Kidlee Logo

Biodiversity: 6 activities to make children aware of its protection! 

by | Jun 24, 2022 | Do It Yourself, Pedagogy Parents

THE OFBThe French Office of Biodiversity defines biodiversity as all living beings and the ecosystems in which they live. This term also includes the interactions of species with each other and with their environment.

Biodiversity therefore meets the primary needs of mankind (oxygen, drinking water, food...). It also plays a major role in the development of human activities thanks to the raw materials and energy it provides. 

But in recent years, these human activities (overexploitation of natural resources and energy, greenhouse gases, deforestation ...) disturb the balance of nature and cause an erosion of biodiversity by putting it in danger. Moreover, several animal and plant species have already become extinct. And millions of others are threatened. 

So what needs to be done for biodiversity conservation? 

For a more sustainable future and for the conservation of nature and biodiversity in general, young and old must be made aware of environmental issues.

The question you are probably asking yourself is: how to explain biodiversity to young people and how to make them aware of its preservation while avoiding an alarming or anxiety-provoking speech? 

Kidlee answers your questions in the following!  

How to explain biodiversity to children?

The most important thing when it comes to introducing children to biodiversity or any other subject related to the environment (climate change, terrestrial ecosystems, endangered species, recycling, etc.) is to approach the subject in a simple and fun way. ) is to approach the subject in a simple and fun way. Depending on the age of the child, you just have to find the right words and activities to raise awareness without alarming them. 

Dedicated booksThere are a lot of ways to do this! All that's left is to get started! 

In this article, it's focus on fun activities, but before that, a little definition that you can share with the kids to get them in the mood! 

Definition of biodiversity for children! 

Biodiversity
Canva

1 day 1 actu, a great magazine for children, proposes a definition as well as an ultra simple video to explain biodiversity to children. 

What is biodiversity by Catherine Ganet - 1jour 1actu : 

Plants, mushrooms, animals, not to mention people... It's all that biodiversity, and even more since it's also lakes, mountains, forests...

Biodiversity is therefore all living beings and natural environments. But also all the relationships that are established between them. For nothing on earth lives in a bubble, without any link with other species or with its place of habitation.

Man is the first example. Without forests? No wood for building and heating... Without bees? No pollen transported from one plant to another to make seeds. And therefore, very few flowers and fruits. Without plants ? It would be very difficult to treat oneself, because more than 70 000 species of plants are used to make remedies.

Biodiversity, a threatened treasure :

Thus, biodiversity represents a treasure of balance where each element has its utility. However, today, this treasure is threatened by human activities. We catch too many fish, we cut too much wood, we throw too many chemicals on the ground...

As a result, the number of animal and plant species is decreasing, which threatens the lives of millions of living beings. But there are solutions! For example, encouraging organic farming, planting trees, or developing protected areas. And it works! The European bison have escaped extinction thanks to the creation of animal parks.

Find the explanatory video for children here

Fun activities to raise awareness of biodiversity protection among children: 

A walk in the park: 

Canva

A simple walk in the park can help children discover biodiversity. By awakening them to nature in a nearby field, children touch, observe and learn about urban biodiversity (fungi, plants, bacteria, insects, birds, humans...) in a real way.

This activity doesn't require a lot of resources, just take the children to the park, put magnifying glasses at their disposal and let them observe and discover what surrounds them. 

To go further, the Healthy Living team has prepared a short list of activities to do with children in an urban environment. Discover their guide to biodiversity awareness here

You don't need to go far into the forest or be a trained biologist to introduce children to the components of biodiversity. The parks and gardens in your neighborhood are already excellent places to explore!

 

Biodiversity
The Great Ecology Game Kidlee

To this end, Kidlee has launched the Great Ecology Game in Parisian parks. An opportunity to introduce children to the protection of the planet through various fun activities and discoveries of all kinds! 

To learn more about our Great Ecology Game, and why not, register your children, just click here

Making a bird feeder

biodiversity
Canva

By making a bird feeder, children will first learn how to give life and recycle everyday objects, such as plastic bottles, milk cartons, cans or wooden crates. Then, once the feeder is set up, the children can have fun observing and recognizing the species of birds that will come to peck at the food available to them. 

Find 23 easy to make DIY feeders here

Make a mini greenhouse: 

biodiversity
Bayard

Imagine the happiness felt by a child who makes his own little greenhouse and thus a mini-ecosystem of biodiversity! Good news, Bayard offers a great DIY so that the child can make his little greenhouse and grow flowers or vegetables! And on top of that, it's a recycling activity! Find the detailed tutorial here

Making a herbarium  

plant biodiversity
Mapiwee

Nothing could be easier than making your first herbarium. All the child has to do is to take advantage of his walks with his family or with his baby-sitter to collect all sorts of pretty leaves, flowers... Etc. Then dry them and paste them in a notebook or a dedicated notebook which will act as a herbarium. 

You can accompany the child in the decoration of the notebook. Together, decorate the cover of your herbarium with various plants (flowers, moss, leaves, grass...). 

