Kidlee Logo

My child refuses to eat, what should I do?

by | Jan 26, 2021 | Kitchens, Special Edition, Kids, Lifestyle, Parents, Psychology

Is your child refusing to eat? Let's go back to the very beginning, the first time he closed his mouth and wasn't willing to cooperate. Why did this happen? Well, there are several reasons and several hypotheses: he wasn't hungry, he doesn't like the food, or he is testing his free will? Whatever the reason in this type of situation, your reaction will have a great impact on the next steps and on his relationship with food. That's why Kidlee accompanies you in this situation that many parents dread. We'll explain the reasons why most children don't want to eat. Then we'll look at your options for dealing with this, as well as what not to do. 

Do you know about food neophobia?

First of all, it is important to know that refusing to try new foods is normal and usually happens to three quarters of children. This phenomenon appears from the age of 2 years: it is called food neophobia. Neophobia appears in children between the ages of 2 and 10 and is therefore expressed by the fear of trying new foods. Beyond that, it is from this age that they learn the famous 'no', and that they decide to use it all the time!

To come back to neophobia, it is very frequent and instinctive in children. However, it is not necessary to make a big deal of it (to remain in the context). Your weapon will be patience, perseverance and benevolence. After all, it's just a stage to overcome! And then somewhere, the child also seeks to assert itself and to forge its small character. Let him the possibility to assert himself. Moreover, depriving him of this and using force risks developing an unhappy relationship between the child and the food.

Tips for the child who refuses to eat:   

Child refuses to eat: a little girl cooking with her babysitter
Designed by Freepik

All at the table:

Share good times with your family around a good meal. Eating together is also very important to provide a pleasant and healthy environment for the child. However, avoid distractions and teach your child to enjoy family meals. 

Share the pleasure you get from eating: 

Do not put yourself in the position of the executioner but rather accompany him to "discover" new foods. He must understand that it is a moment of pleasure where we discover flavors through the tasting of different foods and different tastes. Each dish has its own story, its own recipe, its own benefits, so make him love food without pressure and gradually! 

Imitation:

Both parents should be exemplary at the table and eat everything that is served with appetite. Children absorb and are inspired by their parents' actions. Eat the foods he doesn't like without forcing him to eat. On the other hand, if he has refused several times, continue to expose the food without offering it to him. Then gradually bring it up again, but always without pressure.

Play with the presentation of the dish:

food presented in a playful way, in the form of funny monsters for children
Pinterest

Presenting the food that your child fears in a different fun and attractive form will allow the latter to set references and thus lower his guard. 

As soon as a categorical refusal appears, change the way you present the food. Offer it to him raw, cooked, in a gratin... preferably in small quantities and with an attractive presentation, to put all your chances on your side. You can also mix it with foods he likes. And maybe he'll end up eating it without realizing it! Present the dishes in a fun way with varied and colorful menus. 

Set meal times:

Avoid offering too many snacks and make snacks lighter. Watch for snacking between meals so he can enjoy his dinner Serve his meal at least two hours after his snack. At mealtime, it's a good idea to start with the food they don't like first, because if they're hungry, they'll be more cooperative! On the other hand, avoid eating too late, because if he is tired your child will eat less.

Engage your child who refuses to eat:

Tell him the story of this food, did it grow on a tree? What is its name? Involve them in the shopping and in the preparation of the meal. Nothing like a little cooking workshop to work up an appetite. Make him responsible for simple tasks like stirring the soup and setting the table. Involving your child in this way will fill him with good vibes and encourage him to cooperate.  

Read our article: 3 easy recipes for kids just for you here.

Give your child attention outside of mealtime:

Sometimes the rejections are to get your attention. This is often the reason why other family members or his babysitter are more successful in getting him to eat. You can avoid this by giving him maximum attention outside of meal times. However, ignore the child's tantrums. This way, the child will understand that being difficult will not capture your interest. This will gradually dissuade him from being difficult at the table. 

Rewarding efforts: 

Once he finally agrees to try it, usually after 10 to 15 tries, encourage him and emphasize his willingness to try new things. What an adventurer! How you have grown! Your perseverance has finally paid off and it will also motivate him to try more foods. 

However, if after many tries it still doesn't work, you will have to accept that the child simply doesn't like the food. You can try again a few months later.

What not to do: 

Child refuses to eat: reactions to avoid
Designed by Freepik

Do not negotiate with the child who refuses to eat

No blackmail with dessert! Dessert is not a reward. On the one hand, if you offer him a great dessert, if he eats his meal, the child will think that this meal must be really inedible for you to offer him this deal. On the other hand, even if he doesn't cooperate, he still has the right to his dessert. Because the latter still provides nutritional value. And if the child has not eaten, he will need it.

