Kidlee Logo

Summer vacation: the real unboxing

by | Jul 1, 2020 | News, Lifestyle, Parents | 0 comments

As soon as the schools reopen, the summer vacations begin. What about the alarmist opinions of some education specialists? Will the vacations continue to deepen the teaching deficit of recent months? No need to panic! The vacations are here and that's good news for children. In the balance of pros and cons, vacations win hands down.

What solutions can be found to overcome the shortcomings of the last few months?

The "learning vacations" of the National Education

Like every year, the schools offer support courses in July and August in the student's school or at least in a school close to the area. This year, this program is intended to be reinforced to help students in need. It should concern one million students during the summer. The principle adopted will be "entirely free for the most modest families, whose children will be given priority", said Jean-Michel Blanquer, the Minister of National Education. Free education was already the norm in previous years. But the novelty lies in the plurality of possible variations, i.e. outside of the courses themselves.

Thus, the Secretary of State for Youth, Gabriel Attal, announced that the State would finance "250,000 departures to learning vacation camps, including 200,000 reserved for young people from priority urban districts" (sourceExpress). In addition, day-care centers should be mobilized to reinforce learning. In total, 400,000 young people under the age of 17 could benefit from tutoring.

However, the modalities of this political ambition remain to be defined locally. Moreover, it assumes the mobilization of 25,000 teachers according to Mr. Blanquer. The use of associations will undoubtedly provide supervisory staff. But it is not certain that the 2,500 schools concerned will be sufficiently staffed. We will have to wait until the end of the summer to draw up an assessment: attendance rate, attendance, programs and activities actually implemented...

vacation homework

Are notebooks and vacation homework desirable?

Moreover, how can learning be supported outside of these arrangements? For all students, whether they are dropouts or not, the summer vacations lead to a drop in knowledge. This year, the fear is all the stronger because the previous months were not able to ensure the totality of the programs. If there was indeed pedagogical continuity for a majority of students, the new notions were postponed to the next school year. Therefore, it would be tempting to make up for this delay with vacation assignments. But this idea could be detrimental to students. For several reasons:

  • vacation notebooks or homework can only be revisions,
  • parent-supervised work is still correlated with confinement and therefore has a negative aspect,
  • the students came out of the lockdown exhausted and unmotivated, yet another written assignment will not solve this problem.

In fact, we are faced with a dilemma. On the one hand, the need to help and accompany our children so that they progress to the best of their abilities. On the other hand, the need to let go and to reconnect with the notion of pleasure. How to reconcile good mood and learning? The only certainty, which Jean-Michel Blanquer defends, is that the chances of success increase when learning is fun.

Fun and educational vacations

During the lockdown, the supply of educational games and activities exploded. These contents are still accessible and valid during the vacations. Between sports sessions, DIY (homemade) and smart apps, you are bound to find an activity to your liking. Moreover, with the reopening of public places, museums, cinemas, workshops for children, the vacations are going to be rich in proposals. Moreover, all these learning situations bring as much new content as psycho-social skills. The skills of knowing how to be and how to live together may have been lacking in recent months and have led to fears of de-socialization. Fortunately, they have been reactivated recently and naturally lead to a resumption of social relations during the summer.

Moreover, learning is not limited to school. The fields of knowledge are infinite and the means of apprehending them very varied. Let's ask our children directly! What would you like to learn? Cooking, skating, coding, swimming, playing the ukulele? The diversity of answers is surprising and delightful! The engine of learning is precisely in this enthusiasm, in this thirst for learning, whatever the object of knowledge. This is why schools often work with projects, to make what is learned more concrete, to involve and motivate the students. Unfortunately, this year, how many school trips and end-of-year shows have been postponed?

vacation museum

How about a rewarding vacation?

Restore confidence

Teachers are already scheduled to assess their students at the beginning of the school year to determine their gaps. Most teachers are already used to doing this at the beginning of each school year. This allows them to adapt to the needs of their students and to plan learning progressions. So there is no need to worry too much about unacquired knowledge and skills at the end of the year. It is part of the teacher's job to take ownership of this issue.

Although some experts have recently expressed concern about the learning deficit, they were targeting an audience of teenage dropouts rather than elementary or early college students. Of course, young people who were already struggling prior to the lockdown likely lost a lot in the interruption and will face repercussions in the near future.

In addition, students in vocational programs have not been able to complete their internships, which puts them at a severe disadvantage compared to students in general programs. However, it would be absurd to condemn to failure young people who have not yet had time to react or make decisions. They have been weakened, but the most important thing for them is to regain their confidence and motivation to act and take charge of their lives.

... and maintain a stimulation to learning

But for the vast majority of the 12 million students in France, educational continuity has kept the flame of learning alive. The psychiatrist Mario Sperenza interviewed by France Info on 3/06/20 tries to reassure parents. According to him, "a two-month period does not change the learning dynamic if there has been some stimulation."

Finally, the accumulation of knowledge is less important than the posture of a learner. As long as the child is part of a developmental dynamic and remains connected to learning, he or she should be able to get back to work without difficulty in September.

