Kidlee Logo

What are the different types of childcare?

by | Mar 1, 2020 | Information, Parents | 0 comments

When you are a parent, entrusting your children is not a simple thing. Moreover, it is also complicated to choose a safe childcare method that corresponds to your needs. Especially, when there are many different types of childcare. Between daycare centers, au pairs, childcare assistants or even baby-sitters, it is not easy to find a solution. It is therefore important to be aware of the different options and how they work before making a choice. 

To help you see more clearly, here is an overview of the different ways to have your children looked after! 

Collective structures, among the most frequent modes of child care :

These establishments are designed for the collective reception of children until they return to school. To be able to access them, the children must be in good standing in terms of mandatory vaccinations. And, they must also be under 6 years old. As for pricing, the cost to pay varies from one facility to another. Also, this cost will often depend on your resources and your family situation. 

These structures are obviously subject to appropriate regulations. They comply with safety standards adapted to the care of young children. In addition, specialized multidisciplinary teams are in charge of the support. These organizations are also required to have an operating authorization from the President of the departmental council after inspection by the maternal and child protection services. 

Group day care centers:

These facilities are generally managed by the department, the city or by private associations or organizations. To be admitted, children must be between 2 and a half months and 4 years old. Care is provided according to specific schedules and by childcare assistants and specialized educators. Adapted spaces welcome the children while responding to their needs and proposing activities appropriate to their age. They also take their first steps in the community while learning to socialize. 

As far as registration is concerned, it is advisable to pre-register before the birth. You should do this in several nurseries at your level, as these establishments are often short of places and the wait can be excessively long. It is also important to underline the strictness of these structures. For example, if your child falls ill, he or she will not be accepted into the facility until he or she has recovered. The hours are also imposed and rarely variable. 

Micro-nurseries:

Smaller than collective day care centers, micro-nurseries can welcome up to 10 children under 6 years old in a secure and adapted space. This can be a house, an apartment or a space dedicated by the locality. They also respect the same norms and regulations as collective daycare centers, while having relatively more flexible schedules. By joining a micro-crèche, your child will be able to enjoy the joys of the community while benefiting from individual care as at home. 

Kindergartens:

Kindergartens regularly welcome 2 to 6 year olds in spaces adapted to their age and according to the same schedules as those of collective crèches or nursery schools. In these establishments, specialized educators take care of the children and accompany them in their development. They offer them various developmental and awakening activities in the form of workshops. However, the cost of kindergartens is relatively higher than in collective nurseries. 

Babysitting is one of the most popular childcare options:

Among the preferred childcare methods of the French, the babysitter or, more commonly referred to as a home nanny, is a person recruited directly by the parents or via an intermediary (specialized agencies, networking sites). She can also have qualifications or not. Indeed, no approval and no training are mandatory when it comes to this type of care. However, parents can direct their choice towards qualified and experienced babysitters during their search. Whether the babysitter is directly employed or recruited through an agency, parents can also, depending on the age of their children, benefit from CAF assistance. 

The advantage of this type of care is that parents can choose the nanny or babysitter according to their criteria and requirements. The same goes for the services provided within the home. The babysitter, will be mainly dedicated to their children if the care is regular for example. This allows the creation of an emotional bond that is very much appreciated by the children. 

Using a nanny

Also, hiring a nanny is more convenient when it comes to scheduling and travel. Babysitters generally have very flexible schedules and they travel to the parents' homes to do their babysitting until very late and even during the weekends. The cost of this type of childcare, is generally from 9 euros net per hour. However, the cost of a babysitter also depends on various other factors such as the method of recruitment, the services provided or even the region where you live. 

If you want to find the perfect babysitter but don't have the time to go through the arduous search process, Kidlee can do it for you totally free of charge and without obligation! We strive to find, quickly, the rare pearls so sought after by parents. And this, through sourcing directly from our partners (the BDE of SciencesPo, Dauphine, EM Normandie or La Sorbonne).

Shared custody:

This type of care always depends on a babysitter or a nanny. What is different is that two families can agree on the nanny. And then, recruit her to watch their children in the same home or alternating between the two homes. The two families can then split the salary and expenses, which is often more affordable. However, if the number of children exceeds 4, it is often complicated to find a babysitter who accepts a shared custody. 

