Kidlee Logo

10 questions to ask your babysitter

by | Sep 8, 2020 | Babysitting tips, Parents | 0 comments

Today, it is more and more common for parents to use a babysitter. This allows parents to entrust their children to a person they can trust and who meets their needs. But as we know, this is easier said than done, or rather easier to find! It is not, indeed, a question of betting on just anyone!

So to avoid unpleasant surprises, it is better to take the time to choose the rare pearl. To be sure to find someone you trust, it is important to ask the right questions during the first interview. This is the best way to make sure you don't make a mistake!

1. Why do you babysit?

Before anything else, it is essential to know the motivations of the future babysitter of your children. There are still students today who are looking to make ends meet but who do not necessarily have a taste for childcare. This question will also allow you to learn more about the personality of the person in front of you. It is important not to start an interrogation right away but to get to know the person little by little!

2. Do you have experience as a babysitter?

babysitter

As with any job, experience is an important part of the hiring process. Obviously, a person who has experience with children will be more comfortable from the start. Whereas a person who is new to the job will need a little time to get used to all the little tricks. On the other hand, even if experience is a plus, it does not guarantee that it will go better. It is quite possible that during the interviews, a babysitter with less experience will be more comfortable than another one.

In addition, experience with children can be with younger siblings or even a few days spent with younger cousins. You don't have to have years of school experience to be an ideal babysitter for your children! Babysitting within the family circle counts too!

3. What would you do in this situation?

When babysitting, regardless of the age of the children, there are always unforeseen circumstances. Each person reacts differently to an emergency situation of course. But it is important that your babysitter knows how to adapt to this kind of situation.

It is therefore interesting to put the future babysitter in a situation to better determine her reaction and skills. To test your babysitter, present her with a problem situation and ask her how she would handle it. For example, if the children adamantly refuse to go to bed or do their homework.

To make it even more realistic, don't hesitate to involve your children who will have an even more appropriate attitude.

4. Which age group do you prefer?

It is not uncommon for a babysitter to prefer to take care of very young children or slightly older children. This does not mean that it is not appropriate for your children, on the contrary! Don't hesitate to discuss it with her so that she can adapt to it.

The age range plays an important role in babysitting. Babysitting a 3 year old child requires a lot of attention and he will be looking to play with you. Whereas a 10 year old will spend more time doing homework and playing independently.

It is therefore also important to talk about the approach, the habits of your children, their rituals during the day. This can also serve to put the babysitter at ease, to reassure her as much as you!

5. What types of activities do you offer?

Another essential point: a babysitter who offers activities The fact that you have to be able to provide a variety of services to your children is an undeniable plus. A babysitter who spends several hours with your children should keep them occupied without getting bored. Rather than leaving them in front of screens, a babysitter who will adapt to your children's hobbies and propose fun manual activities is ideal, no?

What type of play would she do with your children? Are outings possible? With children she previously cared for, what was the experience like in terms of outings?

By asking these questions, it will give you an overall picture of what she plans to do with your children in your absence.

There are sitters who are creative and resourceful by nature. And there are others who do training like at Kidlee to renew their ideas and then propose them to your children. Something for every family!

6. How flexible is your schedule?

As you know, it can happen that a meeting at work lasts longer than expected, that the subway takes its toll or that there is a last minute emergency in your daily life!

So what could be better in this case than a babysitter who adapts to your constraints?

For this, it is important to ask her beforehand if she is willing to stay later in the evening or if she has other constraints. This also allows you to enjoy a romantic evening that was not planned! A good plan, isn't it?

7. What do you like to do in your free time?

A question that may seem a little off-topic when interviewing a future babysitter, but it can be very relevant and revealing. It not only allows you to get to know them better but also to find out about their interests. For example, a babysitter who likes to draw a lot will enjoy doing so with your children more than a babysitter who spends his or her free time watching movies.

Thanks to this question, it will be easier for you to identify the personality of the person in front of you. This will make it easier for you to make your final choice and perhaps even make the difference with another person!

8. How do you deal with children's tantrums?

Regardless of your child's age, it's perfectly normal for them to have moments that are more difficult than others. What child doesn't throw tantrums, right? Whether it's when you're leaving, to get something they really want or even because they're tired. And as we know, when faced with this situation, you have to be able to react well so as not to give in to his whim and without being too authoritarian. It's all a question of know-how!

Thus, it may be worth asking this question to get a better sense of how your future babysitter might react. Parents who have a particularly difficult child to deal with will be pleased to see that this person will be able to handle their child's tantrums with ease.

Don't worry, it can also happen that it goes much better with a third person and that she won't have to face this kind of situation at all. But you never know what might happen after all!

9. What do you like to do most as a babysitter?

Sometimes the prospective babysitters who show up have prepared for this interview well in advance. With practice and preparation, they are able to answer many of your questions perfectly. But do they really tell you everything?

Someone who tells you "I love taking care of children and it doesn't scare me at all!" may sound a little curious and rote learned. So if you want to know more, don't hesitate to ask her that question. Maybe she'll come up with some other arguments that will convince you even more!

