Kidlee Logo

Positive parenting: our tips for getting started

by | Oct 25, 2021 | Information, Parents | 0 comments

Positive parenting: our tips for getting started 

Positive parenting is one of the most talked-about terms among parents lately after the Montessori however, it is far from being recent! (Yes, it exists since 2006!) For those who don't know it, who have just heard about it, or who want to start it, this article is for you!

What is positive parenting?

Positive parenting

Positive parenting as defined by the Council of Europe is a family behavior that respects the best interest of the child and his rights. Furthermore, it is the principle of educating children with zero violence.

Indeed, it is no longer a question of educating to be obeyed. Positive parenting proposes to become aware (during cries, crises, oppositions) of the child's emotions and needs.

Beware! Positive parenting does not mean laxIt proposes to put in place the framework and the rules that the child needs to blossom while respecting his neighbor and without educational violence.

According to a study of 295 Triple P trained parents, this approach makes them feel more competent and they feel less stress!

This approach to parenting goes in the otic of guide the child instead of trying to dominate him, take into consideration his point of view, his emotion in order to better understand him.

The Family wants to hold the child accountable rather than make him/her obey through fear or humiliation. Instead, thenurturing education involves teaching him to to act betterand explain to him the logical consequences of his actions. By doing this, the parent will involve him, explain to him and all that without means of force.

The caring parent is not a perfect parent:

Seeking perfection will only lead to disappointment. What you should tell yourself is exactly what you should also tell your child: do your best and take your time.

Showing your child your weaknesses will show them that no one is perfect. On the contrary, it is normal to be tired from time to time. It will prevent him from thinking that his parents are perfect and that he can't do it. And then setting the bar too high will lead to guilt, depression and parental burn out... Oulala it does not give any desire at all! It is certain that positive parenting will not be the miracle solution, but a balance will gradually be established. The screams will always be there! But there will be less and less of it until it is eliminated!

How does it work?

If you have heard of positive parenting, you must have heard ofIsabelle Filliozat. Filliozat is an author, psychotherapist, parenting expert and above all, a leading figure in positive parenting in France. The Positive Approach to Children, also called the "Filliozat Method", takes an innovative look at children. It is based on humanistic psychology and positive psychology. Isabelle Filliozat helps parents in difficulty by offering workshops, tools and tipsin addition to its trainingto find the right parental attitude and words, in order to achieve family harmony.

The 5 fundamental principles of positive parenting or "benevolent parenting" :

1. An affective and emotional education meets the emotional needs of children (need for love, affection, emotional security)

2. A framework and rules of life which aim to ensure physical safety and health while reconciling self-respect and respect for others;

3. Recognition as full-fledged people of children through empathetic listeninga right to emotional expression and unconditional love;

4. Progressive empowerment through freedoms and rights that build children's sense of personal competence and power;

5. A non-violent education excluding any corporal punishment (spanking, slapping, isolation...) or psychologically humiliating punishment (blackmail, threats, mockery, deprivation, shouting, lying...). Corporal punishment is a violation of the rights of the child with regard to his physical integrity and human dignity.

How to do it gradually

It's certain that we can't change our way of doing things at all, and that's not what's being asked. And if you change your way of seeing things, and if you take a step back. It is clear that this is easier said than done... You will often need to take a deep breath which will help you take time to think. Remember that children don't want to push you around or manipulate you, and that their brains are still forming

Have tools! Positive parenting offers many of them:

The tools of positive parenting are effective! Very quickly, the child will not be the same. The family atmosphere will be calmer and the bonds will be stronger. Isabelle Filliozat reminds us of 4 simple principles to apply every day:

  • Favour positive formulations The brain of children is equipped to process positive instructions before negation. These instructions can therefore relate to the desired behavior.
  • Avoid the no that lends intension: which triggers the child's opposition. We can say "yes, and..." We can say "yes and", ask the child questions, or redirect the child's goals. Sometimes a child acts out because of a lack of positive attention.
  • Create routines and encourage good behavior: Routines give children a sense of direction; don't hesitate to praise them when they make progress. It's good to praise your child by describing what he does well. The more positive attention you give your toddler, the less disruptive his or her behaviors will be.
  • Showing a lot of affection to the child: Love is not a reward, but a necessity for the child. Show empathy to your little one, recognizing the child's emotion comforts them, as they feel understood.
  • Getting him to think: Instead of giving a command, try asking a question. When your child thinks, he feels big and responsible. They are more cooperative. When your child misbehaves or makes a mistake, the best thing to do is to allow him to fix it. Correcting the mistake also makes them feel better and more responsible.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Parentalité positive : nos conseils pour s’y mettre progressivement

par | Oct 25, 2021 | Informations, Parents | 0 commentaires

Parentalité positive : nos conseils pour s’y mettre progressivement 

La parentalité positive est l’un des termes les plus évoqués dernièrement par les parents après le Montessori pourtant, c’est loin d’être récent ! (Hé oui ! Ça existe depuis 2006 ! ) Pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas, qui en ont simplement entendu parler, ou encore qui souhaitent s’y mettre cet article est fait pour vous !

Parentalité positive qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Parentalité positive

La parentalité positive telle qu’elle est définie par le Conseil de l’Europe est un comportement familial qui respecte l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant et ses droits. En outre, c’est le principe d’éduquer les enfants avec zéro violence.

En effet, il ne s’agit plus d’éduquer pour être obéi. La parentalité positive propose de prendre conscience (lors des cris, crises, oppositions) des émotions et besoins de l’enfant.

