Kidlee Logo

My babysitter has dropped me! What can I do?

by | Dec 2, 2019 | Babysitting | 0 comments

A babysitter who stands you up halfway through is a real hardship to go through. Especially when the school year is in full swing. It is therefore essential that you do not make a mistake when choosing your babysitter. And that, while being sure that the latter corresponds to your needs. And that he/she can also accompany you throughout the school year without failing in his/her mission!

Kidlee provides you with essential tips that will certainly help you make a careful selection and finally find the rare pearl you've been looking for!

We start by clarifying our parental needs and expectations:

Before posting a baby sitting ad, soliciting your friends and family or calling an agency, it is essential to list and clarify your needs: location, hours, tasks to be accomplished and profile sought (student who regularly looks after children, childcare specialist...). This will allow you to establish a first filter of potential candidates. When the baby sitters contact you, remember to check their availability for childcare on the days and times you have set. Their commitment over the school year, their specific skills and their geographical proximity.

Don't hesitate to ask them for guarantees. In other words, the contact information of their former employers as a reference. And this, even before meeting them. It is indeed important to contact the families in question. Having their opinion will allow you to eliminate applications from people who are not very punctual and lack experience. Once an appointment has been made, ask the candidates for a photocopy of their identity card and their social security card.

We set precise criteria from the first meeting with the babysitter

The first meeting is an opportunity to get a more detailed idea of the person. How she presents herself, how she expresses herself and her first contact with the children.

During the interview, it is first necessary to test the candidates' language skills. Evaluate their language level, their ability to understand and make themselves understood in writing and orally. This will ensure that the babysitter is able to call for help, the doctor and to warn you in case of emergency. Also, pushing them to show their mastery of the French language will help you to accompany the child for homework. Depending on the age of the child, this criterion is essential for the child's good school follow-up.

Observe carefully the babysitter's attitude toward the child. Does he or she quickly ask about the child's first name? What is the child's personality? What are his or her interests? Does the candidate take the trouble to involve the child in the conversation and try to arouse his sympathy.

When making your selection, make sure the candidate is a good match for the child's needs. It is imperative that you choose the person according to his or her age and personality. Does your child need to let off steam? Choose a sports profile that will organize Olympic games for him! Does he prefer to sing and make up stories? You'll probably find an apprentice comedian or an artist brimming with imagination who will be delighted to help them put on a show in the living room!

We look at the involvement and professionalism of the babysitter

The candidate's commitment and motivation to undertake this mission should be put to the test at the first meeting. To get an idea of the person's commitment, a few criteria will guide your judgment. First of all, you must ensure that the candidate knows the emergency numbers and the steps to take in case of a domestic or external accident. You should also make sure that this person can be reached and that he or she has a working telephone. It would also be wise to ask for a contact number in case the babysitter is unreachable. Evaluate the person's skills by asking about their organization, the recreational and educational activities they plan to offer the children, as well as their ability to bounce back and react to various contexts and setbacks.

We pass on the guidelines before moving on to the Test stage!

The first interview is also an opportunity to communicate your guidelines. And to make sure that the babysitter is prepared and committed to following your instructions regularly and seriously. Focus on schedules. The use of screens. The conduct of homework. The bathing supervision. Meals and the possibility of opening the home to other caregivers, family members or others. Before making your final decision, organize a test shift for the last candidates in the running.

Choose a night when you will have to pick up your child from school, take care of him/her all evening and supervise his/her homework. After the test, debrief with your child to assess what worked and what didn't. Your child's point of view is invaluable in perceiving small details that only he or she is sensitive to. Moreover, by participating in the choice of his own childcare, he also marks his commitment to a new relationship that he will have chosen.

You now have all the keys to find your ideal babysitter and ensure the well-being of your child during your absence.