10. What do you find most difficult with children?

Yes, we have to be honest: babysitting is not always a rosy picture! There are also more difficult moments.

As parents, you too have times when you pull your hair out, right? It's perfectly normal after all!

It is therefore obvious that your future babysitter will also go through this process. But this question is not a trap, quite the contrary! It will allow you to know more about the candidate's honesty and personality. By knowing about his or her difficulties with children, you will be even more capable of helping him or her and finding solutions together to avoid them.

And now it's in the bag! After getting to know her and discussing a number of babysitting topics, you should now have all the information you need to make your decision. Without forgetting that the gestures and the current are an integral part of your choice and that you should not neglect them!

Perhaps you are still hesitating to have your child looked after by a babysitter? Don't hesitate to take a look at here then!

It's up to you now!

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

baby-sitter

Les 10 questions à poser à votre baby-sitter

Aujourd’hui, il est de plus en plus courant pour les parents de faire appel à une baby-sitter. Cela permet de confier ses enfants à une personne de confiance et qui correspond à leurs besoins. Mais nous le savons bien, cela est plus facile à dire qu’à faire ou qu’à trouver plutôt ! Il n’est, en effet, pas question de miser sur n’importe qui !

Alors pour éviter les mauvaises surprises, il vaut mieux prendre le temps de choisir la perle rare. Pour être certain de tomber sur une personne de confiance, il est important de lui poser les bonnes questions lors du premier entretien. De quoi être sûr de ne pas se tromper !

1. Pourquoi faites-vous du babysitting ?

Avant toute chose, il est indispensable de connaître les motivations de la future baby-sitter de vos enfants. Il existe encore aujourd’hui des étudiants qui cherchent à arrondir leurs fins de mois mais qui n’ont pas forcément un goût pour la garde d’enfants. Cette question permettra également d’apprendre davantage à connaître la personnalité de la personne qui est en face de vous. Il est important de ne pas tout de suite rentrer dans un interrogatoire mais de faire connaissance petit à petit !

2. Avez-vous de l’expérience en tant que baby-sitter ?

baby-sitter

Comme pour tout emploi, l’expérience est une partie importante dans le recrutement. Evidemment, une personne qui a de l’expérience avec les enfants sera plus à l’aise dès les premiers instants. Alors qu’une personne qui débute aura besoin d’un petit temps d’adaptation pour découvrir toutes les petites astuces. En revanche, même si l’expérience est un plus, ce n’est pas pour autant garanti que cela se passera mieux. Il est tout à fait possible que lors des entretiens, le courant passe mieux avec une baby-sitter qui a moins d’expérience qu’une autre.

De plus, une expérience avec des enfants peut tout à fait être avec des frères et soeurs en bas âges ou même quelques jours passés avec de jeunes cousins. Il n’y a pas besoin d’avoir fait des années de sorties d’écoles pour être une baby-sitter idéale pour vos enfants ! Les gardes dans le cercle familial comptent également !

3. Que feriez-vous dans cette situation ?

Dans le cadre d’un babysitting, quelle que soit la tranche d’âge des enfants, il y a toujours des imprévus. Chaque personne réagit différemment face à une situation d’urgence bien sûr. Mais il est important que votre baby-sitter sache s’adapter à ce genre de situation.

Il est donc intéressant de mettre la future baby-sitter en situation pour mieux cerner de sa réaction et ses aptitudes. Pour tester votre baby-sitter, présentez-lui une situation à problème et demandez-lui comment elle la gérerait. Par exemple, si les enfants refusent catégoriquement d’aller se coucher ou de faire leurs devoirs.

Pour que ce soit encore plus réaliste, n’hésitez pas à faire intervenir vos enfants qui auront une attitude encore plus adéquate.

4. Quelle tranche d’âge préférez-vous ?

Il n’est pas rare qu’une baby-sitter préfère s’occuper de très jeunes enfants ou d’enfants un peu plus âgés. Cela ne veut pas dire que ce n’est pas approprié pour vos enfants, bien au contraire ! N’hésitez pas à en discuter avec elle pour s’y adapter.

La tranche d’âge joue beaucoup pour le babysitting. Garder un enfant de 3 ans demande beaucoup d’attention et il va cherche à jouer avec vous. Alors qu’un enfant de 10 ans va passer plus de temps à faire ses devoirs et à jouer en autonomie.

Il est donc aussi important de parler de l’approche, des habitudes de vos enfants, de leurs rituels dans la journée. Cela peut aussi servir à mettre à l’aise la baby-sitter, la rassurer tout autant que vous !

5. Quels types d’activités proposez-vous ?

Autre point essentiel : un(e) baby-sitter qui propose des activités variées à vos enfants est un bon point indéniable. Un(e) baby-sitter qui passe plusieurs heures avec vos enfants devra les occuper sans qu’ils s’ennuient. Plutôt que de les laisser devant des écrans, une baby-sitter qui s’adaptera aux loisirs de vos enfants et proposera des activités manuelles amusantes est idéale non ?

