Kidlee Logo

Mother's Day: special inspiration file for the best gifts!

by | May 25, 2022 | Information

When you look into your mother's eyes, you know that it is the purest love you can find on this earth. That's why mothers have been celebrated for centuries and it's not the same everywhere. So, Kidlee offers you a recap of Mother's Day.

The origin of Mother's Day

So, no, contrary to what you might think, Mother's Day is not a commercial holiday at all. Its origin is based on several celebrations.

In ancient Greece, the mother of the gods, Rhea (or Cybele) was celebrated in spring. She was not the only one honored since this season was already, in the pagan rites, the occasion to celebrate fertility.  

The Romans celebrated Matralia or Matronalia in honor of women and mothers who gathered at the temple of Juno Licina to receive gifts.

From a religious point of view, Christians, Catholics and Protestants, also had a celebration of motherhood on the fourth Sunday of Lent: the Sunday of Laetare.   

Also, the believers took advantage of this festival to go to the "mother church", that is to say the cathedral or the most important church of the region. The families would gather there once a year. Hence the name of the Mothering Sunday in the United Kingdom. 

The third celebration at the origin of this holiday took place in the United States in 1870 thanks to the activist Julia Ward Howe who initiated the proclamation of Mother's Day. This by inviting mothers around the world to unite in order to achieve peace. Although the international version that we know today is due to Anna Jarvis. She founded specific "clubs" for mothers, with the same goal of peaceful union.   

How is Mother's Day celebrated in other countries?

In the United Kingdom

Mother's Day, called Mothering Sunday, is always celebrated on the 4th Sunday of Lent. So, no, in the United Kingdom we don't celebrate Mother's Day in May but in mid-March. In fact, the English usually take a day off work to visit their mothers and bring them a cake.

In Germany

Unlike the French, Germans have been celebrating mothers on the second Sunday in May for over 75 years. Also, for this holiday, the mothers do not work and generally the children are taken care of.

In Spain

One more difference on the day of celebration! In Spain, Mother's Day is celebrated on the first Sunday of May. On this occasion, mothers do not cook.

In Canada

Canadians and Germans alike celebrate Mother's Day on the second Sunday in May. This holiday is marked by a personalized gift that the child gives to his mother to mark the occasion.

Mother's Day in France

The starting point goes back to the spring in 1806 thanks to Napoleon. Its purpose was to honor the mothers of large families.

However, it is only on April 20, 1926, that the first national "Mother's Day" takes place. However, it was not a great success until 1941, thanks to Marshal Pétain! The latter sent a message on the radio: "You alone know how to give everyone the taste for work, the sense of discipline, modesty and respect that make men healthy and people strong. You are the inspiration of our Christian civilization. His goal was to introduce Mother's Day to boost the birth rate in France.

And it is in 1950 that this feast is officially fixed to the 4th Sunday of May. If this last Sunday is Pentecost Sunday, Mother's Day will be postponed to the first Sunday of June.

Resources to celebrate Mother's Day:

Gift ideas for Mother's Day

mother's day gift diy
Freepik

A simple but effective way to mark the spirits of moms on this occasion is to give her a small gift made at home. That's why we offer you some DIY ideas to make with the little ones. A photo collage in honor of mom, a custom mug in her honor or even a bouquet of flowers in no time.

Kidlee Logo

Fête des mères : dossier spécial inspiration pour le meilleur des cadeaux !

par | Mai 25, 2022 | Informations | 0 commentaires

Quand vous regardez dans les yeux de votre mère, vous savez que c’est l’amour le plus pur que vous pouvez trouver sur cette terre. C’est d’ailleurs pour cela qu’on célèbre les mamans depuis des siècles et ce n’est pas partout la même. Donc, Kidlee vous propose un récap de la fête des mères.

L’origine de la fête des mères

Alors, non contrairement à ce qu’on pourrait penser, la fête des mères n’est pas du tout une fête commerciale. Son origine tient compte de plusieurs célébrations.