0 Comments

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Babysitter's pay: what to ask the family? - Blog by Kidlee - [...] Indeed, whether it is in direct employment, or in agency, the rates of babysitting differ everywhere in [...]
  2. How much money should I spend on babysitting? - Blog by Kidlee - [...] It is essential to proceed legally. In other words, to declare your baby sitter, if you recruit her directly. It goes...
  3. Babysitting ad : How to write it well ? - Blog by Kidlee - [...] are looking for a babysitter and you are about to write a babysitting ad. But, you...
  4. Babysitting ad : How to write it well ? - Kidlee | Babysitting for children over 3 years old in Paris area - [...] are looking for a babysitter and you are about to write a babysitting ad. But, you...
  5. 9 resolutions to keep this new year! - Kidlee | Childcare for children over 3 years old in the Paris area - [...] Don't feel guilty about leaving your children with their grandmother or babysitter. Organize more...
  6. What is my babysitting budget? - [...] It is essential to proceed legally. In other words, to declare your baby sitter, if you recruit her directly. It goes...
  7. Babysitter's pay: what to ask the family? - [...] Indeed, whether it is in direct employment, or in agency, the rates of babysitting differ everywhere in [...]

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ma baby-sitter m’a lâché ! Que faire ?

par | Déc 2, 2019 | Babysitting | 0 commentaires

Une baby-sitter qui vous pose un lapin en mi-chemin représente une réelle épreuve à traverser. Surtout, quand l’année scolaire bat son plein. Il est donc primordial de ne pas vous tromper en choisissant votre garde d’enfant. Et cela, tout en étant sûr(e) que cette dernière corresponde à vos besoins. Et qu’elle puisse également vous accompagner tout au long de l’année scolaire sans faillir à sa mission !

Kidlee vous livres des conseils essentiels qui vous aideront certainement à faire une sélection minutieuse et à enfin trouver la perle rare tant recherchée !

On commence par clarifier nos besoins et attentes parentales :

Avant de poster une annonce baby sitting, de solliciter votre entourage ou bien de faire appel à une agence, il est essentiel de lister et de clarifier vos besoins : localisation, horaires, tâches à accomplir et profil recherché (étudiant qui garde régulièrement les enfants, spécialiste de la garde d’enfant…). Ceci, vous permettra d’établir un premier filtre des potentiels candidats. Lorsque les baby sitters vous contactent, pensez à vérifier leur disponibilité de gardes d’enfants aux jours et heures fixés. Leur engagement sur l’année scolaire, leurs compétences spécifiques ainsi que leur proximité géographique.

N’hésitez pas à leur demander des garanties. Autrement dit, les coordonnées de leurs anciens employeurs en guise de référence. Et ce, avant même de les rencontrer. Il est en effet important de joindre les familles en question. Avoir leur avis vous permettra d’écarter les candidatures des personnes peu ponctuelles et manquant d’expérience. Une fois un rendez-vous fixé, demandez aux candidats une photocopie de leur carte d’identité et de leur carte de sécurité sociale.

On se fixe des critères précis dès le premier rendez-vous avec la baby-sitter

La première rencontre est l’occasion d’avoir une idée plus détaillée sur la personne. Comment elle se présente, sa manière de s’exprimer et son premier contact avec les enfants.

Durant l’entretien, il est tout d’abord nécessaire de tester les compétences langagières des candidats. Évaluer leur niveau de langue, leur capacité à comprendre et se faire comprendre à l’écrit et à l’oral. Cela vous assurera que le baby-sitter est apte à appeler les secours, le médecin et à vous prévenir en cas d’urgence. Aussi, les pousser à montrer leur maîtrise de la langue française vous confortera quant à l’accompagnement de l’enfant pour les devoirs. Selon l’âge de l’enfant, ce critère est indispensable à son bon suivi scolaire.

Observez attentivement l’attitude du baby-sitter envers l’enfant. S’enquiert-il rapidement de son prénom ? De sa personnalité ? Ses centres d’intérêts ? Est-ce que le candidat  prend la peine d’impliquer l’enfant dans la conversation et tente d’attiser sa sympathie.

