Kidlee Logo

Back to School 2020: Caution and Education in the face of COVID-19

by | Aug 29, 2020 | Special Edition | 0 comments

With the start of the 2020 school year just days away, uncertainty still looms for parents and teachers. Even if the Minister Jean-Marie Blanquer wants to reassure, it remains difficult to provide fixed organizational elements, even the week before the start of the school year. We propose you to take stock and to discover also some initiatives of which I collected the testimony.

Back-to-School 2020 Health Protocol

Key points for preventive measures in schools

First, the general framework of the health protocol published in July still applies at the beginning of the school year:

  • barrier gestures,
  • hand washing,
  • class breakdown,
  • Wearing a mask is compulsory for all adults, even kindergarten teachers, and for children over 11 years of age (middle and high schools).

During his speech on August 26, J.-M. Blanquer provided details about the health protocol.

If a student or staff member has the symptoms, there is an immediate test and if it is positive, the procedure, which is the responsibility of the ARS, is triggered. This can lead to the closure of a class, a school or several schools within 48 hours.

Jean-Marie Blanquer, Minister of National Education, speech on 26/08/20

However, for the time being, no announcement has been made indicating a delayed start to the school year or a preventive closure in the vicinity of a cluster or in areas of active virus circulation. The Minister of National Education and the Prime Minister have made a point of recalling the compulsory nature of education and the imperative to welcome all students from kindergarten to high school. The respect of the sanitary protocol should make it possible to keep the schools open. Despite the rumors that announced an all-digital start to the school year, the authorities have favored face-to-face learning. They are counting on the vigilance and responsibility of parents and teachers to ensure that hygiene measures are respected.

how to wash your hands
United Nations COVID-19 Response

The abandonment of physical distancing in schools

For the time being, school will start on September 1st. In fact, in order to accommodate all students in the midst of a health crisis, the Ministry had to lighten the health protocol in effect at the end of the lockdown. Thus, physical distancing is no longer mandatory when it is not possible. This measure is of particular concern to parents. How can we justify the abandonment of safety distances when we still see the markings on the ground in front of schools and stores?

However, without this flexibility, the school would not be able to bring in all students starting September 1. Yet, Minister Blanquer reiterated that students need "more education" in this "unprecedented" back-to-school season. Indeed, experts have pointed to the negative effects of unschooling on some students. The priority of this new school year is to get all students back to school.

Moreover, the authorities do not rule out the possibility of "local adaptations of the protocol according to the appreciation of the prefects, rectors and directors of the ARS (including limiting the mixing of students by level)." (video from JM Blanquer addressed to teaching staff in August). But if it is easy to maintain closed groups in elementary school, it is less true in middle school and high school with languages and different options... However, "in red zones, a measure could be to limit mixing" (speech of 26/08/20).

Uncertainty prevails as the 2020 school year begins

With only a few days to go before teachers and students begin the school year, uncertainty prevails. Parents and teachers alike are waiting for guidelines that are slow in coming. Monday, August 31, will be decisive. During this pre-school day, the teaching teams will have to solve several pedagogical and sanitary problems. Will entry and exit times be staggered to limit crowds in front of the schools? It should be noted that the City of Paris has taken the lead in making the approaches to 80 Parisian schools pedestrian-friendly. It hopes to contribute to a better physical distance during rush hours.

On the other hand, will schools provide hygiene products and masks? And how will they ensure that barrier procedures and broader health protocol are followed?

In fact, the answers to these questions will depend on the schools and the decisions of the municipalities. Thus, the State has stated that it does not have to issue masks to students, except for the most needy. But some regions, such as Ile-de-France and Occitania, have decided to provide each student with two washable masks. On her Twitter account, Carole Delga, president of the Occitanie region, said that "it's not up to families to bear the financial burden." Similarly, the department of Seine-Saint-Denis has decided to give masks to all its middle school students. Indeed, according to Le ParisienThe budget for a family of four with two children over 11 years old is 96 euros per month for washable models and 228 euros for single-use masks. A significant burden for families.

Implementation of an educational continuity plan for the start of the 2020 school year

Preventing all eventualities to ensure that learning is maintained

In the event that more significant restrictions require physical distancing, the Ministry proposes an "educational continuity plan". Thus, several scenarios are emerging: from maintaining classes in half-groups to the total closure of schools in areas of active virus circulation. As a reminder, the Ile-de-France and Bouches-du-Rhône regions are currently experiencing a sharp increase in the number of COVID-19 positive cases.