Take the pressure off during the vacations

Indeed, for the time being, it seems essential to recreate a more serene climate. Both parents and children need a break from the daily grind of school. In recent months, parents have taken up the challenge of homeschooling. In addition, they have often had to deal with frustration, failure and guilt. It's time for everyone to get back to parenting and take the pressure off. Pressure due to school work, but also due to living together, lack of privacy in sometimes small spaces. Especially in big cities, the lack of access to the outside world has reinforced the feeling of being locked up.

In addition, the lack of contact with other children of the same age, with friends and classmates, took its toll on the children's morale. For many, the net deprivation of any contact for such a long period of time led to disturbances. As Mario Sperenza points out, some of the children experienced sleep disturbances, anxiety, and eating disorders. Thus, the lifting of the confinement contributed to the improvement of the mental health of the children. In this logic, the vacations are part of the same need to move on, to escape from the ordinary and the memories of the last months.

As a result, the outdoors, the beach, the forest or the countryside become privileged places of resilience for all families. So, it's time to wish you all a great vacation!

vacations in the tree

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Vacances d’été : le vrai déconfinement

Vacances

Vacances d’été : le vrai déconfinement

À peine les écoles rouvertes que déjà s’annoncent les vacances d’été. Que penser des avis alarmistes de certains spécialistes de l’éducation ? Les vacances vont-elles continuer de creuser le déficit d’enseignement de ces derniers mois ? Pas de panique ! Les vacances sont là et c’est plutôt une bonne nouvelle pour les enfants. Dans la balance du pour et du contre, les congés l’emportent haut la main.

Quelles solutions pour pallier les lacunes des derniers mois ?

Les « vacances apprenantes » de l’Education nationale

Comme chaque année, les écoles proposent des stages de soutien en juillet et en août dans l’établissement de l’élève ou du moins dans une école proche du secteur. Cette année, ce dispositif se veut renforcé pour venir en aide aux élèves en besoin. Il devrait concerner un million d’élèves pendant l’été. Le principe retenu sera « entièrement gratuit pour les familles les plus modestes, dont les enfants seront prioritaires », a précisé Jean-Michel Blanquer, le Ministre de l’Education nationale. La gratuité était déjà de mise les années précédentes. Mais la nouveauté tient dans la pluralité des déclinaisons possibles, c’est-à-dire en dehors des cours à proprement parler.

Ainsi, le secrétaire d’Etat à la Jeunesse, Gabriel Attal a annoncé que l’Etat financerait « 250 000 départs en colonies de vacances apprenantes, dont 200 000 réservées aux jeunes issus de quartiers prioritaires de la ville » (source l’Express). De plus, les centres aérés devraient être mobilisés pour renforcer les apprentissages. Au total, 400 000 jeunes de moins de 17 ans pourraient bénéficier de soutien scolaire.

Cependant, les modalités de cette ambition politique restent à définir localement. De plus, elle suppose la mobilisation de 25 000 enseignants d’après M. Blanquer. Le recours au tissu associatif fournira sans doute un personnel encadrant. Mais il n’est pas certain que les 2 500 établissements scolaires concernés soient suffisamment dotés. Il faudra attendre la fin de l’été pour tirer un bilan : taux de fréquentation, assiduité, programmes et activités réellement mis en oeuvre…

devoirs de vacances

Cahiers et devoirs de vacances sont-ils souhaitables ?

Par ailleurs, comment soutenir les apprentissages en dehors de ces dispositifs ? Pour tous les élèves, qu’ils soient décrocheurs ou non, les vacances d’été induisent une baisse des connaissances. Cette année, la crainte est d’autant plus forte que les précédents mois n’ont pas pu assurer la totalité des programmes. S’il y a bien eu continuité pédagogique pour une majorité d’élèves, les nouvelles notions ont été reportées à la rentrée prochaine. Par conséquent, il serait tentant de rattraper ce retard par des devoirs de vacances. Mais cette idée pourrait s’avérer préjudiciable aux élèves. Pour plusieurs raisons :

  • les cahiers de vacances ou devoirs ne peuvent être que des révisions,
  • le travail encadré par les parents demeure corrélé au confinement et revêt donc un aspect négatif,
  • les élèves sont sortis éreintés et démotivés du confinement, un énième travail écrit ne résoudra pas cette problématique.

En fait, nous sommes face à un dilemme. D’un côté la nécessité d’aider, d’accompagner nos enfants pour qu’ils progressent au mieux de leurs capacités. De l’autre, le besoin de lâcher-prise et de renouer avec la notion de plaisir. Comment concilier bonne humeur et apprentissages ? Seule certitude, d’ailleurs défendue par Jean-Michel Blanquer, les chances de réussite augmentent lorsqu’on apprend en s’amusant.

