Fine motor skills: 6 activities and workshops to develop them in young children

by | Feb 12, 2021 | Babysitting tips, Games and Development, Kids, Pedagogy Parents | 0 comments

A child's fine motor skills are the precise, fine, controlled and coordinated movements of his hands and fingers. The development of this dexterity prepares him to make gestures in daily life. And this, above all, allows him to favour the acquisition of prehension for a better control and coordination of fingers, hands and eyes. This is why it is essential to accompany the child, from an early age, in the development and evolution of his fine motor skills.

To this end, Kidlee has selected some great activities that will help children practice and develop their finger agility, wrist flexibility and hand-eye coordination.

What is the difference between motor skills and fine motor skills?

Designed by freepik

Gross motor skills represent the totality of the functions that allow to control one's body movements: moving, jumping, walking, lifting the arms... Fine motor skills, on the other hand, concern very precise movements. The movements of the hand and fingers that are mobilized to perform a voluntary gesture. 

Fine motor skills aim to develop certain small muscles in the fingers and hands in order to make very fine and precise movements. These are essential for the child's autonomy in everyday life. And that, to get dressed or eat for example. 

This skill is acquired progressively during the development of children. Thus, the child will begin at an early age to manipulate small objects, throw them, drop them... And he will then, generally in a school context, perform actions requiring more control and meticulousness such as drawing, coloring or writing.

However, the pace of development of this skill differs from child to child. Some children have difficulty developing their fine motor skills. They will need training and practice through various repetitive activities to overcome this. 

However, fine motor activities are beneficial and essential for all children. With or without special needs.

Because the fine motor activities, allow the children to /de : 

  • Learn to manipulate specific objects and elements in an appropriate manner
  • Concentrate on achieving the desired result
  • Control your force to avoid damaging the materials 
  • Assimilate and follow or apply an instruction 

Here is our selection of workshops and fine motor activities that require few resources and that will greatly help your toddlers aged 2 and up to develop their prehension of objects and the precision of their gestures. 

In order to get the most out of these activities, it would be wise to suggest that the child start with his dominant hand. As soon as they have completed several repetitions and mastered the gesture, they can continue by trying to use the other hand.

Hop'Toys fine motor skills course: 

fine motor skills course to work on motor skills

In order to work on the fine motor skills of children from 2 years old, Hop'toys offers a lot of fine motor skills games. Among them, this course to print. The goal of the game is very simple. You just have to follow the lines, sometimes straight, sometimes curved, dotted ... with your finger. And make the requested gestures: clap your hands, make an "ok" with your fingers....Download the course just HERE !

Momes Finger Twister Activity to print

twister game for the fingers

Here is a great fine motor game offered by Momes for ages 4 and up. In addition to having fun developing fine motor skills, this game also teaches children to learn the names of their fingers. To play it, the same principle as the classic Twister. Except that instead of feet and hands, you use your fingers. 

Game to download just HERE 

Montessori fine motor activity: Hang out the laundry 

Yes, yes! Children love to do what grown-ups do. It is therefore very interesting to offer them activities related to everyday tasks and that help them gain autonomy at the same time. Like hanging out the laundry. This can be real laundry (socks or tea towels) or mini clothes made with paper or felt.

Montessori workshop sorting and classifying according to shapes, sizes or colors 

Sorting is a great activity to work on fine motor skills but also hand-eye coordination. To do this, simply put lots of small objects at the child's disposal. Then ask them to separate, sort and classify them according to their shape, size or color.

Montessori workshop alignment- grouping

Very similar to the filing activity but with more attention to detail, this fine motor activity also prepares toddlers (from 3 years old) for graphic design while developing their hand-eye coordination. It also helps to be precise while learning to align and organize. To do this, simply draw graphic shapes on a sheet of paper and provide the children with pebbles, buttons or beads to align following the drawing.

Montessori workshop threading up and down 

Ideal activity to gain agility! The objective is to pass different elements over and under. It can be wire, ribbon, rope... Perfect for learning to tie your shoes too! This fine motor exercise can be done in many different ways. But a simple cardboard box with slits or holes will do the trick! 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Motricité fine : 6 activités et ateliers pour la développer chez le jeune enfant

motricité fine

La motricité fine de l’enfant concerne l’ensemble des mouvements précis, fins, contrôlés et coordonnés de ses mains et de ses doigts. Le développement de cette dextérité le prépare à faire des gestes de la vie quotidienne. Et cela, lui permet surtout de favoriser l’acquisition de la préhension pour un meilleur contrôle et une meilleure coordination des doigts, des mains et des yeux. C’est pourquoi, il est essentiel d’accompagner l’enfant, dès son plus jeune âge, dans le développement et l’évolution de sa motricité fine.

A cet effet , Kidlee a sélectionné pour vous de supers activités qui aideront les enfants à s’exercer et à développer l’agilité de leurs doigts, la souplesse de leur poignet et leur coordination œil-main.

