count on you!

Ecology explained to children: the why and the how

Let's look at a very common situation. Your child is outside, drops a plastic bottle and leaves it there. You have to explain to your child that this waste is likely to be washed down the drain and then dumped in the sea. And your child will end up in the world of the Little Mermaid, which is not nice. Besides, Ariel is allergic to plastic! And even for us, enjoying the beach without litter is better than with it. If we pollute too much, one day we won't be able to swim anymore.

It is necessary to go far in the imagination to embark your child with you. Do not hesitate to multiply the metaphors to be able to sensitize it with ecology.

However, if you still can't, you can opt for other means. Like Youtube channels and videos to introduce children to ecology. Also, you can opt for short films like "A square for biodiversity" or "From Planeta" .

Teach children that ecology is fun!

Choosing a lifestyle that promotes sustainable development should not be felt as a constraint by your child, but more as an advantage.

You can make a chart of "simple gestures for the planet" and then put a star for each time it is done. And every night, you add up the stars to see if it's better than yesterday. Kids like to see their actions rewarded. Instead of stars as a reward, you can choose something else.

Also, you can opt for recycling to create new games for your child. Or, buy the toy of your child's dreams second hand and explain that it's always better to buy used instead of new.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

L’écologie expliquée aux enfants : nos conseils pour bien s’y prendre !

l'écologie expliquée aux enfants

La planète se porte mal, on ne cessera de le rappeler. La crise écologique a fait et continue à faire des ravages. La liste des dégâts occasionnés est longue, mais on peut citer à titre d’exemple le réchauffement climatique, la pollution, l’extinction de la biodiversité ou encore la surexploitation des ressources naturelles. En tant qu’adultes, vous comprenez la gravité de la situation. Par contre, pour un enfant, ça ne risque pas de lui donner envie d’en savoir plus. C’est pour ça qu’il faut être très subtile dans la manière de présenter les choses. C’est pourquoi, Kidlee vous dit tout ce qu’il faut savoir pour que l’écologie expliquée aux enfants soit synonyme d’une vraie partie de plaisir.

L’écologie expliquée aux enfants : comment bien s’y prendre ? 

Créer un contact avec la nature 

Difficile de demander à votre enfant de prendre soin de la Terre s’il ne ressent pas une connexion avec cette dernière. La fraîcheur d’un moment sous l’ombre d’un arbre, une fourmi qui se démène pour transporter une miette de pain ou les poissons qui tourbillonnent dans l’océan, ah que c’est beau. Les adultes ont tendance à oublier que la magie peut résider dans les choses les plus simples. L’enfant s’émerveille devant le moindre petit élément. Ainsi, vous lui donnerez envie de protéger tout cet écosystème au lieu de le lui imposer. Il est certain que les choses faites avec amour sont toujours mieux faites.

Pour ce faire, découvrez notre sélection de 6 activités pour connecter les enfants à la nature juste ici.

Donnez l’exemple

Éteindre la lumière une fois sortie de la pièce, fermer le robinet quand on se brosse les dents, trier les déchets… C’est des petits gestes écolos qui font la différence. Le fait d’expliquer tout ça à l’enfant, c’est bien, mais lui montrer l’exemple c’est encore mieux. En effet, s’il voit que vous-mêmes n’appliquez pas ce que vous dites, pourquoi lui le ferait. Donnez le bon exemple, pour notre chère planète, on compte sur vous !

L’écologie expliquée aux enfants : le pourquoi du comment

Prenons en exemple une situation très fréquente. Votre enfant est dehors, fait tomber une bouteille en plastique et la laisse ainsi. Il faut expliquer à votre enfant que ce déchet risque d’être emporté par les égouts puis déversé dans la mer. Et ce dernier se retrouvera dans le monde de la petite sirène, ce n’est pas sympa. De plus, Ariel est allergique au plastique ! Et puis même pour nous, profiter de la plage sans détritus, c’est mieux qu’avec. Si on pollue trop, un jour nous ne pourrons plus nous baigner.

Il faut aller loin dans l’imaginaire pour embarquer votre enfant avec vous. N’hésitez pas à multiplier les métaphores pour pouvoir le sensibiliser à l’écologie.

Si toutefois, vous n’y arrivez toujours pas, vous pouvez opter pour d’autres moyens. Comme les chaînes et vidéos Youtube pour initier les enfants à l’écologie. Aussi, vous pouvez opter pour des courts-métrages comme “Un carré pour la biodiversité” ou “De Planeta« .

Apprendre aux enfants que l’écologie, c’est fun !

Choisir un mode de vie qui prône le développement durable ne doit pas être ressenti comme une contrainte par votre enfant, mais plus comme un avantage.

Vous pouvez faire un tableau des “gestes simples pour la planète” puis mettre une étoile à chaque fois que c’est fait. Et chaque soir, vous faites le total des étoiles pour voir si c’est meilleur qu’hier. Les enfants aiment voir leurs actions récompensées. Au lieu des étoiles comme récompense, vous pouvez choisir autre chose.

Aussi, vous pouvez opter pour le recyclage pour créer de nouveaux jeux à votre enfant. Ou encore, lui acheter le jouet de ses rêves en seconde main et lui expliquer que c’est toujours mieux d’acheter de l’occasion à la place du neuf.