Kidlee Logo

Board games for kids: top 8 games to teach English to kids!

by | Apr 29, 2022 | News

If a while ago, we were telling you about 10 reasons to introduce children to a new language at an early age, Today, we're going to practice! And not with just any language because it is the first language spoken worldwide, say hi! So yes, watching cartoons in English and introducing it little by little is a great start. But what about board game time? What if you took the opportunity to play in English too? A little birdie tells us that you're not really sure which board games to play as a child. Don't panic, Kidlee is here and we have prepared a selection of games to teach English to the little ones but also to spend good times with the family!

Brain box - Learn English

This game will give children the opportunity to demonstrate their observational skills. Be careful though because 10 seconds to prove it may not be enough for all children. After observing a card with several elements, you turn it over and must then answer as many questions as possible about it. This is a game that allows you to work on the child's memory and to enrich his English vocabulary.

A classic children's board game - Scattergories

This name doesn't tell you anything? And yet, we are ready to bet that you have already played the French version of it! It's the same old Baccalaureate. For each predefined category, you have to find words that start with a given letter. Of course, all in English. All you need for this game are pens, paper and a stopwatch!

Sky my husband

Here's a fun game for older kids or those who have been immersed in English culture from a young age! The objective of this game is to find English expressions as quickly as possible from literal French translations. For example, the English expression for "wild west" is indeed "Wild Wild West". That's 46 expression cards waiting for you. But don't worry, two clues will be present to help you find the right answer.

Board games for children and adults - Twist Délire Anglais

For this game, speed and observation go hand in hand. The goal is to find on the cards on the table, the words containing the 2 vowels drawn by the dice. Thus, this game allows to develop the English vocabulary and to work on the spelling of the words. 

Cartatoto English

board games for kids : english cartatoto

Whether it's for languages, maths or science, cartatoto is no longer a must! The version for learning English corresponds perfectly to the vocabulary learned in elementary school. So if you're looking for a board game to teach English to the little ones, you've come to the right place!

Memotep

For this game, it will be especially the oral which will be requested, because it is necessary to be the fastest to give the translation of a word or a sentence. With 3 game modes and 2 levels of difficulty, there is something for everyone. Even if, it is advised from 7 years old.

Board games for children in adult mode - Shopping List

Children take turns turning over cards representing everyday items, from tomatoes to pizza to laundry. The winner is the first player to collect all the items on their list and fill their cart or basket! This game is suitable for children ages 3 to 7 and can be played with 2 or 4 players. Also, this game helps develop matching and memory skills, encourages observation skills and gives them a taste of adult life.

Tam Tam English

With Tam Tam English, each player must associate picture cards and word cards in English. This card game is recommended for ages 7 and up. However, it can be used by younger children (from 5-6 years old) if their level of reading and English is sufficient. 

Now all you have to do is choose a game from this top 8! Tell us which one is your favorite.

Kidlee Logo

Jeux de société enfant : top 8 des jeux pour apprendre l’anglais aux enfants !

par | Avr 29, 2022 | Actualités | 0 commentaires

S’il y a quelque temps, on vous parlait des 10 raisons pour initier les enfants dès leur jeune âge à une nouvelle langue, aujourd’hui, on passe à la pratique ! Et pas avec n’importe quelle langue car il s’agit de la première langue parlée mondialement, say hi ! Alors oui, regarder les dessins animés en anglais et l’introduire petit à petit, c’est un excellent début. Mais qu’en est-il du moment des jeux de société ? Et si vous en profitiez pour jouer en anglais too ? Notre petit doigt nous dit que vous faites choux blanc et ne savez pas vraiment vers quels jeux de société enfant vous orienter. Pas de panique, Kidlee is here et on vous a préparé une sélection de jeux pour apprendre l’anglais aux petits loulous mais aussi pour passer de bons moments en famille !

Brain box – Apprendre l’anglais

Ce jeu donnera aux enfants de démontrer leurs talents d’observateur. Attention par contre car 10 secondes pour le prouver ne sont pas forcément suffisantes pour tous les enfants. Après avoir observé une carte comportant plusieurs éléments, vous la retournez et devez ensuite répondre à un maximum de questions sur cette dernière. Voici donc un jeu qui permet à la fois de travailler la mémoire de l’enfant et d’enrichir son vocabulaire en anglais.

Un classique des jeux de société enfants – Scattergories

Ce nom ne vous dit rien ? Et pourtant, on est prêt à parier que vous avez déjà joué à la version française de ce dernier ! Il s’agit de l’indétrônable Baccalauréat mais. Pour chaque catégorie prédéfinie, vous devez trouver des mots qui commencent par une lettre imposée. Bien sûr, le tout en version anglaise. Pour ce jeu, vous n’aurez besoin que des stylos, des feuilles et d’un chronomètre !

Sky my husband

Voici un jeu rigolo pour les plus grands ou ceux qui baignent dans la culture anglophone dès leur plus jeune âge ! L’objectif de ce dernier est de trouver le plus rapidement possible des expressions anglaises à partir de traductions littérales françaises. Par exemple, l’expression en anglais de  «ouest sauvage sauvage» est bel et bien «Wild Wild West». C’est donc 46 cartes d’expression qui vous attendent. Mais ne vous inquiétez pas, deux indices seront présents pour vous aider à trouver la bonne réponse.

Jeux de société enfants et grands – Twist Délire Anglais

Pour ce jeu, rapidité et observation vont de pair. Le but étant de trouver sur les cartes posées sur la table, les mots contenant les 2 voyelles tirées par les dés. Ainsi, ce jeu permet de développer le vocabulaire Anglais débutant et de travailler l’orthographe des mots. 

Cartatoto Anglais

jeux de société enfant : cartatoto anglais

Que ce soit pour les langues, les maths ou les sciences, on ne présente plus cartatoto ! La version pour apprendre l’anglais correspond parfaitement au vocabulaire appris à l’école primaire. Donc, si vous cherchez un jeu de société pour apprendre l’anglais aux plus petits, vous êtes sur la bonne pioche !

Memotep

Pour ce jeu, ça sera surtout l’oral qui sera sollicité, car il faut être le plus rapide à donner la traduction d’un mot ou d’une phrase. Avec 3 modes de jeu et 2 niveaux de difficulté, tout le monde trouvera son bonheur. Même si, il est conseillé à partir de 7 ans.

Jeux de société enfant en mode adulte – Shopping List

À tour de rôle, les enfants retournent des cartes représentant des articles de tous les jours, des tomates aux pizzas en passant par la lessive. Le gagnant est le premier joueur à rassembler tous les articles de sa liste et à remplir son chariot ou son panier ! Ce jeu convient aux enfants de 3 à 7 ans et peut se jouer à 2 ou à 4. Aussi, ce jeu permet de développer les compétences d’appariement et de mémoire, d’encourager les compétences d’observation et de leur donner un avant-goût de la vie d’adulte.

Tam Tam English

Avec le Tam Tam English, chaque joueur doit associer des cartes-images et des cartes-mots en anglais. Ce jeu de cartes est conseillé à partir de 7 ans. Toutefois, il peut être utilisé par des enfants plus jeunes (dès 5-6 ans) si leur niveau de lecture et d’anglais est suffisant. 

Maintenant, il ne vous reste plus qu’à choisir un jeu parmi ce top 8 ! Dites-nous lequel est votre favori.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.