If distance learning were to resume, the CNED (Ma classe à la maison) and Lumni would once again provide teaching content, assures J.-M. Blanquer. Of course, they would complement those prepared by teachers, without replacing them. In addition, teachers who request it will be able to benefit from a training plan to accompany them in the digital uses.

In order to anticipate a possible resumption of distance learning, the Ile-de-France region has planned to provide a computer to all students in Seconde, i.e. 100,000 students equipped. Thus, Valérie Pécresse, the president of the Ile-de-France region hopes " breaking down the digital divide" . In fact, during lockdown between 5 and 25% students dropped out. Some of them have accumulated academic difficulties and a lack of equipment. That is why the region decided to massively pursue its project to equip every high school student. At the start of the 2019 school year, 200,000 students had already benefited from a computer or tablet.

To come back to the present moment and focus on the imminent start of the school year, I suggest you discover some educational initiatives.

back to schoolchildren coloring

Local educational initiatives

Since the beginning of the summer break, teachers have been trying to plan for the return to school in September. Although most schools reopened in June, some schools were unable to accommodate all students. And even when they did, teaching was limited to a few concepts over ten days. Many teachers were already thinking about how to get back to school and the need for a refresher course. After the "learning vacations" financed by the Ministry of Education and the local authorities, the school must resume its role.

On the outskirts of Angers, a small kindergarten has already announced to families its organization for the new school year.

"This is a very small school with only two classes, one for PS and one for MS/GS. Last week, I received a message informing me that Pierre would be in the older children's class. I had put him back in June as a full time teacher and it had gone well. But some children did not come back. For those, the school proposed a soft start with the new PS. They should stay there for a few weeks, the time to get back to their level and join their MS group. It is a very good initiative, I think. The two teachers are very attentive to the needs of the students, which is reassuring.

Cécile, mother of Pierre, 4 years old

Similarly, in an elementary school in northeastern Paris, the classes have not yet been defined. The teachers decided to give themselves time to observe the students.

"We don't know exactly what they experienced during the lockdown or afterwards, during the summer. What we do know is that our students have been in great academic difficulty and for some in psychological distress. We need a few days to evaluate their needs and decide on the groups. This is important to get this year off to a good start. We really want to maximize the chances of success. The school is a place of collective life which requires adjustments to create synergies of projects and learning dynamics. It is not easy for us to start in a vacuum. But we have opted for flexibility to adapt to our students. It's our responsibility as teachers!

Carine, first grade teacher in Paris

In conclusion, this coronavirus pandemic requires a lot of patience and coolness. As parents, we would like to anticipate the needs of our children, prepare them for the unprecedented, to face all eventualities. And this is what we will do in the coming weeks by adapting to the health situation!

Now we have mastered the barrier gestures and we have explained them to our children. They are eager to go back to school, to see their friends, to resume their activities. They are motivated, enthusiastic, and also a little anxious. It is up to us to tap into their energy to accompany and encourage them.

The start of the 2020 school year is a special one, but it is still the beginning of a new school year. With its promises, its hopes, its projects, in short, everything that makes our children's hearts beat on the eve of the long awaited day. Happy back to school to all!

back to school and friendship

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

rentrée des classes

Rentrée des classes 2020 : prudence et pédagogie face à la COVID-19

À quelques jours de la rentrée des classes, l’incertitude plane toujours pour les parents et les enseignants. Même si le ministre Jean-Marie Blanquer se veut rassurant, il reste difficile de fournir des éléments d’organisation fixes, même la semaine qui précède la rentrée. Je vous propose de faire le point et de découvrir aussi quelques initiatives dont j’ai recueilli le témoignage.

Le protocole sanitaire de la rentrée des classes

Les points clés des mesures préventives dans les écoles

Tout d’abord, le cadre général du protocole sanitaire publié au mois de juillet s’applique toujours à la rentrée :

  • gestes barrière,
  • lavage des mains,
  • ventilation des classes,
  • port du masque obligatoire à partir de 11 ans (collèges et lycées) et pour tous les adultes, même pour les enseignants de maternelle.

Lors de son allocution du 26 août, J.-M. Blanquer a apporté des précisions concernant le protocole sanitaire.

Si un élève ou un personnel a les symptômes, il y a immédiatement test et s’il est positif, la procédure, qui est de la responsabilité de l’ARS, se déclenche. Cela peut aller jusqu’à la fermeture d’une classe, d’une école ou de plusieurs écoles dans un délai de 48 heures.