With the help of a plant dictionary, your child will be able to observe, recognize and note the variety of each plant. 

Here is a bonus, a great DIY herbarium proposed by Mapiweeto discover here !

Observe animals in their natural environment! 

 signs in a lake
Canva

In a nature reserve, a park for protected species or in an aquarium, it is essential that the child knows the different species and the environment in which they evolve. In a reserve, for example, they will notice that some species need trees to move around. Others need water to move around... But also, they will be able to observe the interactions between animals and how they live together. An activity to do without moderation. 

Exercising the infallible flair of children: 

Canva

Get your little ones to work on their nose with this great sensory game. All you need to do is prepare the material: scented plant elements and scarves. 

You can do this game in your garden, park, lake or forest. Start by collecting smelly natural elements without showing them to the children. Then, blindfold the children and have them smell one of the plants. After that, ask them questions. First, if they recognize the nature of the element (plant, earth, flower...). Then put the element back on its natural site. The child will have to find it or find a copy by being guided by its smell and so on with other natural elements.

Kidlee Logo

Biodiversité : 6 activités pour sensibiliser les enfants à sa protection ! 

par | Juin 24, 2022 | Do It Yourself, Pédagogie Parents | 0 commentaires

L’OFB, Office Français de la Biodiversité, définit cette dernière comme l’ensemble des êtres vivants ainsi que les écosystèmes dans lesquels ils vivent. Ce terme comprend également les interactions des espèces entre elles et avec leurs milieux.

La biodiversité répond donc aux besoins primaires de l’Homme (Oxygène, eau potable, nourriture… ). Elle a également un rôle majeur dans le développement des activités humaines grâce à la matière première et énergies qu’elle fournit. 

Mais depuis quelques années, ces activités humaines (surexploitation des ressources et énergies naturelles, gaz à effet de serre, déforestation…) perturbent l’équilibre de la nature et cause une érosion de la biodiversité en la mettant en danger. D’ailleurs, plusieurs espèces animales et végétales se sont déjà éteintes. Et des millions d’autres sont menacées. 

Que faut-il donc faire pour la conservation de la biodiversité ? 

Pour un avenir plus durable et pour la conservation de la nature et de la biodiversité en général, petits et grands doivent être sensibilisés aux enjeux environnementaux .

La question que vous vous posez certainement est : comment expliquer la biodiversité aux plus jeunes et comment les sensibiliser à sa préservation en évitant un discours alarmant ou anxiogène ? 

Kidlee répond à vos questions dans ce qui suit !  

Comment expliquer la biodiversité aux enfants ?

Le plus important lorsqu’il s’agit d’initier les enfants à la biodiversité ou à tout autre sujet en rapport avec l’environnement (Changement climatique, écosystèmes terrestres, espèces menacées, recyclage, etc. ) c’est d’aborder le sujet avec simplicité et de façon ludique. Selon l’âge de l’enfant, il suffit donc de trouver les mots justes et les activités adaptées pour le sensibiliser sans l’alarmer. 

Livres dédiés, balades, randonnées, dessins animés, jeux, activités ludiques… Pas mal de moyens sont à disposition ! Il ne reste plus qu’à se lancer ! 

Dans cet article, c’est focus activités ludiques, mais avant cela, petite définition que vous pouvez partager avec les loulous pour les mettre dans le bain ! 

Définition de la biodiversité pour les enfants ! 

Biodiversité
Canva

1jour 1 actu, un super magazine pour enfants, propose une définition ainsi qu’une vidéo ultra simple pour expliquer la biodiversité aux enfants. 

C’est quoi la biodiversité par Catherine Ganet – 1jour 1actu : 

Les plantes, les champignons, les animaux, sans oublier les hommes… C’est tout cela la biodiversité, et même plus encore puisque ce sont aussi les lacs, les montagnes, les forêts…

La biodiversité, c’est donc l’ensemble des êtres vivants et des milieux naturels. Mais également toutes les relations qui s’établissent entre eux. Car rien sur terre ne vit dans une bulle, sans lien avec les autres espèces ou avec son lieu d’habitation.

L’homme en est le premier exemple. Sans forêts ? Pas de bois pour construire et se chauffer… Sans abeilles ? Pas de pollen transporté d’une plante à l’autre pour faire des graines. Et donc, très peu de fleurs et de fruits. Sans végétaux ? Bien difficile de se soigner, car plus de 70 000 espèces de plantes servent à fabriquer des remèdes.

La biodiversité, un trésor menacé :

Ainsi, la biodiversité représente un trésor d’équilibre où chaque élément a son utilité. Or, aujourd’hui, ce trésor est menacé par les activités humaines. On pêche trop de poissons, on coupe trop de bois, on rejette trop de produits chimiques sur les sols…

Résultat : le nombre d’espèces animales et végétales diminue, ce qui menace la vie de millions d’êtres vivants. Mais il existe des solutions ! Par exemple, encourager l’agriculture bio, planter des arbres, ou encore développer les aires protégées. Et ça marche ! Les bisons d’Europe ont ainsi échappé à l’extinction grâce à la création de parcs animaliers.

