Kidlee Logo

World Recycling Day: 3 ideas for activities to raise awareness among children

by | Mar 16, 2022 | News, Do It Yourself

If museums preserve our past, recycling preserves our future on earth. This same earth that we do not inherit from our ancestors, but that we borrow from our children. That's why it is essential to initiate children to the protection of their planet, starting perhaps by initiating them to recycling, an action that plays an essential role. And what could be better than to do it at the same time as the world recycling day which will take place, this Friday, March 18th?   

The little "history" moment of the world recycling day

It all started in 1994 in the United States! With the objective of promoting the consumption of products made with recycled materials. Also, to raise awareness of waste sorting, the latter being an essential pillar of recycling

And it was on March 18, 2018 that this day became "global." Granted, it's fairly recent but better late than never!

World Recycling Day Activity Ideas for Kids

Learn to sort waste 

To begin with, you can explain to the child that not everything is thrown away in the same bag. In fact, you can help them discover the different garbage cans dedicated to sorting or the different collection points nearby. Green for glass, blue for paper, yellow for plastic waste and grey for anything that cannot be recycled.

Discover also a great sorting game to download and print here !

A DIY planet for World Recycling Day

For this little DIY, you will need: 

  • From a used CD or DVD
  • Of ribbons
  • Of glue
  • With a brush
  • A black marker
  • Green and blue colored paper squares (why not recycle old magazine covers or scraps of wrapping paper)

First, spread glue on the CD. Then, place the colored pieces of paper on the CD so that they cover it completely. Now, with the black marker, bring the planet to life! Eyes here, a smile there! Finally, just glue the ribbons on your little planet and you're done!

A dragon from the recovery

Don't forget the 3Rs: reduce, reuse, recycle! So for this activity, we recycle!

Is your little one a dragon fan? Here's an activity to turn egg cartons into a small but terrifying dragon! For this, you'll need:

  • 2 boxes of eggs 
  • Of red cloth pieces that are lying around
  • Wrapping cardboard (red or to be painted red)
  • Paint and brushes
  • Glue
  • Scissors

Now that you have everything you need, let's bring this dragon to life! First, start by removing the lid from one of the two boxes. Next, you'll need to paint the egg carton ( complete) as well as the bottom part of the second carton green. Then, glue the bottom part of the second box to the other box so that it is offset by two egg compartments.

Then draw the dragon's eyes on the top half of the box and the nostrils on the top of the bottom box. All that's left to do is cut out strips of fabric and glue them to the inside of the box so that they stick out. Finally, cut out the dragon's crest from cardboard and glue it on top of his head.

At Kidlee, we take care of the planet! 

Babysitter Kidlee

Babysitters, students, parents and kids...our teams are working to ensure that our eco-friendly spirit is embraced by the entire Kidlee community. 

Associative, sponsorship, green parenting, initiation to ecology and sustainable development... We act on several axes so that each member of our community is aware of the protection of our planet. And can, in turn, contribute to its preservation through simple gestures. To know our actions, go to here

Want to know more about Kidlee babysitting? Don't hesitate to write or call us! Our consultants will be happy to answer your questions. Find our contact information just HERE !

Kidlee Logo

Journée mondiale du recyclage : 3 idées d’activités pour sensibiliser les enfants

par | Mar 16, 2022 | Actualités, Do It Yourself

Si les musées préservent notre passé, le recyclage quant à lui, préserve notre avenir sur terre. Cette même terre que nous n’héritons pas de nos ancêtres ; mais que nous empruntons à nos enfants. C’est pour ça qu’il est indispensable d’initier les enfants à la protection de leur planète en commençant peut-être par les initier au recyclage, une action qui occupe un rôle essentiel. Et quoi de mieux que le faire en même temps que la journée mondiale du recyclage qui aura lieu, ce vendredi 18 mars ?   