Attention ! La parentalité positive ne veut pas dire laxiste, elle propose de mettre en place le cadre et les règles dont l’enfant a besoin pour s’épanouir en respectant son prochain et sans violence éducative.

D’après une étude réalisée auprès de 295 parents ayant suivi la formation Triple P, cette approche leur fait se sentir plus compétents et ces derniers ressentent moins de stress !

Cette approche de la parentalité va dans l’otique de guider l’enfant au lieu de chercher à le dominer, prendre en considération son point de vue, son émotion afin de mieux le comprendre.

Le parent veut rendre l’enfant responsable plutôt que de le faire obéir par la peur ou l’humiliation. Au lieu de cela, l’éducation bienveillante implique de lui apprendre à mieux agir, et de lui expliquer quels seront les conséquences logiques de ses actes. En faisant cela, le parent va l’impliquer, lui expliquer et tout cela sans moyens de force.

Le parent bienveillant n’est pas un parent parfait :

Chercher la perfection ne mènera qu’à la déception. Ce qu’il faut se dire est exactement ce qu’il faudra aussi expliquer à son enfant : faire de son mieux et prendre son temps.

Montrer ses faiblesses à son enfant lui montrera que nul n’est parfait. Au contraire, il est normal d’être fatigué de temps en temps. Ça lui évitera de penser que ses parents sont parfaits et que lui n’y arrive pas. Et puis mettre la barre trop haute engendrera la culpabilité, la dépression et le burn out parental… Oulala ça ne donne pas du tout envie ! C’est certain que la parentalité positive ne sera pas la solution miracle, mais un équilibre va petit à petit s’installer. Les cris seront toujours là ! Mais il y en aura de moins en moins jusqu’à les éliminer !

Comment ça marche ?

Si vous avez entendu parler de parentalité positive, vous devez certainement avoir entendu parler, d’Isabelle Filliozat. Filliozat est auteure, psychothérapeute, experte parentalité et surtout, figure phare de la parentalité positive en France. L’Approche Positive de l’enfant aussi appelé La « Méthode Filliozat » pose un regard novateur sur l’enfant. Issue de la psychologie humaniste et de la psychologie positive. Isabelle Filliozat vient en aide aux parents en difficultés en proposant des ateliers, des outils et des astuces, en plus de sa formation, pour trouver l’attitude parentale adaptée et mots justes, afin d’aboutir à une harmonie familiale.

Les 5 principes fondamentaux de la parentalité positive ou « parentalité bienveillante » :

1. Une éducation affective et émotionnelle qui répond aux besoins affectifs des enfants (besoins d’amour, d’affection, de sécurité émotionnelle)

2. Un cadre et des règles de vie qui visent à assurer la sécurité physique et la santé tout en conciliant le respect de soi et respect des autres ;

3. Une reconnaissance en tant que personnes à part entière des enfants à travers une écoute empathique, un droit à l’expression émotionnelle et un amour inconditionnel ;

4. Une autonomisation progressive via des libertés et des droits qui permettent de renforcer chez les enfants le sentiment personnel de compétence et de pouvoir personnel ;

5. Une éducation non-violente excluant tout châtiment corporel (fessée, gifle, isolement…) ou psychologiquement humiliant (chantage, menace, moquerie, privation, cris, mensonge…). Les châtiments corporels constituent une violation des droits de l’enfant au regard de son intégrité physique et de sa dignité humaine.

Comment s’y prendre progressivement

C’est certain qu’on ne peut pas changer notre manière de faire du tout au tout, ce n’est d’ailleurs pas ce qui est demandé. Et si vous changiez plutôt votre manière de voir les choses, et si vous preniez du recul. C’est clair que c’est plus facile à dire qu’à faire… Vous aurez souvent besoin de prendre une grande inspiration ce qui vous aidera à prendre le temps de réfléchir. Rappelez-vous que les enfants ne veulent pas vous pousser à bout ou vous manipuler, et que son cerveau est encore en formation

Avoir des outils ! La parentalité positive en propose de nombreux :

Les outils de la parentalité positive sont efficaces ! Très rapidement, l’enfant ne sera plus le même. L’atmosphère familiale sera plus calme et les liens seront plus forts. Isabelle Filliozat rappelle 4 principes simples à appliquer chaque jour :

  • Privilégier des formulations positives : le cerveau des enfants est équipé à traiter les consignes positives avant la négation. Ces consignes peuvent donc porter sur le comportement souhaité.
  • Éviter le non qui prête intension : lequel déclenche l’opposition de l’enfant. Nous pouvons dire « oui et… » , poser des questions à l’enfant ou réorienter ses objectifs. Parfois, un enfant agit mal parce qu’il manque d’attention positive.
  • Créer des routines et encouragez les bons comportements : les routines donnent des repères à l’enfant ; n’hésitez pas à le féliciter lorsqu’il fait des progrès. Il est bon de le féliciter en décrivant ce qu’il fait de bien. Plus vous accordez de l’attention positive à votre tout-petit, moins il a de comportements dérangeants.
  • Manifester beaucoup d’affection à l’enfant : l’amour n’est pas une récompense, mais une nécessité pour l’enfant. Faites preuve d’empathie envers votre petit, reconnaître l’émotion de l’enfant le réconforte, car ils se sentent compris.
  • Le faire réfléchir : au lieu de lui donner un ordre, tentez de lui poser une question. Lorsque votre enfant réfléchit, il se sent grand et responsable. Il coopère plus. Quand l’enfant se comporte mal ou fait une erreur, l’idéal, c’est de lui permettre de la réparer. Corriger son erreur l’aide aussi à se sentir mieux et le faire responsabiliser.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.