The licensed childminder:

The childminder has an agreement issued by the President of the Departmental Council. This is done after examination by the maternal and child protection services. This approval allows her to keep children at her home. She can also take care of the child in a childcare center. As far as the hours are concerned, they are generally full-time or after-school care. As for the babysitter, it is up to the parents to take care of the administrative procedures for employment. As far as rates are concerned, the salary of a childminder is generally agreed upon with the family. 

Childcare options : The au pair

The au pair is a person of foreign nationality aged between 20 and 30 years old. The au pairShe offers her services in exchange for a place to stay with the family that welcomes her. And, whose children she will keep. In addition to a correct remuneration, the au pair also benefits from a support (food, housing and transport). And this, in exchange for her babysitting services and some household chores. Being generally a student, the au pair will have to organize her time between childcare and her occupations (studies, outings etc.) 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Quels sont les différents modes de garde d’enfants ?

Quels sont les différents modes de garde d’enfants ?

Quand on est parents, confier ses enfants n’est pas une chose simple. De plus, il est tout aussi compliqué de choisir un mode de garde sûr et correspondant à ses besoins. Surtout, lorsque les modes de garde d’enfants sont multiples. Entre les crèches, fille au pair, assistantes maternelles ou encore baby-sitters, ce n’est, en effet, pas facile de s’y retrouver. Il est donc important, de prendre connaissance des différentes options ainsi que leur fonctionnement avant de faire son choix. 

Afin de vous aider à y voir plus clair, voici un aperçu sur les différents moyens de faire garder vos enfants ! 

Les structures collectives, parmi les modes de garde d’enfants les plus fréquents :

Ces établissements, sont conçus pour la réception collective d’enfants jusqu’à leur rentrée scolaire. Pour pouvoir y accéder, les enfants doivent être en règle au niveau des vaccinations obligatoires. Et, ils doivent également avoir moins de 6 ans. Quant à la tarification, le coût à payer est variable d’une structure à l’autre. Aussi, ce coût dépendra souvent de vos ressources et de votre situation familiale. 

Ces structures sont évidemment soumises à une réglementation adéquate. Elles respectent en effet les normes sécuritaires adaptées à l’accueil et à la prise en charge de jeunes enfants. De plus, des équipes pluridisciplinaires spécialisées y sont en charge de l’accompagnement. Ces organismes, sont également dans l’obligation d’avoir une autorisation de fonctionnement du Président du conseil départemental après inspection des services de protection maternelle et infantile. 

Les crèches collectives :

Ces structures sont généralement gérées par le département, la ville ou bien par des associations ou organismes privés. Pour y être admis les petits doivent être âgés entre 2 mois et demi et 4 ans. La prise en charge s’y fait selon des horaires précis et par des auxiliaires de puériculture ainsi que des éducateurs spécialisés. Des espaces adaptés y accueillent les enfants tout en répondant à leurs besoins et en leur proposant des activités en adéquation avec leur âge. Ils y font également leurs premiers pas en collectivité tout en apprenant à socialiser. 

Pour ce qui est des  inscriptions, il est conseillé d’établir une pré-inscription avant la naissance. Et ce, dans plusieurs crèches à votre niveau, car ces établissements connaissent souvent un manque de place et l’attente peut être excessivement longue. Aussi, il est important de souligner l’aspect assez strict de ces structures. En effet, si par exemple, votre enfant tombe malade, il ne sera accepté au sein de la structure qu’après son rétablissement. Les horaires y sont également imposées et rarement variables. 

Les micro-crèches :

Plus petites que les crèches collectives, les micro-crèches peuvent accueillir jusqu’à 10 enfants de moins de 6 ans dans des espaces sécurisés et adaptés. Cela peut être une maison , un appartement ou un espace dédié par la localité.  Elles respectent, également, les mêmes normes et règlements que les crèches collectives tout en ayant des horaires relativement plus souples. En intégrant une micro-crèche, votre enfant pourra profiter des joies de la collectivité tout en bénéficiant d’une prise en charge individuelle comme à la maison. 