Quelle différence entre motricité et motricité fine ?

Designed by freepik

La motricité globale représente la totalité des fonctions qui permettent de contrôler ses mouvements corporels : bouger, sauter, marcher, lever les bras… La motricité fine, quant à elle, concerne plutôt des mouvements très précis. Les mouvements de la main et des doigts qui sont mobilisés pour réaliser un geste volontaire. 

La motricité fine vise alors à développer certains petits muscles des doigts et des mains afin de pouvoir faire des mouvements très fins et précis. Ces derniers sont essentiels pour l’autonomie de l’enfant au quotidien. Et cela, pour s’habiller ou manger par exemple. 

Cette compétence s’acquiert progressivement durant le développement des enfants.  Ainsi, l’enfant commencera dès son âge à manipuler de petits objets, les lancer, les lâcher… Et il fera par la suite, généralement en contexte scolaire, des actions nécessitant plus de contrôle et de minutie telles que le dessin, le coloriage ou encore l’écriture.

Toutefois, le rythme du développement de cette compétence  diffère d’un enfant à un autre. Certains enfants rencontrent d’ailleurs des difficultés dans le développement de leur motricité fine. Ils auront donc besoin d’entraînement et d’exercice à travers diverses activités répétitives afin de parer à cela. 

Cependant, les activités de motricité fine sont bénéfiques et essentielles pour tous les enfants. Ayant des besoins spécifiques ou non.

Car les activités motricité fine, permettent au enfants d’/de : 

  • Apprendre à manipuler des objets et  éléments précis de manière adaptée
  • Faire preuve de concentration afin d’arriver au résultat souhaité
  • Maîtriser sa force pour ne pas abîmer les matériaux 
  • Assimiler et de suivre ou d’appliquer une consigne 

Voici donc notre sélection d’ateliers et activités motricité fine qui demandent peu de moyens et qui aideront grandement vos tout-petits de 2 ans et plus à développer leur préhension des objets et la précision de leurs gestes. 

Afin d’exploiter au mieux les bienfaits de ces activités, il serait judicieux de proposer à l’enfant de commencer avec sa main dominante. Dès qu’il aura accompli plusieurs répétitions et maîtrisera ainsi le geste, il pourra poursuivre en essayant d’utiliser l’autre main.

Le parcours motricité fine de Hop’Toys : 

motricité fine parcours pour travailler sa motricité

Afin de travailler la motricité fine des loulous dès 2 ans, Hop’toys propose pas mal de jeux motricité fine. Parmi eux, ce  parcours à imprimer. Le but du jeu est très simple. Il suffit de suivre les lignes tantôt droites, tantôt courbes, en pointillés …avec son doigt. Et réaliser les gestes demandés : taper dans les mains, faire un “ok” avec les doigts….Téléchargez le parcours juste ICI !

Activité Twister à doigts Momes à imprimer

jeu twister pour les doigts

Voici un super jeu de motricité fine proposé par Momes aux 4 ans et plus. En plus de s’amuser en développant sa motricité fine, ce jeu apprend également aux petits à assimiler les noms des doigts. Pour y jouer, même principe que le Twister classique. Sauf qu’à la place des pieds et des mains, on utilise les doigts. 

Jeu à télécharger juste ICI 

Activité Montessori motricité fine : Étendre le linge 

Oui oui ! Les enfants adorent faire comme les grands. Il est alors très intéressant de leur proposer des activités relatives aux tâches du quotidien et qui les aident par la même occasion à gagner en autonomie. Comme étendre le linge. Cela peut être du vrai linge ( des chaussettes ou torchons ) ou bien de mini-vêtements fabriqués avec du papier ou de la feutrine.

Atelier Montessori tri et classement selon formes, tailles ou couleurs 

Le tri est une excellente activité pour travailler la motricité fine mais aussi la coordination oeil-main. Pour ce faire, il suffit de mettre plein de petits objets à la disposition de l’enfant. Puis, demandez-lui de les séparer, trier et classer selon leur forme, taille ou couleur.

Atelier Montessori alignement- regroupement

Très proche de l’activité classement mais avec plus de minutie, cette activité motricité fine permet également de préparer les tout-petits ( dès 3 ans) au graphisme tout en développant leur coordination oeil-main. Elle aide également à être précis tout en apprenant à aligner et organiser. Pour ce faire, il suffit de dessiner des formes graphiques sur une feuille et de mettre à la disposition des enfants des cailloux, des boutons ou encore des perles à aligner en suivant le dessin.

Atelier Montessori enfilage dessus et dessous 

Activité idéale pour gagner en agilité ! L’objectif est de passer différents éléments dessus et dessous. Cela peut être du fil, du ruban, de la corde… Parfait pour apprendre à faire ses lacets en plus ! Cet exercice de motricité fine peut se faire de différentes manières. Mais un simple carton avec des fentes ou des trous fait l’affaire !