Quel type de jeu pratiquerait-elle avec vos enfants ? Des sorties sont-elles possibles ? Avec des enfants qu’elle gardait précédemment, comment cela se passait-il au niveau des sorties ?

En posant ces questions, cela vous permettra d’avoir un aperçu global de ce qu’elle compte faire avec vos enfants en votre absence.

Il existe des baby-sitters qui sont de nature créatives et pleines de ressources. Et il y en a d’autres qui font des formations comme chez Kidlee pour renouveler leurs idées et les proposer ensuite à vos enfants. De quoi combler toutes les familles !

6. Quelle est la flexibilité de votre emploi du temps ?

Vous le savez bien, il peut arriver qu’une réunion au boulot dure plus longtemps que prévu, que le métro fasse des siennes ou qu’il y ait une urgence de dernière minute dans votre quotidien !

Alors quoi de mieux dans ce cas de figure qu’une baby-sitter qui s’adapte à vos contraintes ?

Pour cela, il est important de lui demander au préalable si elle est prête à rester plus tard le soir ou bien si elle a d’autres contraintes. Cela permet également de profiter d’une soirée en amoureux qui n’était pas prévue ! Le bon plan n’est-ce pas ?

7. Qu’aimez-vous faire durant votre temps libre ?

Une question qui peut paraître un peu hors-sujet lors d’un entretien avec un(e) futur(e) baby-sitter mais qui peut s’avérer très pertinente et révélatrice. Cela permet non seulement d’apprendre davantage à faire connaissance mais également de se rendre compte de ses centres d’intérêt. Parce qu’un(e) baby-sitter qui aime beaucoup dessiner par exemple, prendra plus de plaisir à le faire avec vos enfants qu’un(e) baby-sitter qui passe son temps libre à regarder des films.

Grâce à cette question, vous aurez plus de facilité à cerner la personnalité de la personne qui est en face de vous. De quoi faciliter votre choix définitif et peut-être même faire la différence avec une autre personne !

8. Comment gérez-vous les caprices et les colères des enfants ?

Quel que soit l’âge de votre enfant, il est tout à fait normal qu’il ait des moments plus difficiles que d’autres. Quel enfant ne fait pas de caprices, n’est-ce pas ? Que ce soit lors de votre départ, pour obtenir quelque chose dont il a très envie ou même à cause de la fatigue. Et nous le savons bien, face à cette situation, il faut être capable de bien réagir pour ne pas céder à son caprice et sans être trop autoritaire. Tout est une question de savoir-faire !

Ainsi, il peut être intéressant de poser cette question pour mieux se rendre compte de la réaction que pourrait avoir votre futur(e) baby-sitter. Les parents qui ont un enfant particulièrement difficile à gérer seront ravis de voir que cette personne sera capable de gérer les colères de leur enfant avec aisance.

Rassurez-vous, il arrive aussi que cela se passe beaucoup mieux avec une tierce personne et qu’elle n’aura donc pas du tout à faire face à ce genre de situation. Mais on ne sait jamais ce qu’il peut se passer après tout !

9. Qu’aimez-vous le plus faire en tant que baby-sitter ?

Il arrive parfois que les futur(e)s baby-sitters qui se présentent aient préparé cet entretien bien en avance. Avec de l’entraînement et de la préparation, ils sont donc capables de répondre parfaitement à beaucoup de vos questions. Mais est-ce qu’ils vous disent vraiment tout ?

Une personne qui vous dit « J’adooooore m’occuper d’enfants et cela ne me fait pas du tout peur ! » peut paraître un peu curieux et appris par coeur. Alors si vous souhaitez en savoir davantage, n’hésitez pas à lui poser cette question. Peut-être qu’elle trouvera d’autres arguments qui vous convaincront encore plus !

10. Dans quoi rencontrez-vous le plus de difficultés avec les enfants ?

Eh oui, il faut être honnête : le babysitting n’est pas toujours tout beau tout rose ! Il y a aussi des moments plus difficiles.

En tant que parents, vous aussi vous avez des périodes à vous tirer les cheveux n’est-ce pas ? C’est tout à fait normal après tout !

Il est donc évident que votre futur(e) baby-sitter passera aussi par là. Mais cette question n’est pas un piège, bien au contraire ! Cela vous permettra d’en savoir plus sur l’honnêteté et la personnalité du candidat. En ayant connaissance de ses difficultés avec les enfants, vous serez encore plus capable de l’aider et de trouver des solutions ensemble pour les éviter.

Et voilà, maintenant c’est dans la poche ! Après avoir fait sa connaissance et évoqué un bon nombre de sujets sur le babysitting, vous devriez désormais avoir toutes les cartes en main pour vous décider. Sans oublier que la gestuelle et le courant font partie intégrante de votre choix et qu’il ne faut pas les négliger !

Peut-être que vous hésitez encore à faire garder votre enfant par un(e) baby-sitter ? N’hésitez pas à aller jeter un coup d’oeil ici alors !

A vous de jouer maintenant !