Dans la Grèce antique, on célèbre la mère des dieux, Rhéa (ou Cybèle) au printemps. Elle n’était pas la seule honorée puisque cette saison était déjà, dans les rites païens, l’occasion de célébrer la fertilité.  

Les Romains quant à eux fêtaient Matralia ou Matronalia en l’honneur des femmes et des mères qui se rassemblaient au temple de Junon Licina pour recevoir des cadeaux.

D’un aspect religieux, les chrétiens, catholiques et les protestants, avaient aussi une célébration de la maternité lors du quatrième dimanche de Carême : le dimanche de Laetare.   

Aussi, les croyaient profitaient de cette fête pour se rendre dans « l’église mère », c’est-à-dire la cathédrale ou l’église la plus importante de la région. Les familles s’y retrouvaient entières, une fois par an. D’où l’appellation du Mothering Sunday au Royaume-Uni. 

La troisième célébration à l’origine de cette fête se déroule aux États-Unis en 1870 grâce à l’activiste Julia Ward Howe qui initia la proclamation de la Journée de la mère. Cela en invitant les mamans du monde entier à s’unir afin d’obtenir la paix. Même si la version internationale qu’on connaît à ce jour on la doit à Anna Jarvis. Elle fonda des « clubs » spécifiques aux mères, dans le même but d’union pacifique.   

Comment on célèbre la fête des mères dans les autres pays ?

Au Royaume-Uni

La fête des mères, appelée Mothering Sunday, est toujours célébrée le 4e dimanche de carême. Donc, non, au Royaume-Uni on ne célèbre par la fête des mères en mai mais bel et bien vers la mi-mars. D’ailleurs, les Anglais prennent généralement un jour de congé et en profitaient pour rendre visite à leur mère à laquelle ils apportaient un gâteau.

En Allemagne

Contrairement aux Français, les Allemands célèbrent les mamans le deuxième dimanche de mai depuis plus de 75 ans. Aussi, pour cette fête, les mamans ne travaillent pas et généralement les enfants sont aux petits soins.

En Espagne

Encore une différence de plus sur le jour de célébration ! En Espagne, la fête des mères se déroule le premier dimanche de mai. En cette occasion, les mamans ne cuisinent pas.

Au Canada

Les Canadiens tout comme les Allemands célèbrent la fête des mères le deuxième dimanche du mois de mai. Cette fête se démarque par un cadeau personnalisé que l’enfant offre à sa maman pour marquer le coup.

La fête des mères en France

Le point de départ remonte au printemps en 1806 grâce à Napoléon. Son but était d’honorer les mères de familles nombreuses.

Cependant ce n’est que le 20 avril 1926, que la première « journée des mères » nationale a lieu. Toutefois, elle n’eut pas un succès fou jusqu’à 1941, merci le Maréchal Pétain ! Ce dernier passe un message à la radio : « Vous seules, savez donner à tous ce goût du travail, ce sens de la discipline, de la modestie, du respect qui font les hommes sains et les peuples forts. Vous êtes les inspiratrices de notre civilisation chrétienne. » Son but était d’instaurer la fête des mères pour relancer la courbe de natalité en France.

Et c’est en 1950 que cette fête est officiellement fixée au 4ème dimanche de mai. Si ce dernier dimanche est le dimanche de Pentecôte, la fête des mères sera reportée au premier dimanche de juin.

Ressources pour célébrer la fête des mères :

Des idées de cadeau pour la fête des mères

cadeau fête des mères diy
Freepik

Un moyen simple mais efficace de marquer les esprits des mamans en cette occasion, c’est de lui offrir un petit cadeau réalisé maison. C’est pour cela qu’on vous propose des idées DIY à faire avec les petits choux. Un collage photo en l’honneur de maman, un mug customisé en son honneur ou même un bouquet de fleurs en deux temps trois mouvements.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.