Les jardins d’enfants :

Les jardins d’enfants accueillent régulièrement les 2 à 6 ans dans des espaces adaptés à leur âge et selon les mêmes horaires que ceux des crèches collectives ou écoles maternelles. Dans ces établissements, les enfants sont pris en charge par des éducateurs spécialisés les accompagnant dans leur évolution. Ces derniers, leur proposent, sous forme d’ateliers, diverses activités de développement et d’éveil. Cependant, il est à souligner que le coût des jardins d’enfants est relativement plus élevé que dans des crèches collectives. 

La babysitter, l’un des modes de garde d’enfants les plus appréciés :

Parmi les modes de garde d’enfants préférés des français, la babysitter ou, plus communément désignée comme nounou à domicile, est une personne recrutée directement par les parents ou via un intermédiaire ( agences spécialisées, sites de mise en relation…). Elle peut aussi avoir des qualifications ou non. En effet, aucun agrément et aucune formation ne sont obligatoires lorsqu’il s’agit de ce mode de garde. Les parents peuvent toutefois orienter leur choix vers des babysitters qualifiées et expérimentées lors de leur recherche.  Qu’elle soit en emploi direct ou recrutée via une agence, les parents peuvent également, selon l’âge de leurs enfants, bénéficier des aides de la CAF. 

Le plus de ce mode de garde, c’est que les parents peuvent choisir la nounou ou babysitter selon leurs critères et exigences. Il en va de même pour les prestations effectuées au sein du foyer.  La babysitter, sera surtout dédiée à leurs enfants si la garde est régulière par exemple. Cela permet la création d’un lien affectif très apprécié par les enfants. 

Aussi, faire appel à une garde d’enfants ou nounou est plus arrangeant lorsqu’il s’agit des horaires et des déplacement. Les babysitters ont généralement des horaires très flexibles et elles se déplacent aux domiciles des parents pour effectuer leur garde jusqu’à des heures très tardives et même durant les weekends. Le coût de ce type de garde d’enfants, est généralement à partir de 9 euros net de l’heure. Mais, fixer la rémunération d’un babysitting dépend également de divers autres facteurs tels que le mode de recrutement , les prestations effectuées ou même de votre région d’habitation. 

Si vous souhaitez trouver la babysitter idéale mais vous n’avez pas le temps de vous lancer dans des recherches ardues, Kidlee peut le faire pour vous de manière totalement gratuite et sans engagement ! Nous nous appliquons à trouver, rapidement, les perles rares tant recherchées par les parents. Et ce, à travers un sourcing directement auprès de nos partenaires (les BDE de SciencesPo, Dauphine, EM Normandie ou encore La Sorbonne).

L’option garde partagée :

Ce mode de garde dépend toujours d’une babysitter ou d’une nounou. Ce qui diffère, c’est que deux familles peuvent se mettre d’accord pour choisir cette dernière. Et ensuite, la recruter pour garder leurs enfants dans un même foyer ou en alternant entre les deux maisons. Les deux familles, se départagent ainsi le salaire et les charges, ce qui est souvent plus abordable. Toutefois, si le nombre d’enfants dépasse les 4, c’est souvent compliqué de trouver une babysitter qui accepte une garde partagée. 

L’assistante maternelle agréée:

L’assistante maternelle dispose d’un agrément délivré par le président du Conseil départemental. Et ce, après examen des services de la protection maternelle et infantile. Cet agrément lui permet par la suite de garder des enfants à son domicile. Elle peut également, prendre en charge l’enfant dans une maison d’assistantes maternelles. En matière d’horaires, il s’agit généralement de gardes à plein temps ou de gardes périscolaires. Tout comme pour la babysitter, c’est aux parents de prendre en charge les démarches administratives d’emploi. Pour ce qui est des tarifs, le salaire d’une assistante maternelle se fixe généralement d’un commun accord avec la famille. 

La jeune fille au pair

La jeune fille ou jeune homme au pair, est une personne de nationalité étrangère âgée de 20 à 30 ans. Cette dernière, propose ses services en échange d’un logement au sein de la famille qui l’accueille. Et, dont elle va garder les enfants. En plus d’une rémunération correcte, la fille au pair bénéficie également d’une prise en charge ( nourriture, logement et transports ). Et ce, contre ses services de garde et quelques tâches ménagères. Étant généralement étudiante, la fille au pair, devra organiser son temps entre la garde d’enfants et ses occupations ( études, sorties etc)