Jean-Marie Blanquer, Ministre de l’Education nationale, allocution du 26/08/20

Cependant, pour le moment, aucune annonce n’a indiqué une rentrée différée ou une fermeture préventive à proximité d’un cluster ou dans des zones de circulation active du virus. Le ministre de l’Éducation nationale ainsi que le Premier ministre ont surtout tenu à rappeler le caractère obligatoire de l’éducation et l’impératif d’accueillir tous les élèves de la maternelle au lycée. Le respect du protocole sanitaire devrait permettre de garder les établissements ouverts. Malgré les rumeurs qui annonçaient une rentrée tout numérique, les autorités ont favorisé le présentiel. Elles comptent sur la vigilance et la responsabilité des parents et des enseignants pour faire respecter les mesures d’hygiène.

United Nations COVID-19 Response

L’abandon de la distanciation physique dans les écoles

Pour l’heure, la rentrée des classes aura donc bien lieu le 1er septembre. En fait, pour parvenir à accueillir tous les élèves en pleine crise sanitaire, le ministère a dû alléger le protocole sanitaire en vigueur à la fin du confinement. Ainsi, la distanciation physique n’est plus obligatoire quand elle n’est pas possible. Cette mesure inquiète particulièrement les parents. Comment justifier l’abandon des distances de sécurité quand on croise encore les marquages au sol devant les écoles et les magasins ?

Cependant, sans cet assouplissement, l’école ne pourrait pas faire rentrer tous les élèves à partir du 1er septembre. Or, le ministre Blanquer a rappelé que les élèves ont besoin de « plus d’éducation » en cette rentrée des classes « inédite ». En effet, les spécialistes ont pointé du doigt les effets négatifs de la déscolarisation sur certains élèves. La priorité de cette rentrée des classes est donc de faire revenir tous les élèves à l’école.

Par ailleurs, les autorités n’excluent pas la possibilité d’ « adaptations locales du protocole en fonction de l’appréciation des préfets, des recteurs et des directeurs de l’ARS (dont la limitation du brassage d’élèves par niveau). » (vidéo de JM Blanquer adressée aux personnels enseignants courant août). Mais s’il est facile de maintenir des groupes clos en élémentaire, c’est moins vrai en collège et lycée avec les langues et les différentes options… Cependant, « dans les zones rouges, une mesure pourrait être de limiter obligatoirement le brassage » (allocution du 26/08/20).

L’incertitude domine en cette rentrée des classes

À seulement quelques jours de la pré-rentrée des enseignants et de la rentrée des élèves, l’incertitude domine. Parents comme enseignants attendent des directives qui tardent à venir. La journée de lundi 31 août sera décisive. Au cours de cette journée de pré-rentrée, les équipes pédagogiques devront résoudre plusieurs casse-têtes tant pédagogiques que sanitaires. Les horaires d’entrée et de sortie seront-ils échelonnés pour limiter les attroupements devant les établissements ? À noter que la Mairie de Paris a pris les devants en rendant piéton les abords de 80 écoles parisiennes. Elle espère ainsi contribuer à une meilleure distanciation physique aux heures de pointe.

D’autre part, les écoles fourniront-elles des produits d’hygiène et des masques ? Et comment garantiront-elles le respect des gestes barrière et plus largement du protocole sanitaire ?

En fait, les réponses à ces questions dépendront des établissements et des décisions des municipalités. Ainsi, l’Etat a affirmé ne pas devoir délivrer de masques aux élèves, sauf aux plus démunis. Mais certaines régions, comme l’Ile-de-France et l’Occitanie, ont décidé de doter chaque lycéen de deux masques lavables. Sur son compte Twitter, Carole Delga, présidente de la région Occitanie, a déclaré que « ce n’est pas aux familles d’en subir la charge financière. » De même, le département de la Seine-Saint-Denis a décidé de donner des masques à tous ses collégiens. En effet, d’après Le Parisien, « le budget pour une famille de quatre personnes avec deux enfants de plus de 11 ans s’élève à 96 euros par mois pour des modèles lavables et à 228 euros pour des masques à usage unique ». Une charge importante pour les familles.

Mise en place d’un plan de continuité pédagogique pour la rentrée des classes

Parer toutes les éventualités pour garantir le maintien des apprentissages

Pour le cas où des restrictions plus importantes nécessiteraient une distanciation physique, le ministère propose un « plan de continuité pédagogique ». Ainsi, plusieurs scenarii émergent : du maintien des cours en demi-groupes à la fermeture totale d’établissements dans des zones de circulation active du virus. Pour rappel, actuellement, l’Ile-de-France et les Bouches-du-Rhône enregistrent une forte croissante du nombre de cas positifs à la COVID-19.