Don't force him to finish his plate

You don't want to force them to finish everything, because children instinctively respect their hunger. Respect his satiety, he is just not hungry anymore. Give priority to the quality and variety of food rather than the quantity (fruits, vegetables, cereals...).

Don't give in by cooking something else:

No special treatment! Keep a firm grip on the menu orders. You can explain that you made this dish because Dad likes it so much. Next time, you'll make the dish he likes. But at that point, he'll have to respect that. The more you give in to his demands, the harder it will be to fix his eating disorder. The sooner you understand his tastes, the less trouble he will give you in the future.

Don't criticize the child who refuses to eat

Don't blame her! Blaming her can have a huge impact on her self-esteem. Avoid linking emotion to food at all costs. Don't threaten or blame him, it will only make it more difficult. If he refuses to eat, remove his plate without commenting or looking sorry or angry.

When to worry about the child refusing to eat? 

When to consult a doctor?
Designed by Freepik

If the child is very young (between 0 and 6 months). If he loses about 10% of his total weight or if he doesn't eat anything at all... at this time, it is imperative to consult your pediatrician to get a professional opinion and possibly prevent underlying diseases.

Mon enfant refuse de manger, que faire ?

Enfant refuse de manger

Votre enfant refuse de manger ? Revenons au tout début, la première fois où il a fermé la bouche et où il n’était pas dans l’optique de coopérer. Pourquoi ? Et bien plusieurs raisons et plusieurs hypothèses sont possibles : il n’avait pas faim, il n’aime pas ce plat, ou il teste son libre arbitre ?  Quelle que soit la raison dans ce type de situation, votre réaction aura un grand impact sur la suite des évènements et sur sa relation avec la nourriture. C’est pour cela que Kidlee vous accompagne dans cette situation que beaucoup de parents redoutent. Et ce, en vous expliquant les raisons pour lesquelles la plupart des enfants ne veulent pas manger. Ensuite, nous verrons ensemble les options  qui s’offrent à vous pour résoudre cela, ainsi que ce qu’il est déconseillé de faire. 

La néophobie alimentaire, vous connaissez ?

Tout d’abord, il faut savoir que refuser d’essayer de nouveaux aliments est normal et arrive généralement à trois quarts des enfants. Ce phénomène apparaît à partir de l’âge de 2 ans : ça s’appelle la néophobie alimentaire. La néophobie apparaît chez l’enfant âgé entre de 2 à 10 ans et se traduit donc par la peur d’essayer de nouveaux aliments. Au delà de cela, c’est à partir de cet âge là qu’ils apprennent le fameux ‘non’, et qu’ils décident de s’en servir à tout temps !

Pour revenir à la néophobie, c’est d’ailleurs très fréquent et instinctif chez les enfants. Cependant, il ne faut pas en faire tout un plat ( pour rester dans le contexte ). Votre arme sera la patience, la persévérance et la bienveillance. Car après tout c’est juste une étape à surmonter ! Et puis quelque part, l’enfant cherche également à s’affirmer et à forger son petit caractère. Laisser lui la possibilité de s’affirmer. D’ailleurs l’en priver et utiliser la force risque de développer une relation malheureuse entre l’enfant et la nourriture.

Astuces pour l’enfant qui refuse de manger :   

Enfant refuse de manger :  astuces
Designed by Freepik

Tous à table :

Partagez de bons moments en famille autour d’un bon repas. Manger tous ensemble est également très important pour offrir un environnement agréable et sain à l’enfant. Évitez cependant les distractions et apprenez lui à apprécier les repas en famille. 

Partagez le plaisir que vous avez de manger: 

Ne vous mettez pas dans la position du bourreau mais accompagnez-le plutôt à “ découvrir” de nouveaux aliments. Ce dernier doit comprendre que c’est un moment de plaisir où l’on découvre des saveurs à travers la dégustation de différents aliments et différents goûts. Chaque plat à son histoire, sa recette, ses bienfaits, faites-lui aimer la nourriture sans pression et progressivement ! 

L’imitation:

Les deux parents doivent se montrer exemplaires à table et manger avec appétit tout ce qui est servi. Car les enfants absorbent les faits et gestes des parents et s’en inspirent. Mangez les aliments qu’il n’aime pas sans le forcer à manger. Par ailleurs, s’il a refusé plusieurs fois, continuez à exposer l’aliment sans pour autant lui en offrir. Puis petit à petit, remettez cela sur le tapis, mais toujours sans pression.

Jouez sur la présentation du plat:

aliments présentés de façon ludique, sous forme de monstres rigolos pour enfant
Pinterest

Le fait de présenter l’aliment que votre enfant redoute sous une forme ludique et attrayante permettra à ce dernier de poser des références et du coup baisser sa garde. 