Retrouvez la vidéo explicative pour enfants ici

Activités ludiques pour sensibiliser les enfants à la protection de la biodiversité : 

Une balade au parc : 

Canva

Une simple balade au parc peut faire découvrir la biodiversité à l’enfant. En l’éveillant à la nature sur un terrain à proximité, l’enfant touche, observe et apprend à connaître de façon réelle la biodiversité urbaine (champignons, plantes, bactéries, insectes, oiseaux, humains…).

Cette activité ne demande pas beaucoup de moyens, il suffit d’emmener les enfants au parc, mettre des loupes à leur disposition et les laisser observer et découvrir ce qui les entoure. 

Pour aller plus loin, l’équipe Milieux de vie en santé, vous a préparé une petite liste d’activités à réaliser en milieu urbain avec les enfants. Découvrez leur guide d’éveil à la biodiversité ici

Vous n’avez donc pas besoin d’aller bien loin en forêt ou d’avoir une formation de biologiste pour faire découvrir les composants de la biodiversité aux enfants. Les parcs et jardins de votre quartier sont déjà d’excellents terrains d’exploration !

 

Biodiversité
Le Grand Jeu de l’écologie Kidlee

C’est d’ailleurs à cet effet, que Kidlee a lancé le Grand Jeu de l’écologie dans les parcs parisiens. Une occasion d’initier les enfants à la protection de la planète à travers diverses activités ludiques et découvertes en tous genre ! 

Pour en savoir plus sur notre Grand jeu de l’écologie, et pourquoi pas, y inscrire vos enfants, il suffit de cliquer ici

Réaliser une mangeoire à oiseaux

biodiversité
Canva

En réalisant une mangeoire à oiseaux, les enfants apprendront dans un premier temps à redonner vie et à recycler des objets du quotidien, comme des bouteilles en plastique, des briques de lait, des boîtes de conserve ou encore des caisses en bois. Dans un deuxième temps, une fois la mangeoire installée, l’enfant pourra s’amuser à observer et à reconnaître les espèces d’oiseaux qui viendront picorer la nourriture à leur disposition. 

Retrouvez 23 DIY de mangeoires faciles à faire ici

Fabriquer une mini serre  : 

biodiversité
Bayard

Imaginez le bonheur ressenti par un enfant qui réalise sa propre petite serre et donc un mini-écosystème de biodiversité ! Bonne nouvelle, Bayard propose un super DIY pour que l’enfant puisse réaliser sa petite serre et y faire pousser des fleurs ou des légumes ! Et cerise sur le gâteau, c’est une activité récup ! Retrouvez le tuto détaillé ici

Réaliser un herbier  

biodiversité des plantes
Mapiwee

Rien de plus simple que de réaliser son premier herbier. Il suffit que l’enfant profite de ses promenades en famille ou avec sa baby-sitter pour ramasser toutes sortes de jolies feuilles, fleurs… Etc. Faites-les ensuite sécher puis collez-les dans un cahier ou un carnet dédié qui fera office d’herbier. 

Vous pouvez accompagner l’enfant dans la décoration du carnet. Ensemble, ornez la couverture de votre herbier de divers végétaux (fleurs, mousse, feuilles, herbe…). 

À l’aide d’un dictionnaire des plantes, votre enfant pourra observer, reconnaître puis noter la variété de chaque plante. 

Voici en bonus, un super herbier DIY proposé par Mapiwee, à découvrir ici !

Observer les animaux en milieu naturel ! 

 signes dans un lac
Canva

Dans une réserve naturelle, un parc pour les espèces protégées ou encore dans un aquarium, il est essentiel que l’enfant connaisse les différentes espèces et l’environnement dans lequel elles évoluent. Dans une réserve par exemple, il pourra remarquer que certaines espèces ont besoin d’arbres pour se déplacer. D’autres ont besoin d’eau pour se déplacer… Mais aussi, il pourra observer les interactions entre animaux et comment ils vivent entre eux. Activité à faire sans modération. 

Exercer le flair infaillible des enfants : 

Canva

Faites travailler le flair de vos loulous avec ce super jeu sensoriel. Pour ce faire, il suffit de préparer le matériel : des éléments végétaux odorants et des foulards. 

Vous pouvez réaliser ce jeu dans votre jardin, dans un parc, un lac ou une forêt. Commencez par récolter des éléments naturels odorants sans les montrer aux enfants. Ensuite, il faudra bander les yeux des enfants et leur faire sentir l’un de ses végétaux. Après ça, posez lui des questions. D’abord, s’il reconnaît la nature de l’élément (plante, terre, fleur…). Puis remettez l’élément sur son site naturel. L’enfant devra le retrouver ou retrouver un exemplaire en étant guidé par son odeur et ainsi de suite avec d’autres éléments naturels.

0 commentaires

Soumettre un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.