Lors de votre sélection, assurez-vous que le candidat ou la candidate corresponde aux besoins de l’enfant. Il est en effet impératif de choisir la personne en fonction de son âge et de sa personnalité.  Votre enfant a besoin de se défouler ? Optez pour un profil sportif qui organisera des jeux olympiques pour lui ! Il préfère chanter et inventer des histoires ? Vous trouverez sans doute une apprentie comédienne ou un artiste débordant d’imagination qui sera ravi·e de l’aider à monter son spectacle dans le salon !

On scrute l’implication et le professionnalisme du baby-sitter

L’implication du candidat ainsi que sa motivation à entreprendre cette mission sont à mettre à l’épreuve dès la première rencontre. Pour vous faire une idée sur l’investissement de la personne, quelques critères guideront votre jugement. Il faut d’abord s’assurer que le candidat connaisse spontanément les numéros d’urgences ainsi que les gestes à avoir en cas d’accident domestique ou extérieur. Assurez-vous également que cette personne reste joignable et qu’elle a un téléphone en état de marche, il serait d’ailleurs judicieux de demander un numéro à contacter si exceptionnellement la baby-sitter est injoignable. Évaluez les aptitudes de la personne en la questionnant sur son organisation, les activités ludo-éducatives qu’elle compte proposer aux enfants ainsi que sa capacité à rebondir et à réagir selon divers contextes et face aux contretemps.

On transmet les directives avant de passer à l’étape Test !

Le premier entretien est également une occasion de communiquer vos directives. Et de vous assurez que le baby-sitter s’apprête et s’applique à suivre vos prescriptions avec régularité et sérieux. Mettez l’accent sur les horaires. L’usage des écrans. La conduite des devoirs. La surveillance du bain. Les repas et l’éventuelle ouverture du domicile à d’autres intervenants, proches ou autres. Avant de prendre votre décision finale, organisez une garde test pour les derniers candidats en lice.

Choisissez un soir où il faudra aller récupérer l’enfant de l’école, s’occuper de lui toute la soirée et encadrer ses devoirs. Après ce test, débriefez avec votre enfant afin d’évaluer ce qui a fonctionné ou non. Son point de vue d’enfant est très précieux pour percevoir des petits détails auxquels lui seul est sensible. De plus, en participant au choix de sa propre garde d’enfant, il marque, lui aussi, son engagement dans une nouvelle relation qu’il aura choisie.

Vous avez maintenant toutes les clés pour trouver votre baby-sitter idéal.e et assurer le bien-être de votre enfant durant votre absence.

0 commentaires

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rémunération baby-sitter : que demander à la famille ? - Blog by Kidlee - […] effet, que cela soit en emploi direct, ou en agence, les tarifs de babysitting diffèrent partout en […]
  2. Quel budget babysitting pour ma garde d'enfants ? - Blog by Kidlee - […] primordiale de procéder légalement. Autrement dit, de déclarer votre baby sitter, si vous la recruter directement. Il en va…
  3. Annonce babysitting : Comment bien la rédiger ? - Blog by Kidlee - […] êtes à la recherche d’une garde d’enfants et vous vous apprêtez donc à rédiger une annonce babysitting. Mais, vous…
  4. Annonce babysitting : Comment bien la rédiger ? – Kidlee | Garde d'enfants de plus de 3 ans en Île-de-France - […] êtes à la recherche d’une garde d’enfants et vous vous apprêtez donc à rédiger une annonce babysitting. Mais, vous…
  5. 9 résolutions à tenir cette nouvelle année ! – Kidlee | Garde d'enfants de plus de 3 ans en Île-de-France - […] culpabilisez pas à l’idée de laisser vos enfants en compagnie de leur mamie ou de leur baby-sitter. Organisez plus…
  6. Quel budget babysitting pour ma garde d'enfants ? - […] primordiale de procéder légalement. Autrement dit, de déclarer votre baby sitter, si vous la recruter directement. Il en va…
  7. Rémunération baby-sitter : que demander à la famille ? - […] effet, que cela soit en emploi direct, ou en agence, les tarifs de babysitting diffèrent partout en […]

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

4 × 1 =