Dès qu’un refus catégorique se manifeste, changez donc la manière de lui présenter l’aliment. Proposez le lui cru, cuit, en gratin… de préférence en petite quantité et avec une jolie présentation, pour mettre toutes vos chances de votre côté. Vous pouvez également mélanger ce dernier avec des aliments qu’il aime. Et ainsi il finira peut-être par en manger sans qu’il ne s’en rende compte ! Présentez les plats de façon rigolote avec des menus variés et colorés. 

Fixez des heures de repas :

Évitez de proposer trop d’encas et allégez ses collations. Surveillez le grignotage entre les repas afin qu’il puisse apprécier son souper. Servez son repas au moins deux heures après son encas ou son goûter. Au moment du repas, il est conseillé de commencer par l’aliment qu’il n’aime pas en premier, puisque si l’enfant a faim, il sera plus coopératif ! Par contre, évitez de manger trop tard, car s’il est fatigué votre enfant mangera moins.

Suscitez l’intérêt de votre enfant qui refuse de manger:

Racontez-lui l’histoire de cet aliment, a-t-il poussé sur un arbre ? Comment s’appelle-t-il ? Impliquez le lors des courses et lors de la préparation du repas. Rien de mieux qu’un petit atelier de cuisine pour ouvrir l’appétit. Responsabilisez-le sur des tâches simples comme remuer la soupe, mettre la table. Le fait de le faire participer le remplira de bonnes ondes et l’encouragera à collaborer.  

Retrouvez notre article: 3 recettes faciles pour enfant juste ici.

Donnez-lui de l’attention en dehors des repas:

Parfois les refus  sont pour accaparer votre attention. C’est souvent pour cela que les autres membres de la famille ou sa babysitter réussissent plus facilement à le faire manger. Vous pouvez alors éviter cela en lui donnant un maximum d’attention en dehors des heures de repas. Ignorez cependant ses caprices. Ainsi, l’enfant comprendra que ce n’est pas en étant difficile qu’il captera votre intérêt. Cela le dissuadera petit à petit à faire le difficile à table. 

Gratification des efforts: 

Une fois qu’il aura enfin accepté de goûter, généralement au bout de 10 à 15 fois d’essai, encouragez-le et mettez en valeur sa volonté d’essayer de nouvelles choses. Quel aventurier ! comme tu as grandi ! Votre persévérance a enfin payé et ça le motivera également à essayer davantage d’aliments. 

En revanche, si au bout de nombreux essais ça ne passe toujours pas, il faudra accepter que l’enfant n’aime tout simplement pas cet aliment. Vous pourrez néanmoins réessayer quelques mois plus tard.

Ce qu’il ne faut pas faire: 

Enfant refuse de manger : réactions à éviter
Designed by Freepik

Ne négociez pas avec l’enfant qui refuse de manger

Pas de chantage avec le dessert ! Le dessert n’est pas une récompense. D’une part car si vous lui proposez un super dessert, s’ il mange son repas, l’enfant se mettra dans la tête que ce repas là doit vraiment être immangeable pour que vous lui proposez ce marché. D’autre part, même s’il ne coopère pas, il a quand même le droit à son dessert. Car ce dernier, apporte tout de même une valeur nutritive. Et si l’enfant n’a pas mangé, il en aura besoin.

Ne le forcez pas à finir son assiette

Il faut éviter de le forcer à tout finir, car l’enfant respecte sa faim instinctivement. Respectez sa satiété, il n’a juste plus faim. Privilégiez plutôt la qualité et la variété des aliments plutôt que la quantité ( fruits, légumes, céréales..).

Ne cédez pas en lui cuisinant autre chose:

Pas de traitement de faveur ! Gardez fermement les commandes des menus. Vous pouvez lui expliquer que vous avez fait ce plat car papa l’aime beaucoup. La prochaine fois, vous ferez le plat qu’il aime. Mais à ce moment-là, il faudra qu’il respecte cela. Plus vous céderez à ses exigences, plus il sera difficile de remédier à son trouble alimentaire. Plus tôt vous cernerez ses goûts, moins il vous donnera du fil à retordre à l’avenir.

Ne critiquez pas l’enfant qui refuse de manger

Pas de reproches ! Lui faire des reproches risque d’avoir des conséquences considérables sur son estime de soi. Évitez à tout prix de relier l’émotion à l’alimentation. Pas de menace, ni de reproches, ça ne fera que rendre la tâche encore plus difficile. S’il refuse de manger, retirez son assiette sans faire de commentaires et sans  mine désolée ou énervée.

Quand s’inquiéter au sujet de l’enfant refuse de manger ? 

Quand consulter un medecin ?
Designed by Freepik

Si l’enfant est en très bas âge (entre 0 et 6 mois). S’il perd environ 10% de son poids total ou s’il ne mange plus rien du tout… à ce moment là, il est impératif de consulter votre pédiatre pour avoir l’avis d’un professionnel et éventuellement prévenir des maladies sous-jacentes.