Vacances ludiques et éducatives

Pendant le confinement, l’offre de jeux et d’activités éducatives a explosé. Ces contenus restent toujours accessibles et valables pendant les vacances. Entre les séances de sport, les DIY (fabrication maison) et les applications intelligentes, on trouve forcément une activité à son goût. De plus, avec la réouverture des lieux publics, musées, cinémas, ateliers pour enfants, les vacances s’annoncent riches en propositions. D’ailleurs, toutes ces situations d’apprentissage, apportent autant de nouveaux contenus que de compétences psycho-sociales. Les compétences de savoir être, de vivre ensemble ont pu faire défaut ces derniers mois et faire craindre une désocialisation. Heureusement, elles ont été réactivées récemment et conduisent tout naturellement à une reprise des relations sociales pendant l’été.

Par ailleurs, les apprentissages ne se limitent pas à l’école. Les domaines de connaissances sont infinis et les moyens de les appréhender très varié. Posons la question directement à nos enfants ! Qu’aimerais-tu apprendre ? Cuisiner, patiner, coder, nager, jouer du ukulélé ? La diversité des réponses est surprenante et réjouissante ! Le moteur de l’apprentissage se trouve justement dans cet enthousiasme, dans cette soif d’apprendre, quel que soit l’objet de connaissance. C’est pourquoi les écoles fonctionnent souvent avec des projets, pour rendre plus concrets ce qui est appris, pour impliquer et motiver les élèves. Malheureusement cette année, combien de classes vertes annulées ? de sorties scolaires et de spectacles de fin d’année ajournées ?

vacances musée

Et si on parlait plutôt de vacances enrichissantes ?

Redonner confiance

Il est d’ores et déjà prévu à la rentrée que les enseignants évaluent leurs élèves afin de définir leurs lacunes. La plupart des professeurs ont déjà l’habitude de procéder ainsi à chaque rentrée. Cela leur permet de s’adapter aux besoins de leurs élèves et de programmer les progressions d’apprentissage. Il n’y a donc pas lieu de s’inquiéter outre mesure des connaissances et compétences non acquises en fin d’année. Cela fait partie du travail des enseignants de s’emparer de cette problématique.

Même si certains spécialistes ont récemment fait part de leurs inquiétudes concernant le déficit d’apprentissage, ils ciblaient davantage un public d’ados décrocheurs que d’élèves de primaire ou début de collège. Bien sûr, les jeunes déjà en difficulté avant le confinement ont sans doute perdu beaucoup dans cette interruption et vont devoir faire face à des répercussions dans le futur proche.

De plus, les élèves des filières professionnelles n’ont pu effectuer leurs stages, ce qui les pénalisent fortement par rapport aux élèves des filières générales. Cependant, il serait aberrant de condamner à l’échec des jeunes qui n’ont pas encore eu le temps de réagir ni de prendre de décisions. Ils ont été fragilisés, mais le plus important pour eux est de reprendre confiance et de retrouver la motivation pour agir et se prendre en main.

… et maintenir une stimulation aux apprentissages

Mais pour la grande majorité des 12 millions d’élèves en France, la continuité pédagogique a su maintenir la flamme de l’apprentissage. Le psychiatre Mario Sperenza interrogé par France Info le 3/06/20 tente de rassurer les parents. Selon lui, « une période de deux mois ne change pas la dynamique d’apprentissage s’il y a eu un peu de stimulation. »

Finalement, l’accumulation de connaissances compte moins que la posture d’apprenant. Tant que l’enfant s’inscrit dans une dynamique de développement, qu’il reste connecté aux apprentissages, il devrait se remettre au travail sans difficulté en septembre.

Relâcher la pression pendant les vacances

En effet, pour l’heure, il apparaît surtout essentiel de recréer un climat plus serein. Parents comme enfants ont besoin d’une pause et d’évacuer de leur quotidien le trop plein de scolaire. Ces derniers mois, les parents ont relevé le challenge de l’école à la maison. De plus, ils ont souvent dû faire face à la frustration, à l’échec et à la culpabilité. Il est temps pour tout le monde de retrouver son rôle de parent et d’évacuer la pression. Pression due au travail scolaire, mais aussi due à la cohabitation, au manque d’intimité dans des espaces parfois restreints. En particulier dans les grandes villes, l’absence d’accès à l’extérieur a pu renforcer la sensation d’enfermement.

Par ailleurs, le manque de contact avec d’autres enfants du même âge, avec les amis et camarades de classe, a pesé sur le moral des enfants. Pour beaucoup, la privation nette de tout contact pendant une si longue période a engendré des troubles. Comme le relève Mario Sperenza, certains jeunes ont rencontré des troubles du sommeil, voire de l’anxiété, ainsi qu’un dérèglement de l’alimentation. Ainsi, la levée du confinement a contribué à améliorer la santé mentale des enfants. Dans cette logique, les vacances s’inscrivent dans ce même besoin de passer à autre chose, de s’évader de l’ordinaire et des souvenirs des derniers mois.

De ce fait, le grand air, la plage, la forêt ou la campagne deviennent des lieux privilégiés de résilience pour toutes les familles. Alors, c’est le moment de vous souhaiter d’excellentes vacances à tous !

vacances dans l'arbre

Laisser un commentaire