Le petit moment “histoire” de la journée mondiale du recyclage

Tout commença en 1994 aux États-Unis ! Avec pour objectif de promouvoir la consommation des produits fabriqués avec des matériaux recyclés. Aussi, de sensibiliser au tri des déchets, ce dernier étant un pilier essentiel du recyclage

Et c’est le 18 mars 2018 que cette journée est devenue “mondiale”. On vous l’accorde, c’est assez récent mais vaut mieux tard que jamais !

Idées d’activités pour sensibiliser les enfants à la journée mondiale du recyclage

Apprendre à trier les déchets 

Pour commencer, vous pouvez expliquer à l’enfant qu’on ne jette pas tout dans le même sac. En effet, vous pouvez lui faire découvrir les différentes poubelles dédiées au tri ou les différents points de collecte à proximité. Du vert pour le verre, du bleu pour le papier, du jaune pour le déchet plastique et du gris pour tout ce qui n’est pas recyclable.

Découvrez également un super jeu de tri à télécharger et à imprimer ici !

Un DIY planète pour la journée mondiale du recyclage

Pour ce petit DIY, vous aurez besoin : 

  • D’un CD ou dvd usé
  • De rubans
  • De colle
  • D’un pinceau
  • D’un marqueur noir
  • Des carrés de papier coloré vert et bleu ( pourquoi pas à recycler comme des couverture d’anciens magazines ou des bouts de papier d’emballage )

Premièrement, il faut étaler de la colle sur le CD. Ensuite, déposer les bouts de papier colorés sur le cd de façon à le recouvrir totalement. Maintenant, avec le marqueur noir, donnez vie à la planète ! Des yeux par-ci, un sourire par-là ! Enfin, il ne reste plus qu’à coller les rubans sur votre petite planète et le tour est joué !

Un dragon issu de la récup

On n’oublie pas les 3r : réduire, réutiliser, recycler ! Alors pour cette activité, on recycle !

Le petit bout de chou est fan de dragon ? Voici une activité pour transformer des boîtes d’œufs en un petit mais terrifiant dragon ! Pour cela, vous aurez besoin :

  • De 2 boîtes d’œufs 
  • De bouts de tissu rouge qui traînent
  • Du carton d’emballage (rouge ou à peindre en rouge)
  • De la peinture et des pinceaux
  • De la colle
  • Des ciseaux

Maintenant que vous avez tout ce qu’il vous faut, allons donner vie à ce dragon ! D’abord, commencez par détacher le couvercle d’une des deux boîtes. Ensuite, il faudra peindre la boîte à œufs ( complète) ainsi que la partie inférieure de la seconde en vert. Puis, collez la partie inférieure de la deuxième boîte sur l’autre boîte de façon à ce que cette dernière soit en décalage de deux compartiments d’œufs.

Après, dessinez les yeux du dragon sur la demi-boîte du dessus et les narines sur la partie haute de la boîte du dessous. Il ne reste plus qu’à découper des bandelettes de tissu et les coller à l’intérieur de la boîte de façon à ce qu’elles ressortent. Pour finir, découpez la crête du dragon dans du carton et collez-la au-dessus de sa tête.

Chez Kidlee, on prend soin de la planète ! 

Babysitter Kidlee

Babysitters, étudiants, parents et enfants…Nos équipes travaillent à ce que notre esprit eco-friendly soit adopté par toute la communauté Kidlee. 

Associatif, parrainage, parentalité écolo, initiation à l’écologie et au développement durable…Nous agissons sur plusieurs axes afin que chaque membre de notre communauté soit sensibilisé à la protection de notre planète. Et puisse, à son tour, contribuer à travers des gestes simples, à sa préservation. Pour connaître nos actions, rendez-vous ici

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le babysitting Kidlee ? N’hésitez pas à nous écrire ou à nous appeler ! Nos conseillers se feront un plaisir de répondre à vos questions. Retrouvez nos coordonnées juste ICI !