S’il devait y avoir reprise des cours à distance, le CNED (Ma classe à la maison) et Lumni fourniraient à nouveau des contenus d’enseignement, assure J.-M. Blanquer. Bien sûr, ils complèteraient ceux préparés par les enseignants, sans s’y substituer. Par ailleurs, les enseignants demandeurs pourront bénéficier d’un plan de formation pour les accompagner dans les usages numériques.

Afin d’anticiper une reprise éventuelle des cours à distance, la région Ile-de-France a prévu de fournir un ordinateur à tous les élèves de Seconde, soit 100 000 élèves équipés. Ainsi, Valérie Pécresse, la présidente francilienne espère « pulvériser la fracture numérique« . En fait, durant le confinement entre 5 et 25% d’élèves ont décroché. Certains ont cumulé des difficultés scolaires et une absence d’équipement. C’est pourquoi, la région a décidé de poursuivre massivement son projet d’équiper chaque lycéen. À la rentrée 2019, 200 000 élèves avaient déjà bénéficié d’un ordinateur ou d’une tablette.

Pour revenir à l’instant présent et se concentrer sur la rentrée des classes imminente, je vous propose de découvrir quelques initiatives pédagogiques.

rentrée des classes

Des initiatives pédagogiques locales

Depuis le début des congés d’été les équipes enseignantes tentent de se projeter sur la reprise des cours en septembre. Bien que la plupart des écoles aient rouvert courant juin, certains établissements n’avaient pas pu accueillir tous les élèves. Et même lorsqu’elles l’avaient fait, les enseignements avaient été limités à quelques notions sur une dizaine de jours. Beaucoup d’enseignants songeaient déjà aux modalités de rentrée et à l’impératif de remise à niveau. Après les « vacances apprenantes » financées par le ministère de l’Education nationale et les collectivités territoriales, l’école doit reprendre son rôle.

À la périphérie d’Angers, une petite école maternelle a déjà annoncé aux familles son organisation pour la rentrée.

« C’est une toute petite école avec seulement deux classes, une de PS et une de MS/GS. La semaine dernière, j’ai reçu un message m’informant que Pierre serait bien dans la classes des plus grands. Je l’avais remis en juin à temps complet et ça s’était bien passé. Mais certains enfants ne sont pas revenus. Pour ceux-là l’école a proposé une rentrée en douceur avec les nouveaux PS. Ils devraient y rester quelques semaines, le temps de se remettre à niveau et rejoindre leur groupe de MS. C’est une très bonne initiative, je trouve. Les deux enseignantes sont très à l’écoute des besoins des élèves, c’est rassurant. »

Cécile, maman de Pierre, 4 ans

De même, dans une école élémentaire du nord est parisien, les classes n’ont encore été définies. Les enseignants ont décidé de se laisser du temps pour observer les élèves.

« Nous ne savons pas exactement ce qu’ils ont vécu pendant le confinement ni après, durant l’été. Ce qui est sûr c’est que nos élèves ont été en grande difficulté scolaire et pour certains en détresse psychologique. Nous avons besoin de quelques jours pour évaluer au mieux leurs besoins et décider des groupes. C’est important pour bien démarrer cette année. Nous voulons vraiment maximiser les chances de réussite. L’école est un lieu de vie collective qui nécessite des aménagements pour créer des synergies de projets et des dynamiques d’apprentissages. Ce n’est pas facile pour nous de démarrer dans le flou. Mais nous avons opté pour la flexibilité pour nous adapter au mieux à nos élèves. Il y va de notre responsabilité d’enseignant ! »

Carine, professeure des écoles en CP à Paris

En conclusion, cette pandémie de coronavirus nous réclame beaucoup de sang froid et de patience. En tant que parents nous aimerions anticiper les besoins de nos enfants, les préparer à l’inédit, faire face à toutes les éventualités. Et c’est ce que nous allons faire dans les prochaines semaines en nous adaptant à la situation sanitaire !

Désormais nous maîtrisons les gestes barrière et nous les avons expliqués à nos enfants. Ils ont hâte de retrouver le chemin de l’école, revoir leurs ami·e·s, reprendre leur rythme d’activités. Ils sont motivés, enthousiastes, un peu anxieux aussi. À nous de puiser dans leur énergie pour les accompagner et les encourager.

La rentrée des classes 2020 est une rentrée spéciale, mais n’en reste pas moins le démarrage d’une nouvelle année scolaire. Avec ses promesses, ses espoirs, ses projets, bref tout ce qui fait battre le coeur de nos enfants la veille du jour tant attendu. Bonne rentrée à tous !

rentrée des classes et amitié